Skip to Main Content Skip navigation

Communication & Media Research

Guide to databases for research in communication and media topics, including journalism.

Databases for Communication Research

Communication & Mass Media Complete
The primary database for communications research.
Film & Television Literature Index
Journal and trade magazine articles.
Telecommunications Database
Journal articles on the internet & other communications technology.
Telecommunications Database is an essential resource for anyone researching the telecommunications industry or its technology. Whether you want to search for the latest news on WAP technology, follow the entry of new technologies into the market or gather information on the most important players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you to be on the crest of the wave. The database includes more than 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. It allows you to search over 600,000 records, dating back to the early 1990s.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Journal articles & books on language, literature, and pop culture.
What Is the MLA International Bibliography? (on EBSCO) from Modern Language Association on Vimeo.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Major database for news, business, media, and legal sources.
ProjectMUSE
Journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library
Journals and books in communication under subject areas "Art & Applied Arts" and "Humanities."
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - XV
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of older, full-text journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Christian Periodical Index
Articles on Christian subjects.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
- This link opens in a new window
Religion journal articles.
APA PsycArticles
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology articles, which may relate to communication studies on topics like social media and mass media.

News & Current Events

Newspaper Article Search
Journal Search
See if we own a journal, newspaper, or magazine, and which database it is in.

Factiva
Current news from major papers. Change to old Factiva display to see front pages of each newspaper.
Proquest Central
Most coverage of major and minor newspapers and magazines.
Newspaper Source Plus

More Newspaper & Magazine Databases

Reference Sources (Definitions & Facts)

Statista
Statistics on a variety of topics.
Oxford Reference Online
Look up terms in Oxford's specialized academic encyclopedias.
Oxford English Dictionary
An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words.
CredoReference
Look up definitions of terms and facts.
eBooks (Gale)
Includes specialized academic encyclopedias.

Citation & Style Formats: APA, MLA, & AP

Our Regent writing coaches make citation guides: videos (above) and sample documents for various style formats.

Here is the library's APA page and resources.

Also:

RefWorks, an account Regent provides where you can store your citations and the program will format them for you. You can import them from Primo. You can take this account with you even after you leave Regent to keep track of sources you have used.
Primo and our databases provide citations in different formats. Click on the "citation" button in Primo or the quotation mark icon.

Streaming Video Collections

Kanopy Film Collection
Digital Campus
Films on Demand
Academic Video Online
Digital Theatre Plus
'Sign In' top right, use your Regent email.
Also has over 21,000 pages of written resources, from accessible guides to essays to ready-made teaching resources, written by educators for educators.

Communication Databases