Legal Research
A Short and Happy Guide to Advanced Legal Research by
Legal research can be costly for students and practitioners in two ways: time and money. A SHORT & HAPPY GUIDE TO ADVANCED LEGAL RESEARCH identifies available free and fee-based legal research options as good, cheap and/or fast. This book can streamline the process of legal research involving any subject matter and during any stage of civil litigation. An overview of the litigation analytics and artificial intelligence features available from Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, and Westlaw Edge is also included, in the likely event you graduated from law school before 2019. Ann Walsh Long is the Head of Research & Digital Collections/Assistant Professor of Law at the Lincoln Memorial University School of Law. Ann has also worked at the Environmental Protection Agency's Headquarters Library and in four "Big Law" firms. As a former law firm librarian, Ann taught hundreds of summer and new associates how to conduct cost-effective legal research, and advised firms on how best to recover those costs from clients.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF240.L66 S56 2020ISBN: 9781640207486Publication Date: 2020-02-24
Examples and Explanations for Legal Research by
Examples & Explanations: Legal Research is designed to meet the needs of law students who have come to expect that they will instantly receive answers to their questions. Rather than cataloging sources or outlining processes, this text starts where today's law students are when they realize they have a research problem. By that time, their research problem is not locating sources, but knowing what to do with them. The Legal Research E & E guides students through examples and explanations of the kinds of sources they've found, using the context of interesting and entertaining real-world problems. The text helps students determine which sources are the most useful for the current project and which ¬ it leads students to understand how one source affects and relates to the others; and--equally important--it shows students how to write about the sources they have found. Because this book covers the kinds of research projects faced not only by beginning law students but also by advanced students and even new lawyers, its value to its readers is long-lasting. Even experienced researchers will learn more about working with the difficult, as well as the easy, research questions that today are addressed by an array of sources.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781454886549Publication Date: 2016-11-08
Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources. For more information and additional teaching materials, visit the companion site.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF240 .C54 2018ISBN: 9781640208049Publication Date: 2018-09-20
Just Research by
Just Research provides students with the information and skills that will enable them to do thorough and cost-effective research as soon as they enter into practice. Highly respected authors Laurel Currie Oates and Anne Enquist describe the sources that can be used to research the most common types of legal issues, for example, issues governed by state statutes and regulations, issues governed by federal statutes and regulations, issues governed by local law, and issued governed by common law.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF240 .O18 2017ISBN: 9781454886518Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Legal Research by
Examples & Explanations: Legal Research is designed to meet the needs of law students who have come to expect that they will instantly receive answers to their questions. Rather than cataloging sources or outlining processes, this text starts where today's law students are when they realize they have a research problem. By that time, their research problem is not locating sources, but knowing what to do with them. The Legal Research E & E guides students through examples and explanations of the kinds of sources they've found, using the context of interesting and entertaining real-world problems. The text helps students determine which sources are the most useful for the current project and which ¬ it leads students to understand how one source affects and relates to the others; and--equally important--it shows students how to write about the sources they have found. Because this book covers the kinds of research projects faced not only by beginning law students but also by advanced students and even new lawyers, its value to its readers is long-lasting. Even experienced researchers will learn more about working with the difficult, as well as the easy, research questions that today are addressed by an array of sources.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF240 .P65 2017ISBN: 1454867892Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Where the Law Is by
This newly updated textbook and course reference is designed specifically for advanced legal research classes and for upper-level students who want to achieve a better understanding of how to use the sources of legal information that they learned about in their introductory courses. It provides in-depth guidance through the research process, advice on format selection, and detail about the tools and techniques needed to function as skilled legal researchers. Up to date discussion of all media is fully integrated throughout. It focuses on the types of information the researcher needs, rather than on descriptions of particular information products. The fifth edition discusses all the newest material available to legal researchers, such as new sources of information on the Internet, including Congress.gov. New subscription databases are also covered, including ProQuest Legislative Insight. The fifth edition also features enlarged chapters on foreign and international law, as well as extensively updated material throughout the book.
