Relevant Literature
Trafficking in Human Beings by ISBN: 9789089521620Publication Date: 2014-09-23
Slavery in International Law by Call Number: KZ7155 .A945 2013ISBN: 9789004186958Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Human Trafficking Around the World by Call Number: K5297 .H47 2013ISBN: 9780231161442Publication Date: 2013-06-04
Slavery, Migration and Contemporary Bondage in Africa by Call Number: HT1321 .S5557 2013ISBN: 9781592218776Publication Date: 2012-08-01
The International Law of Human Trafficking by Call Number: K5258 .G35 2012ISBN: 9781107624559Publication Date: 2012-02-13
Defining Human Trafficking and Identifying Its Victims by Call Number: K5297 .R68 2012ISBN: 9789004209244Publication Date: 2011-12-09
Human Trafficking, Smuggling and Illegal Immigration by ISBN: 9781607507246Publication Date: 2011-06-09
International Law Articles
- International Law and Human TraffickingKing discusses the international instruments used to combat human trafficking.
- International Efforts Against Human TraffickingLeidhodt provides a powerpoint presentation about international human trafficking.
- Trafficking, Smuggling, and Human RightsGallagher discusses the Protocols and provides an honest assessment of trafficking and smuggling.
- Refugee Protection and Human TraffickingA collection of legal reference materials from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Treaties
- Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in PersonsThe Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons contains an agreed definition of trafficking in persons designed to facilitate convergence in national approaches with regard to the establishment of domestic criminal offences that would support efficient international cooperation in investigating and prosecuting trafficking in persons cases. An additional objective of the Protocol is to protect and assist the victims of trafficking in persons with full respect for their human rights.
- Protocol Against the Smuggling of Migrants by Land, Sea and AirThe Protocol Against the Smuggling of Migrants by Land, Sea, and Air aims at preventing and combating the smuggling of migrants, as well as promoting cooperation among States parties, while protecting the rights of smuggled migrants and preventing the worst forms of their exploitation which often characterize the smuggling process.
International law databases
- International Court of JusticeOnline site of the judicial branch of the UN, this site has access to many court documents filed by countires looking for resolution through the Unted Nations. Final decisions or opinions included as well.
- International Criminal CourtWebsite for the criminal court dealing with atrocities usually, but not exclsuively, committed in wartime.
- Legal Information InstituteCreated at Cornell University, this portal links to international information such as international organizations and treaties.
- UN Digital LibraryThe online catalog for U.N. Documents is a vast resource of United Nations documents retrievable from the same site. There is a no access period for 1 hour nightly.
- United Nations Treaty SeriesU.N. website contains the United Nations Trreaty Series. Use this site to find U.N. treaties or to find PDF documents of treaties you find elsewhere. It also posts the signatoires to the treaty and their reservations.
- HeinOnline International and Non-U.S. Law JournalsHein has created a database of journals dedicated to either international law or legal issues that affect other nations. I recommend using the title search feature under Advance Searching. You can type one or two key words and Hein will search for those words in the title of the article.
- World Treaty LibrarySearch a comprehensive treaty index by keywords, title, parties, sign date or citation. Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles chosen by our editors, and a bibliography of related publications.