Skip to main content
The University Library has many databases devoted to electronic:
With these databases you can search many texts at the same time!
What are they good for?
This kind of content is good for:
- reliable overviews
- quick biographies
- generating search terms
- mining the bibliographies for useful sources
Looking for a certain title?
If you are looking for a specific text, like the Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology, you can search to see if the book is available electronically in One Search.
Reference (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & more)
Mc-Graw Hill Science & Technology articles, research updates and biographies.
Blackwell Reference Online
Reference e-books from a wide variety of subject areas.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Full-text of "Encyclopedia Britannica" and revisions of current topics.
Full-text of over 500 reference texts.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Entries cover the Mediterranean, Near East, and Egypt from the late Bronze Age to 7th Cent. CE.
Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
Covers issues ranging from theology, politics, and law, through to literature, art, and architecture.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Covers the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in the U.S.A from formation to the present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text from "Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television" and "Who's Who Among African Americans."
Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary
The most authoritative dictionary of American English, plus MW's French-English, Spanish-English, and Medical dictionaries. Also includes fun daily features for building your vocabulary.
Oxford English Dictionary
Full-text of the OED with additional timelines, sources, and historical thesaurus.
Oxford Reference Online
Full-text of Oxford Encyclopedias.