Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Regent University - Library

International Student Resources & Services: Glossary D-I

This LibGuide was created to help International Students learn about Regent University Library resources and succeed in conducting library research.

General

The glossary is written within several different pages: A-C, D-I, L-P and R-Z.  You can access the continuing pages under the title, "Glossary."

Glossary D-I

Database -A database is a file or collection of bibliographic citations or records of materials stored electronically in a manner that can be retrieved and manipulated.

Directory - Systematically organized list of persons, businesses, organizations, or associations that provides addresses, affiliations, telephone numbers, and similar information.

Due Date - The due date is the date before which library materials on loan should be returned or renewed. Materials not returned or renewed by designated due date are subject to fines or loss of borrowing privileges.

Electronic Journals (E-Journals) - Electronic journals are fulltexts or abstracts of journalarticles.  Regent University Library subscribes to a wide variety of research E-journals which are housed in the Library's Full Text Journal Finder on http://www.regent.edu/lib

Government Documents/Government Publications - A government publication is an official document issued by a government agency.  Government publications contain information covering a wide variety of subjects.  Regent University collections include United States and Virginia government documents.

Index - There are two kinds of indexes: periodical and book indexes.  A periodical index is a list of bibliographic citations of articles in magazines or journals.  It can be used to help find articles on specific topics.  An index of a book is an alphabetical list of important entry points with paginationto the full contents of the book.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) - Interlibrary loan services are offered to current Regent University students, faculty and staff to request books and journalarticles located at other surrounding university libraries.  If a needed item is not owned by Regent University Library, it can be requested through the ILLiad system.