Skip to main content

Free Legal Research Resources

Articles

Legal Technology Resource Center Journal Search
Search open access and freely available legal journals.

SSRN Legal Scholarship Network
A large collection of academic working papers on legal topics.

HG.org's Law Journals, Newsletters and Bulletins
A linked list of legal and law-related journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals
A collection of open access journals with a sub-category of legal materials.

JSTOR Early Journal Content
Items published in the U.S. prior to 1923 or elsewhere in the world prior to 1870 are available for free. Includes a free video tutorial explaining how to access this content.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Links to over 2 million theses and dissertations from over 1000 universities around the world.

Google News Archive
Search historical newspapers and retrieve scanned images of originals.

Data Sources

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics provides free access to data on courts, crimes and law enforcement to name just a few.

CDC Data and Statistics
Data on health and diseases.

Data.gov's data catalog
Searchable data sets from federal, state, academic sources.

FCSM 
A compilation of federal agency data.

TRAC
Data on federal enforcement, staffing and spending.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Publications and data sets on labor and economic issues.

U.S. Census Bureau
Extensive data about the United States with multiple data-access tools.

U.S. Supreme Court Databases
Data on the U.S. Supreme Court, 1953 to 2005.

UN Data
Data sets cover Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, and Millennium Development Goals indicators.

World Bank
Browse or search data from around the world.

Treatises

Directory of Open Access Books
Contains over 2,000 academic peer-reviewed books. Search or browse by title, subject or publisher.

Open Knowledge Repository
Over 13,000 open-source books and papers across a wide range of topics and from around the world.