Skip to main content
Cinema & Television Databases
Internet Movie Database
A helpful, free database of movie cast and production information; users should also see Film Indexes Online (above) for additional information.
Streaming Video Collections
Ambrose Digital Video Collection
Nearly 600 educational videos in all subjects. Included in this collection are established classics and some of the best new documentaries. Also included in this database is the complete BBC Shakespeare series.
FMG Films on Demand
Educational streaming video on a variety of topics.
Kanopy Film Collection
One of the largest collections of films in the world, including award-winning documentaries, training films, theatrical releases, and great works in the history of cinema. Kanopy provides films on nearly every topic imaginable by producers such as PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, and more.
View hundreds of online videos from PBS documentaries in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. NOTE: MyRegentID and password required for on-campus an off-campus access.
Theatre & Drama Databases
Internet Broadway Database
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Blackwell Reference Online
The sub-discipline Communication & Media Studies includes reference ebooks such as "A Companion to Film Theory" and "A Companion to Television."
Full-text of over 500 reference texts.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes "Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television" and the "St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture" reference sources.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference Online
Performing Arts Resources - Search these Oxford encyclopedia on theatre and Shakespeare.