Skip to main content

Law Student Central

M.A. Law and LL.M. Students

Use links in the header above to access law library services and the hundreds of thousands of print and online legal research resources available to you, courtesy of the Law Library.

For assistance in locating resources, refining a search, or using resources more efficiently, contact a Law Library Faculty Member at: lawref@regent.edu or (757) 352-4145.
 
Below, you will find specific information on accessing databases, and services for both local and distance law students.

 

Picture of Professor Mageee      Professor Magee

willmag@regent.edu, 757.352.4098

Picture of Professor Hamm      Professor Hamm

mariham@regent.edu, 757.352.4233

 

Database Access

Always use the links under 'Research Tools' in the header above to access databases. Database links on those pages afford access to almost all law and university databases from off campus using your regular Regent login and password.

Westlaw & Lexis: M.A. students who wish to obtain access to Lexis and/or Westlaw databases should contact Bill Magee for password information.

CALI Lessons: CALI contains well over 1,000 lessons and ebooks written by law professors from across the country. Get the CALI access code on Blackboard under the 'Law Library' section of 'Law School Student Community.'
Local Students
         

LL.M. and M.A. in Law students who live in the local Tidewater area have access to the physical resources and facilities of the Law Library during all posted hours of operation. They may lease carrels, reserve study rooms, and enjoy all other in-house services of the Law Library in the same manner as other on-campus law students.

Distance Students

M.A. and LL.M. students who live outside the local Tidewater area have access to the full scope of reference and circulation services available to other students. Please note that service hours are all posted in Eastern Standard Time.


Reference: Law Library Faculty monitor email throughout the day and are available during regular reference hours to assist students with locating resources, creating search strings, making the most of research tools, and building a research strategy in any area of law. Find contact information for the Law Library Faculty at the top of this page.


Circulation: Most of the Law Library collection does not circulate.  Materials that do circulate may be borrowed in accordance with Law Library policy. The following additional policies pertain to distance students.

  • Within the U.S.: The Law Library will ship borrowed materials to the student, and will add 5 days to the borrowing period to compensate for mailing time. The student is then responsible to return the material by any method that allows for tracking of the package.  The law library will then count the mailing date as the date of return.
  • Outside the U.S.: Please contact a member of the Law Library Faculty to determine the best means of obtaining the resource required. Though we cannot mail Law Library materials to addresses outside the U.S., these materials may be obtained through interlibrary loan (see below), alternative sources may be found, or a portion of a work may be sent to the student within the fair-use exception of U.S. copyright law. 
Interlibrary Loan: Distance students are strongly encouraged to conduct all Interlibrary Loan borrowing through their local public library. This will get the materials more directly to the student, and greatly expand the amount of time the materials are available for use. Please contact your favorite Law Library Faculty member (top of this page) with specific questions.