Call Number: Law Reference KF240 .A76 2018ISBN: 9781683285250Publication Date: 2017-11-20
Empirical Legal Research by
Empirical Legal Research describes how to investigate the roles of legislation, regulation, legal policies and other legal arrangements at play in society. It is invaluable as a guide to legal scholars, practitioners and students on how to do empirical legal research, covering history, methods, evidence, growth of knowledge and links with normativity. This multidisciplinary approach combines insights and approaches from different social sciences, evaluation studies, Big Data analytics and empirically informed ethics. The authors present an overview of the roots of this blossoming interdisciplinary domain, going back to legal realism, the fields of law, economics and the social sciences, and also to civilology and evaluation studies. The book addresses not only data analysis and statistics, but also how to formulate adequate research problems, to use (and test) different types of theories (explanatory and intervention theories) and to apply new forms of literature research to the field of law such as the systematic, rapid and realist reviews and synthesis studies. The choice and architecture of research designs, the collection of data, including Big Data, and how to analyze and visualize data are also covered. The book discusses the tensions between the normative character of law and legal issues and the descriptive and causal character of empirical legal research, and suggests ways to help handle this seeming disconnect. This comprehensive guide is vital reading for law practitioners as well as for students and researchers dealing with regulation, legislation and other legal arrangements.
Call Number: Law Reference K85 .L439 2017ISBN: 1782549404Publication Date: 2017-09-29
The Process of Legal Research by
Buy a new version of this Connected Casebook and receive ACCESS to the online e-book, practice questions from your favorite study aids, and an outline tool on CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes - portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. A long-time best-selling comprehensive text for basic legal research, The Process of Legal Research: Practices and Resources, Ninth Edition melds a rich discussion of legal authorities with a presentation of strategic processes for researching using the vast array of resources now available to the legal researcher. With readability in mind, The Process of Legal Research is written to engage various learners through streamlined text, graphics, in-text scenarios that draw on first-year topics, sample documents, and self-assessment questions. Covering sources from dictionaries to international and tribal law, and presenting and repeatedly demonstrating ten practices that distinguish skilled researchers, the book zeroes in on current, credible, cost-efficient options for each type of legal authority. To maximize students' comprehension, the chapters conclude with a research scenario paired with questions for guided practice as well as a theoretical question to prompt class discussion. Key Features of the New Edition: New chapter discussing ten practices of skilled researchers, including choosing resources with care, piggy-backing on other's work, and managing your information file--which echo through remaining chapters "Test Your Knowledge" questions (with answers provided) to test student acquisition of key concepts "Put It Into Practice" feature placing guided practice exercise directly in book itself, rather than on website Reflection of dramatic shifts in resources, e.g., presentation of print digests and reporters as background material; more focus on free web sources such as Office of Law Revision Counsel United States Code Online, Google Scholar for cases research, Congress.gov; more coverage of lost-cost commercial resources CasebookConnect features: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions from Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law Outlines, Emanuel Law in a Flash flashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF240 .P76 2016ISBN: 9781454863335Publication Date: 2016-03-03
Principles of Legal Research by
Winner of the American Association of Law Libraries' Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award in 2010, Principles of Legal Research provides encyclopedic yet concise coverage of research methods and resources using both free and commercial websites as well as printed publications. It has been thoroughly updated to provide coverage of WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, Bloomberg Law, and other new resources. An introductory survey of research strategies is followed by chapters on the sources of U.S. law created by each branch of government, discussion of major secondary sources, and an overview of international and comparative law. Sample illustrations are included, and an appendix lists more than 500 major treatises and looseleaf services by subject.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF240 .O57 2015ISBN: 9780314286642Publication Date: 2015-07-31
Recommended by Professors
Plain English for Lawyers by Call Number: Law Reference KF250 .W9 2019ISBN: 9781531006990Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Making Your Case by
In their professional lives, courtroom lawyers must do these two things well: speak persuasively and write persuasively. In this noteworthy book, two noted legal writers systematically present every important idea about judicial persuasion in a fresh, entertaining way. The book covers the essentials of sound legal reasoning, including how to develop the syllogism that underlies any argument. From there the authors explain the art of brief writing, especially what to include and what to omit, so that you can induce the judge to focus closely on your arguments. Finally, they show what it takes to succeed in oral argument.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF8870 .S28 2008ISBN: 9780314184719Publication Date: 2008-06-06
The Elements of Legal Style by
With expanded coverage in this new edition, The Elements of Legal Style features additional sections, many more examples, and a thoroughly researched appendix that contains 80 major statements on prose style--what it is and how to attain it. Inspired by Strunk and White's The Elements of Style, this book clearly (often wittily) explains the full range of what legal writers need to know: mechanics, word choice, structure, and rhetoric, as well as all the special conventions that legal writers should follow in using headings, defined terms, quotations, and many other devices. Garner also provides abundant examples from the best legal writers of yesterday and today, including Oliver Wendell Holmes, Clarence Darrow, Frank Easterbrook, and Antonin Scalia. If you want to make your writing clearer, more precise, more persuasive, and above all more stylish, The Elements of Legal Style offers the surest--and the most enjoyable--means to that end.
