Law Library Quick Links
Law Library Quick Links
Click to access our catalog, databases, HeinOnline, WorldCat, and more.
Law Library Home Catalog Law Library Facebook Law Library Databases University Library Databases Aspen Learning Library Study Aids West Academic Study Aids Collection Bloomberg Law Congressional ALL (ProQuest) Fastcase HeinOnline Legislative Insight (ProQuest) Lexis+ Westlaw/Thomson-Reuters WorldCat
Law Library Chat
Hein Libraries - EZ Proxy
HeinOnline Individual Journals EZ Proxy
- American Journal of Legal History Law and History Review (LHR), America's leading legal history journal, encompasses American, European, and ancient legal history issues. The journal's purpose is to further research in the fields of the social history of law and the history of legal ideas and institutions. LHR features articles, essays, commentaries by international authorities, and reviews of important books on legal history.
- Journal of Southern Legal History The Journal of Southern Legal History is published annually by the Georgia Legal History Foundation, Inc. The Journal explores, analyzes, and depicts the history of law, the legal culture and profession, and the courts, including federal courts, in Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, Arkansas, Missouri, Louisiana, and Texas.
- Journal of Church and State The Journal of Church and State is concerned with what has been called the "greatest subject in the history of the West." It seeks to stimulate interest, dialogue, research, and publication in the broad area of religion and the state. JCS publishes constitutional, historical, philosophical, theological, and sociological studies on religion and the body politic in various countries and cultures of the world, including the United States. Each issue features, in addition to a timely editorial, five or more major articles, and thirty-five to forty reviews of significant books related to church and state. Periodically, important ecclesiastical documents and government texts of legislation and/or court decisions are also published. Regular features include "Notes on Church State Affairs", which reports current developments throughout the world, and a list of "Recent Doctoral Dissertations in Church and State."
- Law and History Review The American Journal of Legal History was founded in 1957 and was the first English-language periodical in the field.
HeinOnline Subscribed Libraries - WAM Proxy
Quick Links
- Law Library Databases This link opens in a new window
- University Library Databases Full ListThe Law School community has full access to University Library resources, as well as to subscribed Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) databases.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
New 1L materials
Making of Modern Law
- The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600–1926 (Gale) Brings together foreign, comparative, and international titles in a single resource. The International Law component features works of great legal theorists, including Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, Wheaton, among others. The Foreign Law component features foreign legal treatises, commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften of a variety of countries.
- The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises; 1800-1926 (Gale) Fully searchable database, containing 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. A number of these are reprints of earlier works, dating from the 15th and 16th centuries.
- The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources; 1600-1970 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources contains a virtual goldmine of information for researchers of American legal history—a fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state and territorial codes, municipal codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and more. Note that the term "primary sources" is used not in the historian's sense of a manuscript, letter or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute or regulation. The collection brings together many important documents that have been lost, destroyed, or previously inaccessible to researchers of American legal history around the world.
- The Making of Modern Law: Trials; 1600-1926 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600–1926 is the world's most comprehensive full-text collection of documents from Anglo-American trials. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland, and Canada, this digital archive also contains English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Users will find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments, and other trial documents that were printed as separate publications; official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitration sessions (domestic and international); and books encompassing multiple trials as well as books and pamphlets about a single trial.
- The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs; 1832-1978 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1823–1978 contains the world's most comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners—many who later became judges and associates of the Supreme Court itself. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions. This collection serves the needs of students and researchers in American legal history, politics, society, and government, as well as practicing attorneys.
- The Making of the Modern World (Gale) The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations.
MARIE---EDIT THIS ONE----DELETE U. Database----Master A-Z List!! Link from HERE
- American Memory-Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation (Library of Congress) Maintained by the Library of Congress, this free internet site is a collection of resources for researching lawmaking in the first century of American Governance.
