Skip to main content

Regent University - Library

About Special Collections & Archives: Collection Access

Regent University Special Collections User Access Policy

Special Collections & Archives User Access Policy and Guidelines

Regent University Library

 

Contact Information:

Special Collections Contact: 757-352-4185 (LibraryAdmin@regent.edu

 

Hours:

Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. by appointment.

 

Regent University Library Special Collections & Archives materials are accessible to the Regent University community, visiting researchers, and the general public for on-site examination by appointment only, at the discretion of the department, and in accordance with the guidelines below.  Researchers unable to visit the Regent University Library in Virginia Beach, Virginia, should contact Special Collections & Archives staff directly for assistance.  Photocopying and scanning of approved materials is provided according to the guidelines and fee structure below.

 

Requesting Materials:

All patrons must arrange and appointment by contacting the Library: 757-352-4185 (LibraryAdmin@regent.edu).

Out-of-town visitor appointment requests should be submitted well in advance of the proposed appointment date.  Out-of-town visitors should confirm appointments before making travel plans.

Unprocessed collections are closed to the public.

 

Using materials:

Researchers may be asked to fill out and sign a researcher registration form, and when applicable, may be required to submit a research or dissertation proposal.

Materials will be retrieved and delivered by department staff.  Only one item, folder, or box will be provided at a time.

The use of personal digital cameras or scanners may be employed to reproduce unrestricted collection items.  Prior arrangement must be made with the Special Collections & Archives staff.

Pens, markers, food and beverages are not allowed near materials.

 

 

Reproducing Materials:

The following policies govern the reproduction and use of Regent University’s Special Collections & Archives materials:  (1) Only approved material will be photocopied or scanned.  (2) Copies will not be published or used commercially without written permission of the owner of the copy/literacy rights or Regent University Library if Regent University is the copyright holder.  (3) The responsibility for obtaining permission lies with the researcher; Regent University assumes no responsibility.  Users should consult the U.S. Copyright Office to learn more about U.S. Copyright Law.

Photocopying and scanning of materials done by Regent University staff will be provided according to the following fee structure:

 

Description of Service

Postage & Handling Fees

Photocopying (black and white)

$.20 per page

Photocopying (color)

$.75 per page

Digital Scanning (delivered via e-mail)

Please ask

Shipping

(Regent University is not responsible for damage or loss of copies sent by mail)

$5.00 (domestic, up to 1lb.);

International rates vary.