Call Number: Law Reference KF250 .G37 2002ISBN: 0195141628Publication Date: 2002-03-21
Legal Writing & Legal Analysis
Examples and Explanations for Legal Writing by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781454891222Publication Date: 2019-02-25
Legal Writing and Analysis in a Nutshell by
This book provides a ten-step guide to clear, precise, and effective legal writing and analysis for both law students and experienced lawyers. It gives the keys to writing legal memoranda and briefs, organizing analysis, crafting clear and concise sentences, using legal language accurately, using grammar and punctuation properly, writing persuasively using classical rhetorical techniques. The book describes a method for analyzing and improving individual writing style includes a sample analysis. It also includes new material on using plain English and new legal documents to illustrate effective writing techniques.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .B34 2017ISBN: 9781634602815Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Legal Writing by
Designed as a desktop reference for legal writers, the sixth edition of this book adds new entries and updates current entries, provides reference material and guidance on improving one's legal writing, includes a large index with cross-references under each entry, and addresses common questions legal writers have. Covering issues small and large, it offers quick, reliable answers. New in this edition are entries on specific kinds of writing lawyers must complete, including the following: amicus briefs; pretrial briefs; appellate briefs; reply briefs; scholarly writing; legal recommendations; corporate documents; judicial opinions; PowerPoints; and informative documents, such as fact sheets, white papers, and newsletter articles.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .R39 2018ISBN: 9781683284598Publication Date: 2018-05-16
The Complete Legal Writer by
The Complete Legal Writer lives up to its name, providing everything legal research and writing professors and students need in a textbook, including citation literacy, research skills, writing process, a wide range of legal documents, and more. Using the cutting-edge Genre Discovery Approach, this book teaches students to guide themselves through the process of writing unfamiliar legal document types and thereby prepares students to write independently in upper-level classes and the workplace.
To aid in teaching Genre Discovery, the authors provide three exacting samples of each document type covered in the book, a rhetorical analysis of each document type, and specific questions to guide students as they study the samples. The Complete Legal Writer covers document types that are traditionally taught in the first year, such as office memos and appellate briefs, as well as document types taught in upper-level and non-traditional first-year curricula, including trial briefs, demand letters, and employer blog posts.
Furthermore, this book covers an essential skill for all legal writing classes: giving and receiving feedback. In addition to explaining how to give feedback to and receive feedback from peers, an important skill given the rise of peer-feedback practices in the LRW classroom, The Complete Legal Writer also covers how to receive and implement feedback from professors and workplace supervisors in order to improve both a particular document and future documents.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .C46 2016ISBN: 9781611638127Publication Date: 2016-01-06- The Science Behind the Art of Legal Writing by
This book acts as a single-source textbook for learning and understanding the theoretical and empirical bases for legal writing and seeks to arm the novice legal writer with this sort of empirical knowledge so that the writer can make logical and informed choices about how to structure legal writing. Although writing is an ''art'' in many senses of the word, there is some ''science'' behind the ''art'' of legal writing and that ''science'' is what this book explains. This book will highlight the numerous studies performed in various academic fields on viability and efficacy of various writing choices and will demonstrate how those studies support or criticize various choices when it comes to legal writing.
