Divinity & Religion Research

Welcome to the divinity & religion research guide!  Contact a research librarian with questions or for research help!

1.)  Identify books and ebooks using the online library catalog https://www.regent.edu/regent-library.  

2.) Access physical books, digital book chapters, and articles. Check out books and audio-visual materials directly from the Regent University Library collections by using the interlibrary loan service in Primo. The checkout period is six weeks, including travel time. Materials are sent by UPS, FedEx, or DHL free of charge. Return the materials at your cost using the same mail service we use. OR use the PDF of chapter or article option to have up to 100 pages from a book scanned and made available to you as a PDF. Fulfillment Services (ILL) may also be used to acquire digital copies of articles Regent has in print, or that Regent does not have in its collection. 

3.) Contact a Reference Librarian. Reference services are available by e-mail (ask@regent.libanswers.com), chat, and phone (during operation hours). Visit Regent librarians at the Ask a Librarian page on the Library website.

4.) Meet your librarian. Check your modular week schedule for Library Orientation sessions to meet the Divinity Librarian and learn how to effectively conduct research as a distance student. 

5.) Advance your information literacy skills by taking the Online Library Information and Resources Course. New graduate students can take the Regent University Library Information and Resources course, UNIV_LIB. 

6.) Access specific databases. Explore the Divinity, Religion and Theology Subject databases listed above. Access full-text theses, dissertations, and D.Min. projects in these databases.

7.) Freely use a local theological library. Check the American Theological Library Association's Reciprocal Borrowing agreement page to see if a theological library near you is part of the nationwide consortium. This agreement enables you to check out books and use materials at other libraries, free of charge!

8.) Request reimbursement for a Local Library Card. The library will reimburse the cost of one local library card for all currently enrolled Regent University students living more than 90 miles away from campus. Prior to purchasing a local library card, contact Dorothy Hargett by e-mail or by phone at 757-352-4152. Mrs. Hargett will provide information on the dollar amount that the library will reimburse you. Please investigate the cost of the library card that is desired before contacting Mrs. Hargett. Assistance locating or using other libraries is available through the library Reference Service. 

9.) Access Key Electronic Resources, Library Guides, and Service Information. Access a variety of information resources, guides, and library services on the Library homepage. Areas of special interest include: 

     Library Services: http://libguides.regent.edu/services

     Borrower's Privileges: https://libguides.regent.edu/accessservices

     Contact a Librarian: https://libguides.regent.edu/librarians

     Complete Database List: https://libguides.regent.edu/az/databases

     Graphic Interface for Journals: https://browzine.com/libraries/1479/subjects

     Submit a question: https://libanswers.regent.edu/

10.) Explore the other pages of this guide to find useful websites and bibliographies.