The Law Library provides access to three major study aid platforms: Aspen Learning Library, LexisNexis Digital Library, and West Academic. There are multiple links to the various platforms on the Law Library's website. Regent Law users will be prompted for RU login. Each platform allows users to register for an individual account that will enable saving favorites, making notes, and adding highlights. Each platform also offers offline reading and listening options.
The Aspen Learning Library consists of digital study aids with full-text search, note-taking, and highlighting capabilities, audio recordings, and digital media. Study Aid titles included in this collection include:
The LexisNexis Digital Library allows you to read eBooks online and download an app for offline reading. Study aid include:
The West Academic Study Aids Collection offers online access to popular study aids, audiobooks and lectures, and a variety of academic and career success eBooks. The platform includes:
These are just a few of our newest Contracts titles. Check the catalog or the shelf for additional resources. Please feel free to consult a law library faculty member for help finding the best resource.
Contract Law by
To gain a deep understanding of contract law, one needs to master not only the rules and principles of the field, but also its underlying theory and justification, and its long and intricate history. This book offers an accessible introduction to all aspects of American contract law, useful to both first-year law students and advanced contract scholars. The book is grounded on up-to-date scholarship and contains detailed references to cases, statutes, Restatements, and international legal principles. The book takes the reader from contract formation through interpretation and remedies, considering both the practical and theoretical aspects throughout. Each chapter also includes helpful lists of suggested further reading.
Contract Law, Flowcharts and Cases, a Visual Guide to Understanding Contracts, 4th by
This book contains schematic flowcharts that visually plot the rules of contract law. Also included are selected cutting edge recent cases applying the rules. The flowchart approach helps students sort out in a visual manner the trickier contract rules of law in a unique and organized fashion.
Contracts by
Examples and Explanations for Contract Law, Eighth Editionby Brian Blum provides new updates and additional cases for contract law in the student-loved Examples and Explanations format. The Examples and Explanations Series provides hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow modern contract law students to test their knowledge of the topics and compare their own analysis to the provided explanation. New to the Eighth Edition: New up-to-date cases in every chapter. Substantially rewritten text for added clarity and accessibility. New hypothetical illustrations in the text and new or revised examples and explanations. Professors and students will benefit from: Additional cases and updates to the text and examples while remaining faithful to the conception of a clear and accessible text, aimed at students in the basic contracts course. Diagrams as visual aids throughout to aid in understanding. A focus on recent cases and included discussion of contemporary issues, particularly in the field of standard contracting. Coverage of all the topics that are likely to be taught in the basic contracts course and included coverage of UCC Article 2 to the extent appropriate in a contracts course. A brief transnational perspective on each topic covered.
Contracts by
The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.
Contracts by
When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Glannon Guide to Contracts by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
A Short and Happy Guide to Business Contracts by
Contracts play a large part in advising companies as they transact business in today's unique environment. This book modernizes the teaching of contract law by providing a current perspective on negotiating contracts, thoughtfully explaining complex legal concepts and providing useful practitioner tips and insights based on decades of hands-on experience. Written by an experienced General Counsel and lecturer at Columbia Law School, A Short & Happy Guide to Business Contracts empowers readers to learn the main terms found in nearly all business contracts. The newly released updated version explores in greater depth contract clauses that have become particularly relevant in recent times, such as force majeure clauses and data security and privacy terms, as well as many other key provisions that have become a focal point during these unique and unprecedented times. A Short & Happy Guide to Business Contracts is a must read for anyone who wants to truly understand how practitioners negotiate business contracts and avoid common pitfalls. It will be an essential playbook that will be kept on your desk and referenced frequently when learning how to draft effective business contracts.
A Short and Happy Guide to Contracts by
This efficient and exceedingly effective guide to Contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. The authors have also infused the book with humor, believing there is nothing inconsistent between a rigorous academic experience and having a little fun. Each of the authors is nationally-renowned law teacher who has taught Contracts for decades. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing each critical aspect of the contract relationship, including, contract formation (offer and acceptance), enforcement (consideration and defenses), interpretation, performance, breach, and remedies.
Understanding Contracts by
Understanding Contracts is designed for use by first-year law students in their contracts course. The text explains common law principles of contract law using cases and examples that students commonly encounter in this first-year course. It also explains and illustrates Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, which deals with sales of goods that are frequently covered in contracts. It includes material on the United Nations Convention on the International Sale of Goods, and the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, appropriate to a basic course in contracts and on modern statutes regarding electronic contracting. The fifth edition describes key provisions of the recently adopted Restatement on the Law of Consumer Contracts and includes discussions of recent decisions dealing with consumer arbitration clauses. Understanding Contracts was written to help law students with what is likely to be one of their most challenging first-year courses. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns similar to those students will encounter in the course. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts. A key feature of Understanding Contracts that is not found in other similar books is its conscious incorporation of basic explanations of the common business practices to which the law of contracts applies. This feature helps students, many of whom have not had any background in the business world, understand contract law in the business settings in which it frequently applies. The book also provides detailed topic headings that students can use to develop their own comprehensive course outline.
The CALI platform offers over 1,200 online, interactive tutorials covering over 40 different legal subject areas. Law students access CALI lessons over 500,000 times each year! The Law Library provides access to all Regent Law students.
Registration instructions are provided in Law Orientation and in LARW. If you have questions or need an access code, contact the Public Services Desk or Professor Magee.
|
• Defenses
|
• Offer
|