Skip to main content

Regent University - Library

Summon Searching: Quick Overview

This brief guide will give you the information you need to begin using ProQuest Summon, our discovery tool for accessing journal and magazine articles, print and online books, and even streaming video - all in a single search.

What is Summon?

 

 

Summon is the Library's discovery tool that allows you to search the catalog and nearly all databases from one user-friendly platform. Summon provides direct links to the most important resource types for academic research, including:

  • Scholarly journals
  • Magazines and newspapers
  • Books & eBooks
  • Scholarly encyclopedias
  • Streaming films

Advantages to Using Summon

  • Summon searches across all subject areas, making it great for interdisciplinary research.
  • Summon can find articles you might have missed in single-discipline databases.
  • Summon allows you to zero in on relevant articles through limiters. Users can limit the articles retrieved by Summon to full-text, peer reviewed, academic discipline, subject, and other qualifiers.
  • Citations provided in all major styles, including APA, Chicago/Turabian, Harvard, MLA.

Is Summon the only search tool I need at Regent?

No!

  • Summon searches most Library databases but not all. Some vendors (e.g. APA) do not allow Summon to access to their databases.
  • To ensure that you find the best possible books and articles for your projects, be sure to search subject-specific databases and the Online Catalog.
  • To find recommended databases for your discipline check our subject research guides.

 

Using Summon--Basic

Using Summon--Beyond the Basics