It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essentials of Management Information Systems by Kenneth Laudon; Jane LaudonAn in-depth look at how today's businesses use information technologies. Many businesses look for candidates who know how to use information systems, making a general understanding of information systems an asset to any business professional. The tenth edition features new opening, closing, and Interactive Session cases, as well as updated text, figures, tables, and cases.
Publication Date: 2013
Information Systems Management in Practice by Barbara McNurlin; Ralph H. SpragueThis text deals with the management of information technology (IT) as it is being practiced in organizations today. In this sixth edition, the key themes are the Internet economy, the global marketplace, e-enablement, knowledge management and knowledge sharing. It continues to merge theory with practice through case examples of real companies' use of IT.
Publication Date: 2004
Internet Safety by Richard Joseph SteinThis volume of the Reference Shelf series covers issues relating to Internet safety, including viruses, spam e-mails, Internet hoaxes, cyberbully, identity theft, and international cyberterrorism.
Privacy Protection for E-Services by George Yee (editor)Reports on the advances in privacy protection issues and technologies for e-services, covering important material, such as: consumer empowerment, assessing privacy risks, and more. This book is useful for consumers, educators, researchers, designers, and developers who are interested in the protection of consumer privacy for Internet services.
How Linux Works, 3rd Edition by Brian WardIn this third edition of the best selling How Linux Works, author Brian Ward peels back the layers of this well-loved operating system to make Linux internals accessible. Readers learn how Linux boots, how the kernel manages devices and device drivers, and how processes, networking, interfaces, firewalls, and servers work. They also learn how Linux-based development tools work, how to use shared libraries, and how to write effective shell scripts. This edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded with added coverage of Logical Volume Manager (LVM), virtualisation, and containers.
Publication Date: 2021
Mastering Active Directory by Dishan FrancisIf you are aware of Active Directory basics and want to gain expertise in it, this book is perfect for you. We will quickly go through the architecture and fundamentals of Active Directory and then dive deep into the core components, such as forests, domains, sites, trust relationships, OU, objects, attributes, DNS, and replication. We will then move on to AD schemas, global catalogs, LDAP, RODC, RMS, certificate authorities, group policies, and security best practices, which will help you gain a better understanding of objects and components and how they can be used effectively. We will also cover AD Domain Services and Federation Services for Windows Server 2016 and all their new features. Last but not least, you will learn how to manage your identity infrastructure for a hybrid-cloud setup. All this will help you design, plan, deploy, manage operations on, and troubleshoot your enterprise identity infrastructure in a secure, effective manner. Furthermore, I will guide you through automating administrative tasks using PowerShell cmdlets. Toward the end of the book, we will cover best practices and troubleshooting techniques that can be used to improve security and performance in an identity infrastructure.Style and approachThis step-by-step guide will help you master the core functionalities of Active Directory services using Microsoft Server 2016 and PowerShell, with real-world best practices at the end.
Publication Date: 2017
Operating System Concepts by Silberschatz; Beran; Gagne; GalvinKeep pace with the fast-developing world of operating systems Open-source operating systems, virtual machines, and clustered computing are among the leading fields of operating systems and networking that are rapidly changing. With substantial revisions and organizational changes, Silberschatz, Galvin, and Gagne's Operating System Concepts, Eighth Edition remains as current and relevant as ever, helping you master the fundamental concepts of operating systems while preparing yourself for today's emerging developments. As in the past, the text brings you up to speed on core knowledge and skills, including: What operating systems are, what they do, and how they are designed and constructed Process, memory, and storage management Protection and security Distributed systems Special-purpose systems Beyond the basics, the Eight Edition sports substantive revisions and organizational changes that clue you in to such cutting-edge developments as open-source operating systems, multi-core processors, clustered computers, virtual machines, transactional memory, NUMA, Solaris 10 memory management, Sun's ZFS file system, and more. New to this edition is the use of a simulator to dynamically demonstrate several operating system topics. Best of all, a greatly enhanced WileyPlus, a multitude of new problems and programming exercises, and other enhancements to this edition all work together to prepare you enter the world of operating systems with confidence.
Publication Date: 2009
Systems Performance, 2nd Edition by Brendan GreggSystems performance analysis and tuning lead to a better end-user experience and lower costs, especially for cloud computing environments that charge by the OS instance. Systems Performance, 2nd Edition covers concepts, strategy, tools, and tuning for operating systems and applications, using Linux-based operating systems as the primary example. World-renowned systems performance expert Brendan Gregg summarizes relevant operating system, hardware, and application theory to quickly get professionals up to speed even if they've never analyzed performance before, and to refresh and update advanced readers' knowledge. Gregg illuminates the latest tools and techniques, including extended BPF, showing how to get the most out of your systems in cloud, web, and large-scale enterprise environments. He covers these and other key topics: Hardware, kernel, and application internals, and how they perform Methodologies for rapid performance analysis of complex systems Optimizing CPU, memory, file system, disk, and networking usage Sophisticated profiling and tracing with perf, Ftrace, and BPF (BCC and bpftrace) Performance challenges associated with cloud computing hypervisors Benchmarking more effectively Fully updated for current Linux operating systems and environments, Systems Performance, 2nd Edition addresses issues that apply to any computer system. The book will be a go-to reference for many years to come and recommended reading at many tech companies, like its predecessor first edition.
Publication Date: 2021
Windows 10 Inside Out, 4th Edition by Ed Bott; Craig StinsonDive into Windows 10 and really put your Windows expertise to work. Focusing on the newest, most powerful, and most innovative features in Windows 10, this supremely organised reference is packed with hundreds of time-saving solutions, up-to-date tips, and workarounds. From the new Chromium-based Microsoft Edge browser to improved security and Windows Sandbox virtualisation, youll discover how experts tackle todays essential tasks. Adapt to faster change in todays era of Windows as a service, as you challenge yourself to new levels of mastery. Install, configure, and personalise the latest versions of Windows 10 Manage Windows reliability and security in any environment Keep Windows safe and current by taking charge of Windows Update Maximise your productivity with a growing library of built-in apps Customise the new Chromium-based Microsoft Edge browser and its advanced privacy features Streamline and automate day-to-day business tasks with Cortana Secure devices, data, and identities, and block malware and intruders Safeguard your business with Windows Hello biometrics and Azure AD Use Windows Sandbox virtualisation to test programs and sites without risking your systems security Store, sync, and share content with OneDrive and OneDrive for Business Collaborate more efficiently with Windows 10 Mail, Calendar, Skype, and other default apps Seamlessly manage both physical and virtual storage Deploy and manage Windows 10 devices more efficiently in any organisation Optimise performance and battery life and troubleshoot crashes For experienced Windows users and IT professionals Your role: Experienced intermediate to- advanced-level Windows user, IT professional, or consultant Prerequisites: Basic understanding of Windows procedures, techniques, and navigation.