Law Library Databases, Cite-Check, and You!
The Law Library has a plethora of databases that can be invaluable for cite-check. Although HeinOnline is probably most the most familiar, it is only one of many!
When you do a search in the Online Catalog, the result list will include both print AND electronically held titles. In many cases, simply clicking the link will automatically connect you to the specific resource. However, occassionally the link will simply take you to the database homepage and it will be up to you to navigate to the resource you need.
NOTE: There are still many resources within the databases that can only be located by direct searching.
PDF Databases
- Archives Unbound (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
- Gale Primary Sources (Gale) Cross-search all available Gale digital archives from a single interface Explore history through digitized, text-searchable primary sources Discover new connections using Topic Finder and Term Frequenc
- Congressional This link opens in a new window
Think about the microfilm cabinets in the Law Library . . . Now think about how happy you are NOT to have to go there. This database puts all that material at your fingertips. What could be more fun than compiling legislative history at home in your fuzzy slippers?!
Regent University's ProQuestCongressional subscription includes the following modules: Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Congressional Hearings Digital Prospective Collection, Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection, Congressional Research Digital Collection, and Serial Set Digital Collection, 1789-current. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowEighteenth Century Collections Online covers the development of law in the British Empire between 1701 and 1800.Topics include acts, criminal and international law, appellants’ cases and more.
- HeinOnline HeinOnline provides both searchable OCR full-text and PDF images of legal periodicals, the Federal Register, the U.S. Reports, and several notable collections of U.S. treaties and agreements. This link takes you to our libguide with details about our Hein Online Libraries.
- Law Journal LibraryHeinOnline
- U.S. Supreme Court Library This database includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - XV This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
One of the world's most respected providers of scholarly literature. Thousands of full-text, peer-reviewed journals across nearly all academic disciplines.
- LLMC DigitalOffers a collection of digitized full-text images of legal works and U.S. government documents from the executive, judicial, and legislative branches.
- The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600–1926 (Gale) Brings together foreign, comparative, and international titles in a single resource. The International Law component features works of great legal theorists, including Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, Wheaton, among others. The Foreign Law component features foreign legal treatises, commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften of a variety of countries.
- The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises; 1800-1926 (Gale) Fully searchable database, containing 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. A number of these are reprints of earlier works, dating from the 15th and 16th centuries.
- The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources; 1600-1970 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources contains a virtual goldmine of information for researchers of American legal history—a fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state and territorial codes, municipal codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and more. Note that the term "primary sources" is used not in the historian's sense of a manuscript, letter or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute or regulation. The collection brings together many important documents that have been lost, destroyed, or previously inaccessible to researchers of American legal history around the world.
- The Making of Modern Law: Trials; 1600-1926 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600–1926 is the world's most comprehensive full-text collection of documents from Anglo-American trials. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland, and Canada, this digital archive also contains English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Users will find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments, and other trial documents that were printed as separate publications; official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitration sessions (domestic and international); and books encompassing multiple trials as well as books and pamphlets about a single trial.
- The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs; 1832-1978 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1823–1978 contains the world's most comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners—many who later became judges and associates of the Supreme Court itself. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions. This collection serves the needs of students and researchers in American legal history, politics, society, and government, as well as practicing attorneys.
PDF---IF you work for it a little . . .
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
IT'S IN THERE. Go to the bottom of the search screen and check .pdf before running a search.
With these databases, PDF is like Prego--IT'S IN THERE. You just gotta work for it a little.
No idea WHAT I'm talking about? Click here for an 80's classic.
- Archives Unbound (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowIT'S IN THERE. This one is not hidden--it's just a super-focused collection comprised of historic documents.
- Legal Scholarship Network (SSRN)IT'S IN THERE. Offers a searchable database of published papers with abstracts and full bibliographic descriptions relating to research in various area of law. Articles can be downloaded in pdf format.
REALLY helpful Databases . . .
- Bloomberg Law Bloomberg Law provides access to all US primary laws, docket materials, directories, news, proprietary research reports, select foreign law materials, SEC filings, and an impressive array of model forms and contracts, among other resources. Access limited to current members of the Regent Law School Community. Contact Bill Magee at willmag@regent.edu for assistance.