Call Number: Law General Collection K94 .C358 2015ISBN: 9781611630145Publication Date: 2015-01-23
Legal Writing by
Best practices for legal writing in the workplace and for students of law. BarCharts, Inc was founded on our law guides created by the owner, designed to understand the significance of details within the larger scheme of the law, as a daily refresher, and to review before the Bar Exam. Twenty five years later we keep those guides up to date for students of law and criminal justice, paralegals and practicing lawyers to have the most handy legal reference to the most important points of the law possible in 6 laminated pages. 6-page laminated guide includes: Essentials of a Legal Memorandum Creating the Heading Explaining the Facts Drafting the Question Presented Drafting the Brief Answer Section Drafting the Discussion Section Drafting the Conclusion Section More Complex Organization Plans Best Practices for Editing & Revising Types of Legal Logic Plain English Translation Table Suggested uses: Students - keep your legal writing in check with a quick review plus constant refreshers before classes and exams Professionals - keep your legal writing in check long after passing the Bar exam Bar Exam - great review tool before for taking the exam
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781423234777Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Just Memos by
This brief text focuses on legal memo writing. Designed as a supplement for first-year legal writing courses, it provides students with information needed to write objective memos, opinion letters, and e-mails.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .O178 2014ISBN: 9781454831013Publication Date: 2014-04-04
The Legal Writing Handbook by
Buy anew versionof this Connected Casebook and receiveaccessto theonline e-book,practice questionsfrom your favorite study aids, and anoutline toolon CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes - portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. The Legal Writing Handbook: Analysis, Research, and Writingcontinues in the tradition that has made it a resounding success and a leading text for almost two decades, offering a complete teaching package with everything a student needs for the legal writing course. Features: Updated with the goal of making students practice ready. New chapter on writing e-memos, that is, shorter, less formal memos that might be embedded in an email. Exercises added to the research chapters Expanded chapter on letters that discusses both opinion letters and demand letters. CasebookConnectfeatures: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions fromExamples & Explanations,Emanuel Law Outlines,Emanuel Law in a Flashflashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .O18 2014ISBN: 9781454841555Publication Date: 2014-02-07
The Mindful Legal Writer: Mastering Persuasive Writing by
The Mindful Legal Writer: Mastering Persuasive Writing is designed to provide practical real-life context for the role of persuasive legal writing in authentic law practice. Students need to understand WHY lawyers write the way they do, and HOW the students own work product will be useful in real life by a supervising attorney, client, or judge. This book encapsulates ways to inject passion into teaching and learning persuasive legal writing, with the goal of empowering students to take ownership of their writing craft. The Mindful Legal Writer: Mastering Persuasive Writing offers best practices for presenting a legal argument in a logical, engaging, and ethical manner no matter what the assignment. Once students have mastered these fundamentals, they can learn how to add their own artistic flair.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .B764 2016ISBN: 9781454836193Publication Date: 2016-02-09
Legal Writing Style by
Legal Writing Style promotes the art of good writing by teaching students and practitioners the tools to make their prose clear, precise, simple, and forceful. With examples of what works and what doesn't, this short but comprehensive treatise provides an invaluable resource for recasting writing for maximum impact and ultimate success.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .W4 2018ISBN: 9781634592963Publication Date: 2018-03-28
Successful Legal Analysis and Writing by
This work is a practical legal analysis and writing handbook. Designed for first-year students, it is also a valuable refresher text for more advanced students, and for practitioners. This easy-to-read book features fundamental advice on how to communicate written and oral legal analysis from a problem-solving perspective. It features illustrative examples and templates. The fourth edition includes additional examples and models, created in collaboration between one author with recent practice experience and one who has been teaching for over twenty years. It also incorporates professional ethical considerations throughout, while providing learning objectives for each chapter.
Call Number: Law Reference KF250 .C53 2017ISBN: 9781634606219Publication Date: 2017-06-09
Applied Critical Thinking and Legal Analysis by Call Number: Law General Collection KF283 .B76 2017ISBN: 9781531002558Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Reading Law by
In this groundbreaking book, Scalia and Garner systematically explain all the most important principles of constitutional, statutory, and contractual interpretation in an engaging and informative style with hundreds of illustrations from actual cases. Is a burrito a sandwich? Is a corporation entitled to personal privacy? If you trade a gun for drugs, are you using a gun in a drug transaction? The authors grapple with these and dozens of equally curious questions while explaining the most principled, lucid, and reliable techniques for deriving meaning from authoritative texts. Meanwhile, the book takes up some of the most controversial issues in modern jurisprudence. What, exactly, is textualism? Why is strict construction a bad thing? What is the true doctrine of originalism? And which is more important: the spirit of the law, or the letter? The authors write with a well-argued point of view that is definitive yet nuanced, straightforward yet sophisticated.
