Skip to main content

Regent University - Library

Public Administration Research: Find Journals/Articles

A guide to key resources (databases, journals, web sites) in the area of public administration.

Core Databases in Public Administration

Highly recommended databases from the Library's Database List

Index Key Databases

Abbreviation

Database

ABI

ABI/INFORM

ASC

Academic Source Complete

BSC

Business Source Complete

EFT

Education Full-Text

ERC

Education Research Center

JSTOR

JSTOR (Archived except for last five years)

SAGE PS

Political Science: A Sage Full-Text Collection

SD

ScienceDirect

WB

Wiley Online Library

Scholarly or Popular?

Scholarly articles

  • Lengthy; include references, footnotes or bibliographies
  • Author(s) report original research or experiments
  • Academic, professional readership
  • May be illustrated with graphs or charts
  • May not have color pictures or ads
  • Titles like "Journal of the" or "Journal for the"

Popular articles

  • Short, terse
  • Rarely footnoted
  • References seldom listed
  • Written by staff or freelancers
  • Inform, entertain general public
  • Glossy/color photographs, ads
  • Sold in stores, newsstands, etc

Journals Available in Full-Text

The following are peer-reviewed journals with mission statements related to public administration.

Regent University Library has full-text access to the titles through a number of subscription databases.  

Journals Available in Full-Text

Database Index Key

Academy of Management Journal

BSC, JSTOR

Academy of Management Review

BSC, JSTOR

Administration & Society

SAGE PS

Administrative Science Quarterly

BSC, JSTOR, EFT

American Review of Public Administration

SAGE PS

Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science

SAGE PS, JSTOR

Australian Journal of Public Administration

WB

Canadian Public Administration

WB

Financial Accountability and Management

WB

Human Relations

ABI

International Journal of Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Marketing

BSC, WB

International Public Management Journal

BSC, WB

International Review of Administrative Sciences

SAGE PS

Journal of Accounting and Public Policy

SD

Journal of Management Studies

BSC, WB

Journal of Policy Analysis and Management

BSC, WB

Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART)

BSC, JSTOR

Journal of Public Affairs

WB

Journal of Public Affairs Education

ERC

Journal of Public Policy

JSTOR

Journal of Urban Affairs

WB, ASC

National Tax Journal

BSC

Nonprofit Management and Leadership

WB

Political Psychology

WB, JSTOR

Political Science Quarterly

ASC, JSTOR

Policy Sciences

BSC

Policy Studies Journal

BSC, WB

Policy Studies Review (continued by Review of Policy Research)

BSC, WB

Public Administration & Development

BSC, WB

Public Administration Quarterly

BSC, ABI

Public Administration Review

BSC, WB, ERC

Public Budgeting and Finance

BSC, WB

Public Integrity

ASC

Public Performance and Management Review (formally Public Productivity and Management Review)

 

BSC, JSTOR

Publius

ASC, JSTOR

Review of Policy Research

BSC, WB

Social Science Quarterly

WB

Urban Affairs Review

SAGE PS

Voluntas

ASC, ABI