Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law Library Special Collections

The John Brabner-Smith Library

The John Brabner-Smith Library consists of books on the foundations of our nation that was created under the "laws of nature and of nature’s God," jurisprudence, history, and science.

This library was donated by John Brabner-Smith to the Regent University School of Law and is maintained as a special collection in the Law Library.

Accessing the Brabner-Smith Library

The Brabner-Smith Library is currently on display near the Law Library service desk. Books in this collection may be used in the Law Library and, for those with borrowing privileges at the Regent University Law Library, may be checked-out for normal loan periods.

About John Brabner-Smith

John Brabner-Smith, Wall Street and Washington, DC attorney, prosecutor of Al Capone, Law Professor and founding Dean of the International School of Law, was a brilliant scholar and expositor of Christian Jurisprudence and Natural Law.

His firm commitment to these foundational principles led to his decision in 1993 to gift two valuable collections to the Regent University Law Library. We are honored to preserve and make available these two rich collections that bear his name.

 

The John Brabner-Smith Professional Papers

The John Brabner-Smith Professional Papers consists of professional papers, correspondence and archives collected by John Brabner-Smith throughout his career.

Use of this research collection is restricted to attorneys, students, scholars and others engaged in scholarly research on jurisprudence and the Judeo-Christian foundation of the United States of America.

Accessing the Professional Papers

The Professional Papers are topically organized and maintained in a reserve cabinet in the Special Collections Room. Those who wish to access the John Brabner-Smith Professional Papers should contact the Law Library Director at (757) 352-4463 or mariham@regent.edu.