Skip to main content

Free Legal Research Resources

The Constitution

The Founders' Constitution
Full text of the constitution along with commentary and analysis.

Legal Information Institute - Annotated Constitution
Annotated version of the constitution freely as part of the open legal sources collection.

Statutes & Legislation

FDsys
This service of the Government Printing Office, provides access to a wide range of government publications and data including: the U.S. budget , the Code of Federal Regulations, Presidential documents, Congressional bills, documents, hearings and reports, the Congressional Record, the Constitution, economic Indicators, the Federal Register, public and private laws, the United States Code, and federal court opinions.

Congress.gov
This site has replaced THOMAS.gov. It is user-friendly, mobile-friendly, and provides layered search options. Find public laws, pending bills, committee reports and hearings. It also provides access to the full text of legislation from 1989 (101st Congress) to the present.

U.S. House of Representatives
A searchable version of the most recent version of the U.S. Code. The website also provides access to session laws.

USA.gov
This website offers a wealth of federal government information including links to the websites of departments, agencies and branches of government, which can be a good source for statutory and legislative materials.

Case Law & Courts

Supreme Court of the United States
Official website of the Supreme Court includes full text opinions and other materials, and suggests resources for finding briefs.

Oyez.org
Links to a wide range of primary and secondary materials related to the U.S. Supreme Court. Of particular note, Oyez.com offers audio recordings of selected oral arguments.

SCOTUSblog
This blog covers Supreme Court cases. It compiles the documents for most major Supreme Court cases including petitions and amicus briefs.

Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
This site from the American Bar Association provides the full text of briefs from a large number of U.S. Supreme Court cases, including cases that have not yet been heard.

U.S. Courts
Links to the websites of the federal courts.

CourtListener
"The goal of the site is to create a free and competitive real time alert tool for the U.S. judicial system."

RECAP Archive
Database of federal district and bankruptcy court documents from PACER that have been contributed to the RECAP Archive for free access.

LLRX
Links to federal and state court rules, forms and dockets.

Executive Documents

Code of Federal Regulations
At GPO.gov

Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders
Covers documents from April 13, 1945 to January 20, 1989.

WhiteHouse.gov
Links to presidential documents, including executive orders, presidential memoranda, and proclamations.

Public Papers of the Presidents
From the National Archives.

The American Presidency Project
Data, documents and media related to the American Presidency, including inaugural addresses, executive orders and proclamations, to name just a few. Maintained by UCSB.