Skip to Main Content Skip navigation

C.O. Baptista Film Collection & Archives

This guide is designed as an aid to research into the C.O. Baptista Film Collection & Archives. It contains background info, photos, artwork, an inventory, suggested resources, and a link to the Library’s digital repository.

Description

The C.O. Baptista Film Collection & Archives

The C.O. [Carlos (or Charles) Octavia] Baptista Collection Collection and Archives contain some of the earliest Christian films produced in the United States. The Collection includes includes 89 live action and animated films, hand-painted title cards, correspondence, documents, and an original 16mm “Miracle” projector, designed and manufactured by Baptista himself.

The films housed at Regent date from 1941 to 1958 and cover nearly the entire span of Baptista's creative work. They were released under various production company names, including Scriptures Visualized Institute, C. O. Baptista Film Mission and C. O. Baptista Films.

The Miracle projector, designed in 1944, was a groundbreaking machine for film distribution, both because it weighed only 25 pounds (less than half the weight of typical projectors of its day), and because of its extreme durability. Baptista guaranteed his projectors would work "until the return of the Lord."

 

 

Baptista Films artifacts in Regent University Special Collections

Baptista Films artifacts in Regent University Special Collections

A Miracle Projector. Courtesy of Wheaton Archives & Special Collections, Wheaton College, IL.

A Miracle Projector. Courtesy of Wheaton Archives & Special Collections, Wheaton College, IL.

Scriptures Visualized Institute title frame. Courtesy of Wheaton Archives & Special Collections, Wheaton College, IL.

Scriptures Visualized Institute title frame. Courtesy of Wheaton Archives & Special Collections, Wheaton College, IL.

Artwork for A Mighty Fortress Is Our God. Regent University Special Collections

Artwork for A Mighty Fortress Is Our God. Regent University Special Collections