Help with UNIV 100 Research Topics: Click to See Recommended Sources
See Primo, Google Scholar, and suggested databases on religion, computers, media, and psychology below!
Where To Do Research: Databases
-
Primo Library Search
Start with Primo! Sign in & search the library's collection of articles, books, e-books, videos, & more. -
Google Scholar
Search our library with Google! To link: 1) Menu; 2) Settings; 3) Library Links; 4) search Regent; boxes; Save. -
LibKey Nomad
Add this tool to your browser to get instant links to library sources from the web! -
Factiva
Current editions of major newspapers & magazines. Click "Switch Factiva" to see front pages. -
Statista
Need statistics? -
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Doing research on a Bible passage or religious topic? Try ATLA. -
APA PsycArticlesAcademic articles on psychology; good for social media and addiction topic.
-
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. Some full-text.
-
Communication & Mass Media CompleteCovers advertising, marketing, film/video, game studies, journalism, communication, mass media
-
Oxford Reference Online
Great academic source for defining terms like "plagiarism" or "gospel of Thomas." -
CredoReference
Need definitions & facts? Try this huge collection of encyclopedias & dictionaries. -
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Looking for a topic? Need info on current issues? Need pro & con articles? -
Proquest Central
A vast database that searches for articles on every subject in journals, newspapers, & magazines.
Using the Library: Did you know that most of our library sources are online, and others can be mailed to you or scanned for you? Our librarians can also help you with research & questions through chat, email, & appointments!
Step 1) Use the library's Primo search for articles & books.
Be sure to log in! You can save sources in Primo with the "pin" or "RW" for RefWorks to form citations.
Also try Google Scholar, which can be linked to Regent Library's articles.
Step 2) Try Individual Databases Next: After you've tried our Primo search, explore our individual subject databases, full of academic journal articles, e-books, & films. Click "Subjects" at the top (such as education, divinity, business, psychology, etc.) or see the list of religion, psychology, and general databases above.
Getting Help & Free RefWorks Account
Librarians are here to help you with your research through chat, email, phone, appointments, & workshops!
Writing coaches are here to help you with writing & citation at writing@regent.edu, or use their online drop-in hours. See our citation resources for MLA, APA, & more here.
-
RefWorks Premium
Free account to create a bibliography & formatted citations! Export any source from Primo to "RW."
- To use RefWorks the first time, go to this page and create a password (use your Regent email) OR go to Primo library search, sign in, click your name at the top right, and select RefWorks from the drop-down menu.
- From then on, you can click RW next to any source record in Primo (the main library search) or a database to export the source into RefWorks. In a database, look at the options menu for each source (sometimes 3 dots or options in the margin) and look for the "RW" export option.
- Then, when you are in RefWorks, be sure to click "Import" to finish the process. Add it to a folder if desired.
- You can also enter sources manually (i.e. copy and paste the title, author, etc.).
- Then go to "Last Imported" or folders to select sources, and click "Create Bibliography" at the top and select your format, such as APA 7 no title casing or MLA 9 title casing.
- Click control C to copy the bibliography and then control V to paste it in your assignment.
Library How-To Videos
-
Library YouTube ChannelPlease visit our YouTube channel to see all our latest videos on how to use Primo, Google Scholar, Fulfillment Services (ILL), databases, and other great tools! These videos are short and practical.