Call Number: Law General Collection K290 .S28 2012ISBN: 9780314275554Publication Date: 2012-06-19
Scholarly/Academic Legal Research & Writing
Academic Legal Writing by
Designed to help law students write and publish articles, this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the law school writing, research, and publication process. Topics covered include law review articles and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift from research to writing, cite-checking others' work, publishing, and publicizing written works. With supporting documents available on http://volokh.com/writing, the book helps law students and everyone else involved in academic legal writing: professors save time and effort communicating basic points to students; law schools satisfy the American Bar Association's second- and third-year writing requirements; and law reviews receive better notes from their staff. The Fifth Edition, based on the author's experience teaching his newly designed Intensive Editing Workshop and First Amendment Amicus Brief Clinic, adds material on editing, rebutting counterarguments, writing strategy, identifying and using the key assets of the article, fighting "the curse of knowledge," and submitting articles to law reviews. It also adds extra examples of sound writing, as well as editing exercises.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .V65 2016ISBN: 9781634598880Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Scholarly Writing for Law Students by
This book fills an important niche in legal-writing literature by teaching law students how to write scholarly papers for seminars, law reviews, and law-review competitions and how to have their work recognized. It helps novices and more experienced scholars alike to write papers with a minimum of anxiety and a maximum of creativity. Employing a process theory of writing, the text first describes the enterprise of scholarly writing and then discusses techniques for brainstorming topics and theses, researching, drafting, and revising for substance and style. It covers both traditional doctrinal topics and newer areas like empirical studies. There are also chapters on footnotes, avoiding plagiarism, law review practice, and dissemination of student work through publication and submission to national writing competitions. Appendices provide a sample law-review competition paper, answers to in-text exercises, sample syllabi for scholarly writing courses, and a rubric for evaluating and editing scholarly papers and articles.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF250 .F35 2017ISBN: 9781683282075Publication Date: 2017-03-24- Empirical Legal Research by
Empirical Legal Research describes how to investigate the roles of legislation, regulation, legal policies and other legal arrangements at play in society. It is invaluable as a guide to legal scholars, practitioners and students on how to do empirical legal research, covering history, methods, evidence, growth of knowledge and links with normativity. This multidisciplinary approach combines insights and approaches from different social sciences, evaluation studies, Big Data analytics and empirically informed ethics. The authors present an overview of the roots of this blossoming interdisciplinary domain, going back to legal realism, the fields of law, economics and the social sciences, and also to civilology and evaluation studies. The book addresses not only data analysis and statistics, but also how to formulate adequate research problems, to use (and test) different types of theories (explanatory and intervention theories) and to apply new forms of literature research to the field of law such as the systematic, rapid and realist reviews and synthesis studies. The choice and architecture of research designs, the collection of data, including Big Data, and how to analyze and visualize data are also covered. The book discusses the tensions between the normative character of law and legal issues and the descriptive and causal character of empirical legal research, and suggests ways to help handle this seeming disconnect. This comprehensive guide is vital reading for law practitioners as well as for students and researchers dealing with regulation, legislation and other legal arrangements.
Call Number: Law General Collection K85 .L439 2017ISBN: 9781782549406Publication Date: 2017-09-29
See also: Law Review Cite Check LibGuide
Legal Research & Writing Journals
- Legal Communication & Rhetoric: JALWD Legal Communication & Rhetoric: JALWD is a publication of the Association of Legal Writing Directors. Its mission is to advance the study of professional legal writing and lawyering and to become an active resource and a forum for conversation between the legal practitioner and the legal writing scholar. The Journal is dedicated to encouraging and publishing scholarship (1) focusing on the substance and doctrine of legal writing. Legal writing is broadly defined to include many types of writing in a lawyering setting; (2) grounded in legal doctrine, empirical research, or interdisciplinary theory; and (3) accessible, helpful and interesting to all "do-ers" of legal writing: attorneys, judges, law students, and legal academicians. Published articles are intended to reach all of those audiences.
- Legal Writing: The Journal of the Legal Writing Institute The Legal Writing Institute established Legal Writing: The Journal of the Legal Writing Institute in 1988 to showcase the developing discipline of legal writing. The Journal’s mission is to provide a forum for the publication of scholarly articles about the theory, substance, and pedagogy of legal writing.
- Perspectives: Teaching Legal Research & Writing Perspectives: Teaching Legal Research and Writing is an electronic journal published by Thomson Reuters two times a year for legal research and writing instructors and law firm and law school librarians. The journal provides a forum for discussing the teaching of legal research and writing, focusing on research materials, tools and theories. Among the subjects frequently covered in Perspectives are trends in electronic legal research; solutions to legal research problems; and recently published legal research and writing resources. Also available on Westlaw.
