Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip navigation

Hist 316 Civil War America, 1856-1877: Images

Information for students taking the History 316: Civil War America, 1846-1877 course.

Images on the Web

Below is a limited selection of Civil War digital image resources available on the open web. The largest resource of Civil War photographs, prints, and drawings is available through the Library of Congress website, although a host of universities, museums, and private entities maintain online collections, as well.


Civil War Collections, Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division

Through photographs, prints, and drawings one can examine the faces, places and events of the U.S. Civil War.  The Prints & Photographs Division holds thousands of images relating to the Civil War, found in varied collections.  Among the collections included:  

Not sure what you are looking for or just want to browse?  You can easily view the complete collection by selecting 'View All' located at the left of the screen or you can browse by selecting creator/related names, subjects, or formats.  Additionally, you may search by all text, subject, creator/name, title or number field in the provided search box.

Selected Civil War Photographs, Library of Congress American Memory Project

Contains 1,118 photographs that include "scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. The collection also includes portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men".
Search by keyword or browse by subject index. Additionally, a special presentation feature allows you to browse the photographs by time line of the Civil War, 1861 - 1865.

Drawn from twelve archival collections the images include "recruiting posters for New York City regiments of volunteers; stereographic views documenting the mustering of soldiers and of popular support for the Union in New York City; photography showing the war's impact, both in the north and south; and drawings and writings by ordinary soldiers on both sides".
Search by keyword or browse by subject index, name, or archival collections. Additionally, a special presentation titled, Before, During, and After the Civil War, allows you to browse the collection by chronological overview of the war as depicted in the photographs.
 

Contains photographs from the Matthew B. Brady collection and from the Quartermaster's Department of the Corps of Engineers, along with photographs private citizens donated to the War Department.

No formal search interface provided.  Instead one can browse photographs by selecting any of four main headings: activities, places, portraits, and Lincoln's assassination.  Photographs in the first two headings are arranged under subheadings by date, with undated items listed at the end of each subheading. 

Image Quest Database