Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip navigation

Regent School of Divinity Seven Core Commitments: Home

Regent School of Divinity

Mission and Vision

MISSION AND VISION

The Regent School of Divinity exists for the glory of God by providing Biblical, theological and ministerial education that seeks to be faithful to the Scriptures and emphasizes the renewing work of the Holy Spirit in order to train laborers who will bear witness to the gospel of Jesus Christ in the Church, the world, and the academy. Through 7 core commitments, we support the mission and vision of Regent University.

7 Core Commitments

  1. Biblical fidelity: We are committed to excellence in theological and ministerial education that is grounded in the authority of the Bible as the eternal, infallible and inspired Word of God.
  2. Trinitarian worship: We seek to offer our labor in education and research as worship of the Triune God and aim to declare His holiness and glory in all that we do.
  3. Spiritual renewal: We are focused on the renewing presence of the Holy Spirit from creation to the consummation, and embrace the Biblical, historical and contemporary expressions of His renewing work.
  4. Holistic formation: We understand the call to formation to be the lifelong process of being conformed to the image of Christ by His Spirit and seek to promote holistic habits of spirit, soul and body that promote human and ministerial flourishing.
  5. Ecclesial focus: We desire to serve the Body of Christ with humility and integrity, recognizing the central role of the Church in the eternal plan of God.
  6. Missional leadership: We participate in God’s mission by providing education, training, empowerment and equipping to all whom God calls, regardless of ethnicity or gender.
  7. Prophetic relevance: It is our vision to graduate Christ-centered leaders that will be prophetic witnesses in their generation, standing firm in their commitment to Biblical values of holiness and morality.

Sample Searches

1. Biblical fidelity; search 1: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,biblical%20fidelity&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&offset=0

search 2: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,fidelity%20to%20(bible%20or%20scripture),AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

2. Trinitarian worship; search 1: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,trinitarian%20worship,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

a book that might be good: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991003106419707516&context=L&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,importance%20of%20trinit*,AND&mode=advanced&offset=0

an author who discusses how ministry practices can reflect all three persons of the trinity:  https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991001152119707516&context=L&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,christian%20schwarz,AND&mode=advanced&offset=0

search 2: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,how%20christian%20worship%20reflect*%20trinit*,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

3. Spiritual renewal; search 1: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,spiritual%20renewal,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

search 2: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,the%20renewal%20movement,AND&query=any,contains,christian*,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

4. Holistic formation; search 1: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,holistic%20formation,AND&query=any,contains,discipleship,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

search 2: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,holistic%20formation,AND&query=any,contains,christian*,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

5. Ecclesial focus; search 1: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,ecclesi*,AND&query=any,contains,theolog*,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

a book that looks good: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991002884359707516&context=L&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Local%20Search%20Engine&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,ecclesi*,AND&query=any,contains,theolog*,AND&mode=advanced&offset=0

another: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=cdi_crossref_primary_10_1163_17455316_01103003&context=PC&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Primo%20Central&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,ecclesial%20focus,AND&mode=advanced&offset=0

another book: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=cdi_askewsholts_vlebooks_9781433645846&context=PC&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Primo%20Central&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,ecclesi*%20or%20church,AND&query=any,contains,seminary,AND&mode=advanced&offset=0

article: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=cdi_gale_infotracmisc_A261640988&context=PC&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Primo%20Central&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,ecclesi*%20or%20church,AND&query=any,contains,seminary,AND&query=any,contains,service,AND&mode=advanced&offset=0

another article: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=cdi_proquest_miscellaneous_60369991&context=PC&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&adaptor=Primo%20Central&tab=Everything&query=any,contains,ecclesi*%20or%20church,AND&query=any,contains,seminary,AND&query=any,contains,service,AND&mode=advanced&offset=10

search 2: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,ecclesi*%20or%20church,AND&query=any,contains,seminary%20or%20theolog*,AND&query=any,contains,service%20or%20practical*,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

6. Mission Leadership; search 1: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,seminary%20or%20theolog*,AND&query=any,contains,mission*%20or%20outreach%20or%20evangelism,AND&query=any,contains,leadership,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

search 2: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,how%20to%20prepare%20mission*,AND&query=any,contains,leader*%20or%20missionar*,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

article by a seminary professor on this topic): https://dbts.edu/2018/11/05/should-missionaries-skip-seminary/

7. Prophetic relevance: search 1: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,prophetic%20relevance,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

search 2: https://regent.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?query=any,contains,should%20the%20church%20live%20out%20prophecy,AND&tab=Everything&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&vid=01REGENT_INST:01REGENT&lang=en&mode=advanced&offset=0

Additional Search Tips

Experiment wiith the search terms to run more searches.  

Also, try our religion databases, such as ATLA.

If you need any articles from outside the library, or if you need print books from our shelves, sent to you or copied for you, please contact Inter Library Loan to submit a request.