Brief Writing & Appellate Advocacy
A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy by
Mary Beth Beazley's highly regarded A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy is a comprehensive student-focused guide to writing appellate briefs. Written in an understandable, direct writing style, this concise paperback's effective structure centers on a four-point approach to writing and breaks each point down into key elements that are then treated in-depth. New to the Fifth Edition: New bullets at the end of each chapter reviewing major takeaways Expanded coverage of research advice in Chapter 3, including discussion on Boolean searches A new chapter on using statutes in briefs, covering Reading statutes effectively Making statutory interpretation arguments Research techniques for statutory interpretation arguments Professors and students will benefit from: Student-friendly writing that is easy to read and understand Annotated examples - both good and bad - that help students understand why certain methods are effective Chapters on effective use of cases and statutes that address common problems experienced by students Numerous formulas that make learning and remembering easy: Creac Formula for effective topic sentences Formula for effective case descriptions ""Template"" formula for effective signals to the reader Teaching materials include: Powerpoints with effective examples and teaching notes Self-grading guidelines and examples of self-grading of effective and ineffective legal writing
Call Number: Law General Collection KF251 .B42 2019ISBN: 9781454896340Publication Date: 2018-09-14
Winning on Appeal by
When the late Ruggero J. Aldisert wrote Winning on Appeal in 1992, it became an instant classic in law school classrooms and appellate law practices across the country. To celebrate the twenty-fifth anniversary of the book's release, Tessa L. Dysart and Leslie H. Southwick carry on the Aldisert tradition of revealing the "nuts and bolts" of how to prepare an effective brief with the nuanced art of a delivering a persuasive appeal to the court. Their meticulously rendered update is replete with dozens of interviews with leading appeals judges and practitioners--treasured guidance from a bona fide who's who of appellate advocacy in America--and escorts readers into the "wired" courtroom of the twenty-first century, where they explore the benefits and challenges of melding technology with appellate advocacy. With a Foreword penned by U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Samuel A. Alito, Jr., Winning on Appeal conveys the perfect blueprint for any lawyer who wants to win on appeal. Reviews "I argued before Judge Aldisert as a young attorney, and I learned from the experience of trying to hold my own in front of the former Marine. I will certainly never forget those occasions. Arguing before Judge Aldisert was the best (and therefore the most demanding) Socratic experience imaginable. Woe to the lawyer who was unprepared or, worse yet, tried to pull something on the court! But to paraphrase that famous Sinatra song, if you could make it arguing in front of Judge Aldisert, you could make it anywhere. I am very pleased that Rugi's teaching will live on after him in this new edition of Winning on Appeal. For new appellate advocates, this volume should be required reading. I wish that it had been available when I argued my first case. For more experienced attorneys, the book contains advanced tips and reminders that may serve as a corrective against the bad habits that are easy to acquire. For any attorney who wants to know how to win on appeal, this is where to look." -- Samuel A. Alito, Jr., Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court
Call Number: Law General Collection KF9050 .A935 2017ISBN: 9781601567246Publication Date: 2017-08-15
Effective Appellate Advocacy by
This text is designed for both law students and lawyers. Analysis begins by over-viewing the appellate process including factors to consider before appealing. Ethics of advocacy as informed by the Model Rules with internet sites provide the latest information. Sound persuasive theory is developed. Preparation for and writing the opening, answering, and reply briefs, including examples follows. Preparation and presentation of the oral argument with examples concludes the appeal and post-argument procedures such as post-argument memos and petition for rehearing. Closing the case after appeal concludes the text.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF251.B43 2016ISBN: 9780314278395Publication Date: 2016-10-03
The Winning Brief by
In its first two editions, The Winning Brief explained the art of effective writing in 100 concise, practical, and easy-to-use tips, proving that the key to writing well is to understand the judicial readership. This third edition of Bryan A. Garner's modern classic delivers the same invaluable guidelines with even more supporting evidence. Covering everything from the rules for planning and organizing a brief to openers that can capture a judge's attention from the first few words, these tips add up to the most compelling, orderly, and visually appealing brief that an advocate can present. In Garner's view, good writing is good thinking put to paper. "Never write a sentence that you couldn't easily speak," he warns - and demonstrates how to do just that. Every tip begins with a set of quotable quotes from experts, followed by Garner's masterly advice on building sound paragraphs, drafting crisp sentences, choosing the best words ("Strike pursuant to from your vocabulary."), quoting authority, citing sources, and designing a document that looks as impressive as it reads. Throughout, Garner shows how to edit for maximal impact, using vivid before-and-after examples that apply the basics of rhetoric to persuasive writing. In this much-expanded third edition, Garner has perfected the text with nine new tips, hundreds of new examples, and amplified explanations throughout-all in his trademark style. Among the new sections are tips on understanding judges' reading habits, answering opponents' arguments, writing effective reply briefs, using authorities persuasively, and organizing arguments based on statutes and contracts. Quotable quotes, which Garner carefully assembled after years of wide reading and close study, have been expanded and improved throughout the book. There is also a new appendix on a remarkable brief that some consider the best ever written ("a beautiful marriage of rhetorical skill, thorough research, and humane lawyering"). Perhaps the biggest change to this edition is that every tip now ends with a summary checklist that recaps and crystalizes the subpoints just covered, with further ideas for improvement. Garner conceived these checklists in part as a way to help readers approach his book as a set of 100 tutorials. Reviewing and practicing each tip will offer brief-writers a degree of mastery that more cavalier colleagues will find difficult to equal. An invaluable resource for attorneys, law clerks, judges, paralegals, law students and their teachers, The Winning Brief has the qualities that make all of Garner's books so popular: authority, accessibility, and page after page of techniques that work. If you're writing to win a case, this book shouldn't merely be on your shelf--it should be open on your desk.
