Skip to main content

Free Legal Research Resources

Legal Forms

FindLaw's Forms and Contracts
A free collection of sample legal forms and business contracts.

LexisOne
Provides over 6,000 free forms from the Matthew Bender collection, with free registration.

WashLaw's Legal Forms
Links to a wide variety of legal forms

Search USA.Gov - Forms
Links directly to federal forms and applications by agency name.

Legal Research Portals

FindLaw for Legal Professionals provides links to statutes, regulations, case law, and recent legal news.

FindLaw's Learn About the Law
Learn About the Law features informational articles about a wide variety of legal topics, as well as specific information about subjects such as how to hire an attorney and understanding your state's unique laws.

Legal Information Institute (LII), a site committed to ensuring “that the law remains free and open to everyone.” It provides access to federal and state constitutions, statutes, case law, regulations and more.

The Public Library of Law database provides access to a wide range of resources for free including, state and federal cases, court rules, statutes, regulations, forms, and constitutions.

WashLaw provides extensive links to federal, state, and international legal information

LawSource ALSO links to legal materials from the United States, Canada and Mexico, including state and federal amicus briefs

Justia.com provides free access to primary legal materials, including case law, codes and regulations, court opinions/orders, and legal articles/blogs...Podcasts from law schools, news agencies, legal firms, and others sources are available.

DRAGNET, a Google custom search developed by law librarians at New York Law School, searches a host of free online legal databases through a single search box.

Google Scholar provides a Case Law search. There is also an advanced search option available by clicking the arrow at the end of the search box.