News Databases & Tools
-
Primo Library Search
Click "Newspaper Articles" at the top. -
Factiva
Current editions of major newspapers. Click "Switch Factiva" to see front pages. -
LibKey Nomad
Add to your browser to get instant access to our news & academic sources! -
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Congressional Quarterly reports on current issues, plus pro-con articles.
-
All News Databases at RegentComprehensive list of news databases plus individual newspapers & magazines we subscribe to.
-
Think Tank Search & LinksFind research done by independent non-profit groups.
International News Databases
-
Columbia International Affairs Online
Full-text theory and research in international affairs.
-
Global Breaking Newswires
In the modern news world, news is the primary source of timely news, and as pressures on the traditional news industry mount, news is often the only news coverage for many large regions of the world. Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the world's best news content for the modern researcher, as well as a growing archive of news indexed and accessible through the well-known and popular research functionality of the ProQuest platform
-
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
-
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English
1980 to the present -
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
Hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, and hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary background information summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
-
Women’s Studies International
Core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
News Online
To find a certain magazine or newspaper you need access to, see if we own the publication in our databases in Journal Search here.
Try the following for a variety of perspectives:
For Christian perspectives and issues, try these:
US Council of Catholic Bishops Issues Statements
For ethical, cultural, and family-related issues, try:
For education issues, try:
James G. Martin Center for Educational Renewal,
Chronicle of Higher Education,
Sold a Story (Science of Reading),
Inside Classical Education
Education Week
For political & cultural issues, try these influential think tanks:
Manhattan Institute (Conservative) and City Journal
AEI --see "Centers" (Conservative/libertarian)
Cato (Libertarian)
Pew Society (Non-partisan)
Brookings (Non-partisan/liberal)
Hoover Institution (Conservative/libertarian)
For Issues Related to History & The Arts, try:
Smithsonian Magazine
Christianity Today Book Reviews
The New Criterion Book & Culture Reviews
- Every publication or think tank has a certain worldview or political leaning, and Google boosts certain sites.
- To find articles from a variety of points-of-view, try Googling your topic plus the name of a publication, then try another publication.
- If you run into a paywall, use the Journal Search to see if we own the publication, or see this guide to finding newspaper and magazine articles in the online library collection. Don't pay for an article!
- Here is a list of influential Think Tanks. Also try non-profits like political advocacy groups, churches/denominations, universities, museums, and public archives. Here is our library page on think tanks & policy organizations.
Check the political leanings of a think tank or media publication at All Sides bias checker. Also, look for sixteen indicators of bias.