Call Number: Law Reference KF251 .G37 2014ISBN: 9780199378357Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Point Made: How to Write Like the Nation's Top Advocates by
With Point Made, legal writing expert, Ross Guberman, throws a life preserver to attorneys, who are under more pressure than ever to produce compelling prose. What is the strongest opening for a motion or brief? How to draft winning headings? How to tell a persuasive story when the record is dry and dense? The answers are "more science than art," says Guberman, who has analyzed stellar arguments by distinguished attorneys to develop step-by-step instructions for achieving the results you want. The author takes an empirical approach, drawing heavily on the writings of the nation's 50 most influential lawyers, including Barack Obama, John Roberts, Elena Kagan, Ted Olson, and David Boies. Their strategies, demystified and broken down into specific, learnable techniques, become a detailed writing guide full of practical models. In FCC v. Fox, for example, Kathleen Sullivan conjures the potentially dangerous, unintended consequences of finding for the other side (the "Why Should I Care?" technique). Arguing against allowing the FCC to continue fining broadcasters that let the "F-word" slip out, she highlights the chilling effect these fines have on America's radio and TV stations, "discouraging live programming altogether, with attendant loss to valuable and vibrant programming that has long been part of American culture." Each chapter of Point Made focuses on a typically tough challenge, providing a strategic roadmap and practical tips along with annotated examples of how prominent attorneys have resolved that challenge in varied trial and appellate briefs. Short examples and explanations with engaging titles--"Brass Tacks," "Talk to Yourself," "Russian Doll"--deliver weighty materials with a light tone, making the guidelines easy to remember and apply. In addition to all-new examples from the original 50 advocates, this Second Edition introduces eight new superstar lawyers from Solicitor General Don Verrilli, Deanne Maynard, Larry Robbins, and Lisa Blatt to Joshua Rosencranz, Texas Senator Ted Cruz, Judy Clarke, and Sri Srinvasan, now a D.C. Circuit Judge. Ross Guberman also provides provocative new examples from the Affordable Care Act wars, the same-sex marriage fight, and many other recent high-profile cases. Considerably more commentary on the examples is included, along with dozens of style and grammar tips interspersed throughout. Also, for those who seek to improve their advocacy skills and for those who simply need a step-by-step guide to making a good brief better, the book concludes with an all-new set of 50 writing challenges corresponding to the 50 techniques.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781306517706Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Bluebook and Legal Citation Resources
The Bluebook by
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Call Number: Law General Collection KF245 .B58ISBN: 9780578666150Publication Date: 2020-05-20
- Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (Cornell/LII) Peter Martin's Introduction to Basic Legal Citation first appeared in 1993. It was most recently revised in November of 2020 to take account of a new edition of The Bluebook (the 21st). Like all prior revisions this one included a thorough review of the relevant rules of appellate practice of federal and state courts. The guide also takes account of the latest editions of the ALWD Guide to Legal Citation (2017), published in 2015, and The Supreme Court's Style Guide. Point-by-point, it is linked to the free citation guide, The Indigo Book.
Understanding and Mastering the Bluebook by
The Bluebook provides the rules for legal citation, but can be intimidating and frustrating to use. With its simple building-block approach, this survival manual teaches how to understand and master the essential rules for legal practitioners. Rules are fully described and illustrated using: clear explanations and illustrations of the basic components of legal citations; step-by-step instructions for building citations to the most common authorities cited by legal practitioners; detailed guidance for citing legal materials to both print and electronic sources; examples, comparison charts, illustrations, and bullet-point explanations designed for quick mastery of basic Bluebook citation rules; tips, hints, and cautions to help users avoid common citation errors; cross references to the controlling Bluebook rules; and a user-friendly format gathering The Bluebook's scattered rules for each authority into one place. The third edition of Understanding and Mastering The Bluebook is thoroughly revised and updated to the 20th edition of The Bluebook, and is an indispensable tool for anyone who is new to legal citation or whose skills need refreshing.
