Skip to main content

Regent University - Library

Meet the Library Faculty & Staff: Meet the Library Faculty & Staff

Meet the faculty and staff of Regent University Library. Access contact information and learn about their interests and responsibilities.

Heading - Meet the Library Faculty & Staff

Meet the Library Faculty & Staff

Dean of the University Library

Esther Gillie, DMin, MDiv, MS in Library and Information Science, Master of Church Music

Dean of the University Library

Esther Gillie, Dean of the Regent University Library

egillie@regent.edu
757-352-4182

Subject responsibilities:

  • Divinity & Theology
  • Education
  • Computer Science & Engineering

Interests:

  • Christian spiritual formation
  • Church Music
  • Spending time with family
  • Writing
  • Knitting

Access Services Librarian

Dorothy Hargett, MLIS, MA

Access Services Librarian

Dorothy Hargett, Access Services Librarian of Regent University Library

dorohar@regent.edu
757-352-4152

 

Responsibility

  • Head of Circulation and Interlibrary Loan

Subject responsibilities:

  • Psychology & Counseling
  • Honors program (College of Arts & Sciences)

Interests:

  • Spending time with family.
  • scrabble
  • Worship
  • Travel

Head of Public Services

Harold Henkel, MSLS, MBA

Head of Public Services

Harold Henkel, Head of Public Services, Regent University Library

harohen@regent.edu
757-352-4198

Subject responsibilities:

  • Business & Leadership
  • Arts & Communication
  • English & General Education
  • Mathematics

Interests:

  • J. S. Bach keyboard works
  • Astronomy
  • Books: Don Quixote, Aubrey–Maturin series

Instruction Librarian

Ann Moriarty, MLIS, MBA

Instruction Librarian

Ann Moriarty, Instruction Library, Regent University Library

amoriarty@regent.edu
757-352-4184

Subject responsibilities:

  • Government
  • History
  • Criminal Justice
  • Nursing & Healthcare

Interests:

  • Movies
  • Reading
  • Travel

Cataloging specialist

Melissa Danko, MLIS, BS

Cataloging Specialist

Melissa Danko, Cataloging Specialist of Regent University Library

mdanko@regent.edu
757-352-4173

Responsibility:

  • Cataloging & Metadata

Subject responsibility:

  • Science

Interests:

  • Working outside
  • Reading

Administrative Assistant & Business Manager

Vanessa Hull, BA

Administrative Assistant & Business Manager

Vanessa Hull, Administrative Assistant and Business Manager of Regent University Library

vhull@regent.edu
757-352-4185

Responsibilities:

  • Budget and resource management
  • Events planning
  • Building management

Interests:

  • Food: Cheesecake
  • Hobby: New adventures
  • Film: LOTR Trilogy
  • Authors: C.S. Lewis, Robert F. Capon, and J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Color: Grey

InterLibrary Loan / Document Delivery Supervisor

Patty Hughson, BS

InterLibrary Loan / Document Delivery Supervisor

Patty Hughson, InterLibrary Loan / Document Delivery Supervisor of Regent University Library

patrhug@regent.edu
757-352-4424

Responsibilities:

  • Supervises all aspects of the Interlibrary Loan Departments.
  • Provides excellent customer service.for both online and local students and faculty.
  • Assists students and faculty with the successful navigation of placing online requests.

Interests:

  • Beachcombing
  • Working outdoors
  • Traveling
  • Walking and Biking

InterLibrary Loan / Document Delivery Supervisor

Abraham Carter, AA

Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery Supervisor

Abraham Carter, Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery Supervisor of Regent University Library

acarter@regent.edu
757-352-4158

Responsibilities

  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL) invoicing, billing and processing requests.
  • Assists with the supervision of Circulation and ILL student workers.
  •  Provides excellent customer service and support to the Regent and general community.

Interests:

  • Singing
  • Playing Piano
  • Technology

Access Services Supervisor

Christine Payne, MFA, BA

Access Services Supervisor

Christine Payne, Access Services Supervisor of Regent University Library

chripa4@regent.edu
757-352-4159

Responsibilities:

  • Provide customer service at Resource Desk, answering patron questions and requests
  • Manage, hire, train and schedule student workers for Resource Desk
  • Oversee reoccurring projects like shelving, shifting, weeding and shelf maintenance
  • Assist with Library Social Media, including creation of content and oversight of social media pages

Interests:

  • Biblical Studies: Current graduate student in Spiritual formation
  • Film and Television: Disney, Marvel, Harry Potter, sitcoms, etc.
  • Writer (15+ years): scripts, poetry, novels, non-fiction
  • Crafting, theater, music, and dance
  • Vegan (2 years)

Periodicals Supervisor

Paulette Thompson

Periodicals Supervisor

Periodicals Supervisor of Regent University Library

paultho@regent.edu
757-352-4163

Responsibilities:

  • Maintain all print and electronic journal subscriptions
  • Order and process all print and e-book request
  • Work with staff  and faculty on special projects
  • Trouble shoot for access problems for titles in databases

Interests:

  • Reading
  • Working in vegetable and flower gardens
  • Travel
  • Biking

Special Collections Supervisor

 Donald Gantz, MDiv, MA

Special Collections Supervisor

Donald Gantz, Special Collections Supervisor of Regent University Library

donagan@regent.edu
757-352-4154

Responsibilities:

  • Organization & conservation of University archives
  • Organization & conservation of Library Special Collections

Interests:

  • How we interpret the Bible
  • Church history 
  • C. S. Lewis 
  • George MacDonald 
  • My four granddaughters.   

Chat with the Library