- Gale Primary Sources (Gale) Cross-search all available Gale digital archives from a single interface Explore history through digitized, text-searchable primary sources Discover new connections using Topic Finder and Term Frequenc
- Avalon Project The Avalon Project a free online resource. It is maintained by Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale Law School. It reproduces the text of hundreds of documents relevant to Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government spanning several millennia.
- bepress Legal Repository A freely available network of law-related working papers and research materials.
- Bloomberg Law Bloomberg Law provides access to all US primary laws, docket materials, directories, news, proprietary research reports, select foreign law materials, SEC filings, and an impressive array of model forms and contracts, among other resources. Access limited to current members of the Regent Law School Community. Contact Bill Magee at willmag@regent.edu for assistance.
- CALI The Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) publishes nearly 300 computer-based tutorials covering nearly 30 different legal subject areas. Access limited to current members of the Regent Law School Community. Student Authorization Code available in the Law Library section of the Law School Student Community page in Blackboard.
- Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations Freely available Internet resource. Abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
- CasemakerX Free registration for law faculty and students. Casemaker is a low-cost legal research provider that has partnered with many state and local bar associations and offers basic legal research to its members. CasemakerX registration is free for law faculty and students.
- Casetext Innovative freely available Internet resource. Case law meets social media! Law students can register to help crowd-source annotations.
- Chatham House Online (Gale) This searchable online archive of Chatham House, a leading center for policy research on international affairs, contains over 90 years of high level analysis and research on global trends and key events and issues.
- Congressional This link opens in a new window Regent University's ProQuestCongressional subscription includes the following modules: Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Congressional Hearings Digital Prospective Collection, Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection, Congressional Research Digital Collection, and Serial Set Digital Collection, 1789-current.
- Congress.gov Available freely to the general public, the Congressional website offers resources for researching the status and history of legislation.
- Directory of Open Access Journals OnlineFreely available Internet resource.
- EISIL (ASIL)Freely available Internet resource.
- govinfo (GPO)Freely available Internet resource.
- Foreign Law Guide (Reynolds & Flores) The Foreign Law Guide by Thomas Reynolds and Arturo Flores is an excellent starting point for locating the statutes of another country. For each jurisdiction there is a brief introduction to the legal system, a list of codifications, gazettes and other sources of law and then a section listing sources of law by subject. There are citations to materials both in the original language and English translations where available. Now edited by Marci Hoffman.
- Google ScholarFreely available Internet resource.
- HeinOnline HeinOnline provides both searchable OCR full-text and PDF images of legal periodicals, the Federal Register, the U.S. Reports, and several notable collections of U.S. treaties and agreements. This link takes you to our libguide with details about our Hein Online Libraries.
- Human Rights Library (Univ. of Minnesota)Freely available Internet resource.
- Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACHR) (Loyola Law School-LA)Freely available Internet resource.
- International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, and hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary background information summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
- Journal of Law & Religion The Oxford Journal of Law and Religion publishes a range of articles drawn from various sectors of the law and religion field, including: social, legal and political issues involving the relationship between law and religion in society; comparative law perspectives on the relationship between religion and state institutions; developments regarding human and constitutional rights to freedom of religion or belief; considerations of the relationship between religious and secular legal systems; empirical work on the place of religion in society; and other salient areas where law and religion interact (e.g., theology, legal and political theory, legal history, philosophy, etc.).
- Law 360 Law 360, is a subscription-based legal news service operated by the Portfolio Media company, a subsidiary of LexisNexis. The site provides news and analysis on legal developments including litigation filings, case settlements, verdicts, regulation, enforcement, legislation, corporate deals, and more. On-campus IP access. Law faculty and students make access Law 360 content via Lexis Advance.
- Lexis/Lexis + Law School only. This comprehensive database provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state primary and secondary legal sources, and an expanding amount of international and foreign material. Access limited to current members of the Regent Law School Community. Contact Bill Magee at willmag@regent.edu for assistance.
