Research Librarian
Research Steps: Where to Look
1. Primo library search of our books & articles. Sign in & save favorites, get citations, place holds, or make requests.
2. Google Scholar search of our article databases: a powerful search. (Link to us: menu, Settings, Library Links)
3. Databases: click "Subjects" and select your field, like Divinity or Psychology. Or click "Type" and a genre like "News."
4. Research Guides to get librarians' recommendations on databases. See the Reading Lists & databases below.
5. Google to find opinion articles, news & magazine articles, think tanks, religious sources, archives, & older classics.
6. LibKey Nomad browser tool to link instantly to a library source from a citation online (such as on Wikipedia & Amazon).
7. Ask a librarian: submit a question, chat, or make an appointment to make sure you are finding the best sources.
Newspapers & Magazines
- Journal SearchSee if the library owns a newspaper or magazine & where it is.
- Newspaper Article SearchSearch by key word, title, author, or publication.
- LibKey Nomad
This link opens in a new window
Get this browser tool for instant links to library articles from the web. - Factiva
Read current major newspapers & magazines.
Reading Lists: Sources for Honors Papers
Academic Databases for Articles, E-Books, Definitions, & Facts
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
- This link opens in a new window
Theology & scripture research articles. - ABC-CLIO American History
American history. - SSRN (Social Science Research Network)Social science
- Statista
Over 1,000,000 statistics on more than 80,000 topics. - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Overviews & definitions of philosophical concepts.
- Summa Theologica by Thomas AquinasSearchable by topic.
- U. S. Council of Catholic Bishops on IssuesEthical and religious perspective.
- Oxford Reference Online
Full-text of Oxford Encyclopedias.