The Law Library provides access to three major study aid platforms: Aspen Learning Library, LexisNexis Digital Library, and West Academic. There are multiple links to the various platforms on the Law Library's website. Regent Law users will be prompted for RU login. Each platform allows users to register for an individual account that will enable saving favorites, making notes, and adding highlights. Each platform also offers offline reading and listening options.
The Aspen Learning Library consists of digital study aids with full-text search, note-taking, and highlighting capabilities, audio recordings, and digital media. Study Aid titles included in this collection include:
The LexisNexis Digital Library allows you to read eBooks online and download an app for offline reading. Study aid include:
The West Academic Study Aids Collection offers online access to popular study aids, audiobooks and lectures, and a variety of academic and career success eBooks. The platform includes:
Online and print study aids are practical resources that help students prepare for law school classes and exams. The Law Library subscribes to all three major study aid platforms (Aspen Learning Online, LexisNexis Digital Library, and West Academic), and to CALI, which provides over 1,200 interactive online lessons in over 40 legal subject areas. There are multiple links to the various platforms on the Law Library's website. You can locate print study aids using Primo, the Law Library's catalog and discovery tool. Our Study Aids research guide organizes both print and online resources for each law school course, all upper-level classes.
If you have questions about finding or using study aids, reach out to Professor Magee!
| Study Aids |
The Best Lawyer You Can Be by
It's no secret that individual lawyers are under siege in a profession with a high incidence of stress, divorce, substance abuse, and suicide. In this groundbreaking multi-dimensional collection, you can find tools and information that enable you to have both a successful career and a happy, satisfied life. These tools will teach you how to harness the transformative power of being more relational and less transactional. The earmark of happy lawyers is the development of emotional intelligence, resilience, and mindfulness practice. The book provides the keys to the kingdom, what is essential to thrive in the competitive environment of lawyering. The material comes from recognized experts who provide step-by-step behavioral guidance of what you need to do. The material is easily accessible. Each chapter has a summary and conclusion. Follow the wisdom and it's guaranteed to change your life and career.
How to Be Sort of Happy in Law School by
Each year, over 40,000 new students enter America's law schools. Each new crop experiences startlingly high rates of depression, anxiety, fatigue, and dissatisfaction. Kathryne M. Young was one of those disgruntled law students. After finishing law school (and a PhD), she set out to learn more about the law school experience and how to improve it for future students. Young conducted one of the most ambitious studies of law students ever undertaken, charting the experiences of over 1000 law students from over 100 different law schools, along with hundreds of alumni, dropouts, law professors, and more. How to Be Sort of Happy in Law School is smart, compelling, and highly readable. Combining her own observations and experiences with the results of her study and the latest sociological research on law schools, Young offers a very different take from previous books about law school survival. Instead of assuming her readers should all aspire to law-review-and-big-firm notions of success, Young teaches students how to approach law school on their own terms: how to tune out the drumbeat of oppressive expectations and conventional wisdom to create a new breed of law school experience altogether. Young provides readers with practical tools for finding focus, happiness, and a sense of purpose while facing the seemingly endless onslaught of problems law school presents daily. This book is an indispensable companion for today's law students, prospective law students, and anyone who cares about making law students' lives better. Bursting with warmth, realism, and a touch of firebrand wit, How to Be Sort of Happy in Law School equips law students with much-needed wisdom for thriving during those three crucial years.
Lawyering from the Inside Out by
Law is a varied, powerful, and highly rewarding profession. Studies show, however, that lawyers have higher rates of alcoholism, divorce, and even suicide than the general population. Stress creates these poor outcomes, including the stress of dealing with other people's problems all day, the stress of spending excessive amounts of time at work, and the stress of being disconnected to what is most meaningful in life. Through mindfulness and emotional intelligence training, lawyers can improve focus, get more work done in less time, improve their interpersonal skills, and seek and find work that will make their lives more meaningful. This book is designed to help law students and lawyers of all experience levels find a sustainable and meaningful life in the field of law. This book includes journaling and other interactive exercises that can help lawyers find peace, focus, meaning, and happiness over a lifetime of practicing law.
Essential Qualities of the Professional Lawyer by
Addresses a widely observed gap in legal education and professionalism materials on professional development in a practice-focused context.
Legal Ethics Stories by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.