About this Guide
The Law Library provides extensive access to legislative and executive materials of the U.S. federal government and all fifty states, as well as related publications. This guide facilitates quick access to many of our most in-demand resources. Other materials may be available in print or electronic format. Search the catalog or contact a law librarian if the resource you need is not listed here.
Congressional Materials
- ProQuest Congressional
Search U.S. legislative history, Congressional Research Service reports, congressional hearings, and more. - U.S. Congressional Documents This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (early 1900s-present), as well as other important congressional material such as hearings, CRS Reports, and much more.
- U.S. Code, Official This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. It also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.
US Administrative Law
- Code of Federal Regulations The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government of the United States. HeinOnlines coverage of the CFR is comprehensive, containing all volumes dating back to inception (1938).
- Federal Register Library The Federal Register is the official journal of the federal government of the United States. The database is updated daily and its coverage is comprehensive, beginning from inception in 1936. It also includes the CFR from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), and Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).
- GovInfo
Access a wide variety of government documents, including the Federal Register. - Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition) - Official VersionAccess the official version of the Code of Federal Regulations, organized by year. For more recently issued regulations, use e-CFR or the Federal Register.
Topical HeinOnline Libraries
- Criminal Justice in America This database includes the official reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General (both the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States as well as the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice). Also included are guides, handbooks, hearings, and other materials related to the study of criminal justice in the United States.
- Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies This unique resource contains the most current and extensive listing of publications created by presidential advisory bodies. The companion database features not only the bibliographic listing of reports, but also related hearings, scholarly articles, and more!
- Congress and the Courts This library, featuring William H. Manz's Congress and the Courts: A Legislative History 1787-2010, brings together materials reflecting congressional concern with the composition and structure of Article III Courts and provides all relevant documents prepared by various Congresses relating to the purpose, formation, organization, and restructuring of the federal government. Also included are Federal Judicial Center Publications, Periodicals, Links to Scholarly Articles, CFR Title 28 - Judicial Administration, Other Related Works, and much more.
- GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions HeinOnline's GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions database contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included.
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This timely database brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States. It also includes an extensive bibliography and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject.
- History of Supreme Court Nominations This database features the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee. The Browse by Justice option allows the user to link directly to relevant content, articles, and bibliography as applicable to each justice!
- John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection This database contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.
- Manual of Patent Examining Procedure This manual is published to provide U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) examiners, applicants, attorneys, agents, and representatives of applicants with a reference work on the practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the USPTO. It contains instructions to examiners, as well as other material relevant to information and interpretation, and outlines the current procedures which the examiners are required or authorized to follow in appropriate cases in the normal examination of a patent application.
- Pentagon Papers The Pentagon Papers, officially titled Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force, is a United States Department of Defense history of the United States' political and military involvement in Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.
- U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library To help researchers understand these rare but always fascinating historical events, HeinOnline now offers a new collection, U.S. Presidential Impeachment. Organized by the four affected presidents, this collection brings together a variety of documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president's impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each impeachment played out and the long view history has taken of each proceeding.
Presidential Documents
- U.S. Presidential Library This database includes messages and papers of the presidents, daily and weekly compilations of presidential documents, public papers of the presidents, documents relating to impeachment, Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and a host of other related works.
- whitehouse.gov--White House Official Site View newsletters, live conferences, issues, and more (varies by administration)
Presidential Documents by
This is the most comprehensive single-volume edition of presidential documents available. In this lively, authoritative and up-to-the moment collection, historians Fred L. Israel and J. F. Watts present over 200 famous and lesser-known key speeches, proclamations, letters and other decisive papers and provide a brief political and historical commentary on each selection. Either printed in full or excerpted in a clear, readily accessible format, these history-making documents include the most memorable moments in the Presidency, from George Washington's first Inaugural Address to Bill Clinton's comments after the end of his impeachment proceedings.
Call Number: Law Reference E176.1 .P889 2000ISBN: 041592037XPublication Date: 1999-11-30
Available to Law Students and Law Faculty only:
- Presidential Documents Database contains executive and administrative orders, proclamations, trade agreement letters, and other documents released by the Executive Office of the President of the United States.
- Daily Presidential Documents Text of executive orders, press conferences, speeches, schedules and formal announcements by the president and White House staff. Coverage begins with January 1993.
State Administrative Law
Available to Law Students and Law Faculty only:
- Administrative Decisions and GuidanceSearch by state
- Proposed and Adopted RegulationsSearch by state or topic
- Administrative Codes and RegulationsSearch by state, content type, or practice area
- Administrative MaterialsSearch by state or practice area
Virginia Resources
- Virginia's Legislative Information SystemThe site allows the user to locate enacted as well as pending legislation from the Virginia Generally Assembly.
- Virginia Register of RegulationsMuch like the Federal Register, this resource provides promulgated proposed and final rules from the different agencies in Virginia. It is published every two weeks.
- Commonwealth of Virginia - All AgenciesThis portal provides a listing of all agencies and semi-agencies in Virginia.
- Virginia CodeCompiles by subject the current laws of Virginia passed by the General Assembly. This version is termed unannotated since it lacks any references to secondary sources or case references.
- Viriginia Adminstrative CodeThis code is the subjec compilation of current final regulations promulgated by Virginia state agencies,