Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip navigation

Hist 316 Civil War America, 1856-1877: Finding Journals

Information for students taking the History 316: Civil War America, 1846-1877 course.

Journal Finder

If you know the title, subject, or ISSN of a particular journal, use the Journal Finder to locate it.

Search Journals

Selected Relevant Journals

Relevant Journals:

Below are links to two resources for scholarly e-journals dedicated specifically to the study of the United States Civil War (Regent user ID and password are required to access content). 

Civil War History Full-text articles available through the Project MUSE - Premium Collection database with coverage from 1978 to the present. Features research on the "sectional conflict in the United States, focusing on social, cultural, economic, political, and military issues from antebellum America through Reconstruction. Articles have featured research on slavery, abolitionism, women and war, Abraham Lincoln, fiction, national identity, and various aspects of the Northern and Southern military". 

Search the journal and access full-text articles from Project Muse one of two ways. Either browse the content of any available issue by clicking on the links associated to a specific volume, number, and date and then scroll to view the table of contents, or search all available volumes through a keyword(s) search. For this option, click on the 'Search Journal' tab and enter your keyword(s), such as "causes," in the 'Search inside this journal' box. At the results screen, browse for interesting articles and click the associated HTML or PDF icons to access full-text versions.

Journal of the Civil War Era Full-text articles available through the Project MUSE - Premium Collection database with coverage from 2011 to present. Features research on the sectional crisis, war, Reconstruction, and memory of the conflict with perspective on the military, the political and legal history of the era. 

Search the journal and access full-text articles one of two ways. Either browse the content of any available issue by clicking on the links associated with a specific volume, number, and date and then scroll to view the table of contents, or search all available volumes through a keyword(s) search. For this option, click on the 'Search Journal' tab and enter your keyword(s), such as "sectional crisis," in the 'Search inside this journal' box. At the results screen, browse for interesting articles and click the associated HTML or PDF icons to access full-text versions.

In addition to full-text access to the two scholarly journals, Regent Library provides full-text access to two reputable Civil War magazines (not considered scholarly publications) - America's Civil War and Civil War Times (previously Civil War Times Illustrated). These magazines place emphasis on battles and battle maps, strategies and leaders, biographies, eyewitness accounts, and period photographs.