Introduction
Welcome!
This guide is designed to serve as a supplement to materials covered during the research lecture(s). Please contact Professor Magee if you need additional assistance or would like to schedule an in-person or virtual research consultation.
Virginia Codes, Rules and Regulations
- Virginia Code Annotated The Code of Virginia includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the Virginia Legislature.Note: Virginia Code archives are available from 1991.
- Virginia Court Rules Contains Rules of Supreme Court of Virginia -Medical Malpractice Rules of Practice -Rules of Judicial Inquiry and Review Commission -Bylaws of the Virginia State Bar and Council-Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Regulations -Virginia State Council Rules of Disciplinary Procedure for VSB Staff andDistrict Committees -Virginia State Bar Disciplinary Board Rules of Procedure-Clients' Protection Fund Rules -Rules of the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission,
- Virginia Municipal Codes The Virginia Municipal Codes file includes Virginia city and county codes
- Virginia Administrative Code Contains regulations of agencies, departments and institutions of the State of Virginia.
- Virginia Register of Regulations Chronicles developments in the State of Virginia. It includes new and amended sections of proposed and adopted regulations. It also includes emergency regulations, executive orders, notice of public hearings and meetings.
- All Virginia Administrative Material Contains all available administrative materials and agency decisions pertaining to the Virginia state agencies and Attorney General's Office.
Regent University Law Library Databases
- University Library Databases Full ListThe Law School community has full access to University Library resources, as well as to subscribed Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) databases.
Assistant Director Magee
Virginia Case Law
- All Virginia State Cases Combined Includes Virginia Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, circuit courts and unpublished Virginia Supreme Court decisions.
- All Federal and Virginia cases combined In addition to Virginia state courts, access is available to U.S. Supreme Court decisions, opinions from the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals and Federal District Court Cases arising out of Virginia.
- Virginia Supreme Court cases Supreme Court case law from the Commonwealth of Virginia. Includes appeal Granted table cases from the Supreme Court of Virginia. Dates back to 1730.
- VA Court of Appeals Cases Court of Appeals case law from the Commonwealth of Virginia. Cases begin in 1985 since this court did not exist prior to that year.
- Virginia Circuit Courts Circuit Court Opinions from the Commonwealth of Virginia dating back to 1855.