Skip to main content

Regent University - Library

Eng 315 African American Literature : Databases

Finding Articles

Regent Library subscribes to databases that are helpful in finding academic journal articles, including criticism pieces on a plethora of topics related to African American literature.  An annotated listing on a core selection of these databases is provided below (Your Regent user ID and password are required to access databases).

Literature Online (LION)

Includes full-text access to a host of academic journals appropriate for finding articles including literary criticism on topics related to African American literature, and also holds primary sources of African American poetry, drama and prose.  Some relevant journals include American Poetry Review, Black Renaissance, Black Scholar: Journal of Black Studies and Research, and Obsidian II: Black Literature in Review. NOTE: Search results within LION may include results also available from the following databases:  MLA International Bibliography, JSTOR, and Project Muse.

 

Literature Resource Center

Includes full-text access to a variety of academic journals and literary magazines germane in locating full-text scholarly articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more related to aspects of African American literature.  A few relevant journals include African American Review, Callaloo, Journal of African American History, and Kola. 
 

MLA International Bibliography

An extensive database for locating articles on modern literatures, literary theory and criticism, folklore, and linguistics with coverage including topics related to African American literature.  MLAIB includes article citation indexing of and full-text to a plethora of academic journals on African American studies and literature.  Some relevant titles include Black Orpheus: Journal of African and Afro-American Literature, Negro American Literature Forum, and Obsidian: Black Literature in ReviewNote:  Search results within MLAIB also contain links to full-text articles found on the JSTOR website from its Language and Literature Collection sub-file.
 

Search our Databases, Journals, and More!

Summon searches most of our databases for articles, finds most of our books & ebooks, and shows results for videos, news, reports, and more. 

 

Keyword Suggestions

African American Literature
African American Literature AND Feminism
African American Authors
African American Fiction
African American Literature AND History
African American Authors AND Short Stories
African American Literature AND Criticism
African American Authors AND Spiritual Narratives
African American Literature AND Slave Narratives
African American Women Writers AND 20th Century
African American Authors and Non-fiction
African American Literature AND Urban Realism
African American Literature AND Anthologies
African American Poetry
Antebellum Literature
Harlem Renaissance
Harlem Renaissance AND Children's Literature
Morrison, Toni AND Contemporary Criticism
Ellison, Ralph Criticism AND Interpretation
Dunbar, Paul Laurence
Equiano, Olaudah
Hughes, Langston
Hurston, Zora Neale

Additional Article Databases