- MyRegent Portal
- Regent Apps & Mail
- Faculty & Staff Mail
- Faculty & Staff Resources
Overview: Regent University Library purchases subscriptions to research databases through licensing agreements made with database vendors.
B. Policy Statement
D. Contact Information
Database: an electronic catalog or index, often contains information about published items, and is searchable. Types of material found using library databases are: articles from journals and magazines, electronic books, newspapers, and reference sources.
On-line (Offsite) Access:
Current Regent University students, faculty and staff have online access to the research databases that are provided by the University Library. Alumni have online access to specifically selected databases that have been purchased for their use. The general public does not have online access to research databases due to licensing agreements made with the database vendors.
All patrons of the Library have access to the databases when in the Library Building.
Current students, faculty and staff use their MyRegent username and password to authenticate their status.
Alumni complete an online registration form and are issued a login to use. This allows them to access specific databases that have been purchased for alumni use.
General public patrons are directed to secure a visitor login from the Circulation Desk allowing them to use a public access workstation (PC). After they have logged onto the workstation, they are provided with a link to access the databases as a public user.
D. Contact Information.
For specific questions, please consult with the reference staff.
This policy was reviewed and approved by the university librarians on July 24th, 2012.