Skip to main content

Law Library Special Collections

About the Menefee Collection

The Mary Elizabeth Menefee Collection of Law and Film was established in 2001 as a research collection in loving memory of Mary Elizabeth Menefee. The collection focus is on Law and Lawyers in the visual media, and related topics. Though most titles are in contemporary format (DVD or VHS), the films themselves are from every era and genre of filmmaking, and address law, lawyers, courts, and society’s view of the same.

Dedication: Mary Elizabeth Menefee

In July of 2001 a precious life entered this world. Mary Elizabeth Menefee was the firstborn of Samuel Pyeatt and Mary Waterman Menefee.

No one could then imagine that she would grace their lives for but two short weeks.

During her time on earth, she was loved dearly, as much as any child can be, but our Heavenly Father, who knows all things, called her back to be with Him.

It is in love and honor of the memory of Mary Elizabeth Menefee that this collection has been established and continues.

Accessing Collection Materials

The Mary Elizabeth Menefee Collection of Law and Film is a limited access research collection. A signed consent form, available from the service desk, is prerequisite to viewing or borrowing collection materials.

Patrons with a form on file may request films from the collection using the form below. 

  • All Law Library patrons may view unrestricted films on the Law Library premises. Audio-visual equipment is available; please inquire at the service desk.
  • Officers of official Regent University student organizations may borrow unrestricted films for three days, with one renewal.
  • Regent University Faculty may borrow Menefee Collection films for three days. Renewals are permitted.
  • Faculty and scholars of all disciplines and from all institutions with an academic or research interest in using the collection are welcome to make use of Menefee Collection materials. Any loan period will be based on the nature of the research need, and must be authorized by a Member of the Law Library Faculty.

To access materials from this collection, please complete and submit the Menefee Request Form at least 48 hours in advance of the time the film is needed.