For readers interested in further practicing their citation skills, Linda Barris created Mastering The Bluebook Interactive Exercises, an online learning tool that coordinates with both Understanding and Mastering The Bluebook, Third Edition and The Bluebook, 20th Edition. Each copy of Understanding and Mastering The Bluebook, Third Edition includes a discount code for 20% off the purchase of Mastering The Bluebook Interactive Exercises.
Call Number: Law Reference KF245 .B37 2015ISBN: 9781611637748Publication Date: 2015-08-20
Cite Checker by
Cite-Checker: Your Guide to Using the Bluebook, Third Edition, provides students with a comprehensive self-paced guide to citation form according to The Bluebook. This concise paperback is rich with lucid explanations and sound advice and will prove a valuable complement to any legal writing or research course. This practical and pragmatic guide to learning proper citation form features: An easy-to-use, self-paced tutorial to citation form that includes rules, exercises, and answers Explanations of the rules established in The Bluebook along with a complete and thorough overview of citation form A hands-on exercise in each chapter, with answer keys to the exercises included in the text Practice Tips, offering practical advice on using The Bluebook, in every chapter A logical, step-by-step format to help students build confidence with citation skills A bonus section on preparing tables of authorities for briefs and court documents -- a topic not covered in either The Bluebook or ALWD Completely updated to the 19th Edition of The Bluebook published in June, 2010, the Third Edition presents new and revised exercises throughout. This concise, readable paperback offers thoughtful and thorough explanations of important concepts with self-checking exercises that will help students confidently master those concepts.
Call Number: Law Reference KF245 .B68 2016ISBN: 9781454820529Publication Date: 2016-01-15
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation by
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation, Sixth Edition provides the tools needed for all forms of legal writing, using clear explanations and abundant illustrations. In a single set of rules that the novice and experienced legal writers can easily consult, Professor Barger contrasts the formats used in practice-based documents with those used in academic footnotes. New to the Sixth Edition: Updated and expanded coverage of public domain case opinions and other primary authorities published online. Updated and expanded coverage of secondary works in online media, including articles, ebooks, blogs, newsletters, and social media. New and updated subsections of rules addressing federal case reporters, statutes, legislation, and regulations onli≠ new treatment of footnote references and footnotes/endnotes in online sources; new treatment and examples of dictionaries, A.L.R. annotations and articles, Restatements, and Principles of the Law. Updated appendices containing abbreviations, jurisdiction-specific sources and local rules, periodicals (more than 70 new titles added); new appendix addressing abbreviations for titles of BD Loose-leaf services. Every rule and example has been revisited and edited for depth and breadth of coverage as well as improved clarity. Shorter than the Fifth Edition (but with the same amount of information).
Call Number: Law Reference KF245 .A45 2017ISBN: 9781454887768Publication Date: 2017-05-19
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Black's Law Dictionary 11th Edition, Hardcover by Call Number: Law Reference KF156 .B53 2019ISBN: 9781539229759Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Prince's Dictionary of Legal Citations by
Prince's Dictionary of Legal Citations: A Reference Guide for Attorneys, Legal Secretaries, Paralegals, and Law Students, Ninth Edition** assists the legal profession in citing legal authorities according to the rules given in The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, 20th ed. (2015). This title is a companion to The Bluebook (not a replacement) and applies Bluebook rules to a representative collection of common legal authorities. The citations included are based on Bluebook rules, and the abbreviations are those found in The Bluebook or derived from its guidelines.
While The Bluebook strives to establish uniformity in citation form for court documents, the practitioner should remember that citation rules contained in local rules, state supreme court rules, rules of trial or appellate procedure, and statutes supersede Bluebook rules. Prince¿s includes both references to state court rules for citing cases and statutes, and examples of how to cite cases according to those rules.
What¿s New in the Ninth Edition
Besides updating both Bluebook and state court rule references, this edition has been updated to reflect all Twentieth Edition Bluebook revisions. The citations concerning Internet, electronic media, and other nonprint resources has been revised and expanded. Public domain information has been updated and includes additional domestic jurisdictions that now employ this form of citation. New or revised entries include ebooks, legal dictionaries, Facebook, Linkedin, online newspapers, newspaper editorials and opinions, plays, press releases, Twitter, American Law Institute publications such as Restatements, uniform acts, and model codes, and examples throughout the book citing to online sources.
Call Number: Law Reference KF246 .P73 2017ISBN: 9780837740386Publication Date: 2017-01-01
