Skip to main content

Regent University - Library

Eng 315 African American Literature : Relevant Journals

Journal Finder

If you know the title, subject, or ISSN of a particular journal, use the Journal Finder to locate it.

Search Journals

Selected Relevant Journals

The below five resources are for academic e-journals that include heavy focus on African American literature topics (Your Regent user ID and password are required to access content). 

African American Review
Indexed in multiple databases, the most complete coverage is in Education Research Complete via EBSCOHost search interface with coverage from 1992 to present.  This journal features essays on African American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts and culture including interviews, fiction and poems.  Wide-ranging topics and time periods are covered and include the works of lesser known writers in addition to the works of literary heavy-weights such as Toni Morrison and James Baldwin. 
A special feature of this journal is its Forgotten Manuscripts section which features accounts of  recently uncovered literary works.   Former titles:  Negro American Literature Forum, 1967 - 1976; Black American Literature Forum, 1976 - 1991.  Both of these titles are included as journal resources below.

Search the journal and access full-text articles one of two ways.  Either, browse the content of any available issue by clicking on the links associated to a specific year, volume and issue number, and then scrolling to view its table of contents, or search all available volumes through a keyword(s) search.  For this option, click on the 'Search within this publication' link located above the journal title and enter your keyword(s), such as "toni morrison" in the search field boxes. At results screen, browse for interested articles and click the associated HTML or PDF icons to access full-text versions.

Black American Literature Forum
Indexed in multiple databases, the most complete coverage is in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection  with coverage from 1976 to 1991.  This journal features
discourse on African American literature topics along with interviews, fiction and poems. 

Search the journal and access full-text articles one of two ways.  Either, browse the content of any available issue by clicking on the links associated to a specific year, volume and issue number, and then scrolling to view its table of contents, or search all available volumes through a keyword(s) search.  For this option, enter your keyword(s), such as "slave narratives" in the search box located at the top of the screen and selecting 'In This Title' at the drop-down menu.  At results screen, browse for interested articles and click the associated PDF icon to access full-text versions.

Callaloo
Indexed in multiple databases, the most complete coverage is available in Project MUSE - Premium Collection with coverage from 1995 to present and
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection with coverage from 1976 to 2008.  This journal publishes critical studies of, and original works by, black writers, and provides a variety of fiction, poetry, critical essays, interviews, drama, and visual art.  Regularly includes annotated bibliographies, with special issues dedicated to major writers and prominent social and cultural themes.

Search the journal and access full-text articles from Project Muse one of two ways. Either, browse the content of any available issue by clicking on the links associated to a specific volume, issue number, and date and then scroll to view table of contents, or search all available volumes through a keyword(s) search. For this option, click on the 'Search Journal' tab and enter your keyword(s), such as "causes" in the 'Search inside this journal' box. At results screen, browse for interested articles and click the associated HTML or PDF icons to access full-text versions.

Negro American Literature Forum
Indexed in JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive Collection  with coverage from 1967 to 1976.  This journal features discourse on African American literature topics along with interviews, fiction and poems. 

Search the journal and access full-text articles one of two ways.  Either, browse the content of any available issue by clicking on the links associated to a specific year, volume and issue number, and then scrolling to view its table of contents, or search all available volumes through a keyword(s) search.  For this option, enter your keyword(s), such as "black poets" in the search box located at the top of the screen and selecting 'In This Title' at the drop-down menu.  At results screen, browse for interested articles and click the associated PDF icon to access full-text versions.