Relevant Literature
ASEAN and Human Trafficking : Case Studies of Cambodia, Thailand and Vietnam by ISBN: 9789004265189Publication Date: 2014
Human Trafficking: United Kingdom Responses and Strategy by ISBN: 9781631176760Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Human Trafficking: The Trafficking of Women in Northern Germany for the Purpose of Sexual Exploitation by Call Number: Q281 .G86 2012ISBN: 9783643902634Publication Date: 2012-12-16
Slavery, Migration and Contemporary Bondage in Africa by Call Number: HT1321 .S5557 2013ISBN: 9781592218776Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Migration, Prostitution, and Human Trafficking by Call Number: HC427.95 .L584 2011ISBN: 9781412815055Publication Date: 2011-07-01
UNODC Caselaw Database
The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime has compiled a database providing caselaw regarding human trafficking. You can use the link below to search the databse by country or by keyword.
Trafficking in Persons Report
Within the U.S. Department of State is the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons (OMCTP). The OMCTP conducts reports on countries around the world. Within the Trafficking in Persons Reports are countries' evaluations. These evaluations are organized alphabetically and include recommendations to that specific country as well as prosecution, protection, and prevention summaries. The Trafficking in Persons Reports categorize countries by tiers.
- Tier 1: Countries whose governments fully comply with the Trafficking Victims Protection Act’s (TVPA) minimum standards
- Tier 2: Countries whose governments do not fully comply with the TVPA’s minimum standards, but are making significant efforts to bring themselves into compliance with those standards
- Tier 2 Watch List:
- Countries whose governments do not fully comply with the TVPA’s minimum standards, but are making significant efforts to bring themselves into compliance with those standards and:
- The absolute number of victims of severe forms of trafficking is very significant or is
- significantly increasing; or
- There is a failure to provide evidence of increasing efforts to combat severe forms of trafficking in persons from the previous year; or
- The determination that a country is making significant efforts to bring themselves into compliance with minimum standards was based on commitments by the country to take additional future steps over the next year
- Countries whose governments do not fully comply with the TVPA’s minimum standards, but are making significant efforts to bring themselves into compliance with those standards and:
- Tier 3: Countries whose governments do not fully comply with the minimum standards and are not making significant efforts to do so
COUNTRIES CASE LAW AND STATUTES
Additional Resources
- News: Human Trafficking Camp RaidedRecent human trafficking incident in Thailand.
Research Guides
- Basic Guide to Researching Foreign LawThis guide describes basic strategies for finding the laws of countries other than the U.S, primarily in English. The emphasis is on codes and laws rather than cases. The guide will also help you find secondary materials that describe other countries' laws. It includes links to websites and to other guides.
- Researching Australian lawIndepth guide to researching this country's law.
- Law of the Pacific Islands: A Guide to Web Based ResourcesThis Resource guide deals with internet sites providing Caselaw, Legislation and Government home pages for the Pacific Island region. There are also links to several relevant journals, and to academic sites providing dedicated Pacific Law web pages, or Centres dealing with Pacific Law.
- Doing Legal Research in CanadaThe guide provides information and links to print and online resources and is aimed primarily at researchers outside of Canada needing an overview of Canadian legal research.
- Mexico and its Legal SystemThe purpose of this article is to provide a general description of the major features and current characteristics of the Mexican legal system, its principal components, and some of its distinct legal institutions, including -as an introduction to what is an eminently descriptive work- a brief historical background and basic information about Mexico as a country, its territory, people, culture, and economy.
- Israeli Law GuideProvides an voerview of the legal system and law in Israel.
- A Complete Research Guide to the Laws of the People's Republic of China (PRC)This guide will mainly review the legal sources of the laws of the PRC, HKSAR, and Macao SAR in all formats, printing and non-printing, including databases, websites, and CD-ROM products.
- The Indonesian Legal System: An OverviewThis guide provides an overview of the Indonesian legal system.
- Guide to South African LawGuide on findind law in South Africa.
Foreign Law Databases
- CIA World FactbookA good resource for demographic information including culture, religion and politics.
- Legal Information InstituteCreated at Cornell University, this portal links to international information such as international organizations and treaties.
- Nations of the WorldLaw Library of Congress portal that organizes a foreign country's legal sites by their constitution; legislative, executive and judicial branches and provides links to legal guides and other miscellaneous information.
- World Legal Information Institute1240 databases from 123 jurisdictions.
- World Legal SystemsProvides a map of the world to locate the legl system of each country whether based on the common or civil law.
- HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resources DatabaseA great resource to find international law or foreign law information including older materials. Yearbooks can be of great use on researching topics. I recommend using the title search feature under Advance Searching. You can type one or two key words and Hein will search for those words in the title.
- World Constitutions IllustratedThis library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.
- •Multinational Collections Database, Law Library of CongressLaw Library of Congress catalog to search primary and secondary legal sources for a particular country. Although a catalog only, it helps determine a title in which substantive law can be found for that country.