Search our library
Use PRIMO to search for books, journals, articles, streaming videos, etc.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Don't know the library hours? Need to find the full text of an article? Want to chat with a librarian? Connect with Ask a Librarian
Subject Assistance
Where To Do Research
Welcome to the English Literature Research Guide!
1. Start with the library's Primo search & sign in there. Try clicking Books, Articles, or Reference Entries in the left margin.
2. Try MLA database and other literature databases,
3. Also use Google Scholar. Be sure it is linked to Regent (menu; Settings; Library Links; search for Regent; Save).
4. Use the Oxford English Dictionary (a scholarly historical dictionary) through Regent to define words used in literature.
5. Use the books in the box below to define literary or philosophical terms. Or, search a term in Primo and click "Reference Entries" under "Type."
6. Google also has good resources like Victorian Web & free archives. Download LibKey to get easy access to library sources cited on the web.
Defining Literary Terms
- A Glossary of Literary Terms 11th ed. print book byBook located at front desk of library. Can have a section digitized (click "Request PDF").
Writing & MLA Citation Help
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
See the Appendix providing citation examples for the final word on how to cite various sources in MLA.
- Purdue OWLOne of the most popular sites on the web for learning about MLA format in Works Cited & in-text citations.
- RefWorks Premium This link opens in a new window
A place to store and cite all your sources. You can export sources quickly from Primo by clicking "RW."
- Writing & Citation CoachingRegent provides free writing coaches or tutors to help with any assignment.
- Regent's MLA Guide With ExamplesExamples of MLA Format, the MLA Handbook, Videos, & More
Grammar Checker
- Grammar CheckFree resource.
- Grammarly Premium This link opens in a new window
Suggests corrections in grammar, spelling, and style. Also checks for plagiarism. Get it for Word and your internet browser.