- LawMemo Includes labor and employment publications from three reporters: Employment Law Memo (ELM), NLRB Law Memo, and Arbitration Law Memo (ALM); includes access to labor and employment law-related cases from all state and federal courts; also allows users to setup custom alerts based on jurisdiction(s) and topic(s). Members of the Regent Law community may register for access by selecting "Law Schools" at the top of the webpage.
- LLMC DigitalOffers a collection of digitized full-text images of legal works and U.S. government documents from the executive, judicial, and legislative branches.
- The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600–1926 (Gale) Brings together foreign, comparative, and international titles in a single resource. The International Law component features works of great legal theorists, including Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, Wheaton, among others. The Foreign Law component features foreign legal treatises, commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften of a variety of countries.
- The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises; 1800-1926 (Gale) Fully searchable database, containing 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. A number of these are reprints of earlier works, dating from the 15th and 16th centuries.
- The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources; 1600-1970 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources contains a virtual goldmine of information for researchers of American legal history—a fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state and territorial codes, municipal codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and more. Note that the term "primary sources" is used not in the historian's sense of a manuscript, letter or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute or regulation. The collection brings together many important documents that have been lost, destroyed, or previously inaccessible to researchers of American legal history around the world.
- The Making of Modern Law: Trials; 1600-1926 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600–1926 is the world's most comprehensive full-text collection of documents from Anglo-American trials. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland, and Canada, this digital archive also contains English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Users will find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments, and other trial documents that were printed as separate publications; official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitration sessions (domestic and international); and books encompassing multiple trials as well as books and pamphlets about a single trial.
- The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs; 1832-1978 (Gale) The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1823–1978 contains the world's most comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners—many who later became judges and associates of the Supreme Court itself. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions. This collection serves the needs of students and researchers in American legal history, politics, society, and government, as well as practicing attorneys.
- The Making of the Modern World (Gale) The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations.
- MunicodeFreely available Internet resource.
- Oxford Reference--Law The Law Library's subscription includes the following: Encyclopedia of Human Rights; Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History; Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, and others.
- OYEZFreely available Internet resource.
- Ravel Law Search federal and state case law using natural language or Boolean searches. Visualization map shows relationship between your cases and citing cases. Add notes and annotations to cases. Free access for law students and law professors. Simply click "Sign Up" on the Ravel home screen.
- regulations.govFreely available Internet resource.
- Supreme Court Database (National Science Foundation)Freely available Internet resource.
- U.N. Diplomatic ConferencesFreely available Internet resource.
- U.N. Official DocumentsFreely available Internet resource.
- U.N.Treaty CollectionFreely available Internet resource.
- U.S. Constitution Annotated (LII Cornell)This edition of the Congressional Research Service's U.S. Constitution Annotated is a hypertext interpretation of the CRS text, updated to the currently published version. It links to Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Code, and the Code of Federal Regulations, as well as enhancing navigation through search, breadcrumbs, linked footnotes and tables of contents.
- UBISNET-United Nations Bibliographic Information SystemFreely available Internet resource.
- VaultExcellent career resource for law students! Login using Regent login info--then register for personalized access. Vault provides profiles of the nation’s leading law firms and provides rankings of firms in a variety of categories including: practice area, pro bono, geography, training, diversity, and more.
- Westlaw/Westlaw EdgeLaw School only. This comprehensive database provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state primary and secondary legal sources and an expanding amount of international and foreign material. Access limited to current members of the Regent Law School Community. Contact Bill Magee at willmag@regent.edu for assistance.
- Wex-A Free Legal Dictionary & Encyclopedia (LII)Freely available Internet resource.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowUniversity Library & Law Library Locate books, journals, audio-visual, and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) The American Association of Law Libraries collection includes AALL publications such as AALL Spectrum, American Association of Law Libraries Newsletter, American Association of Law Libraries President's Newsletter, Index to Legal Periodicals and Law Library Journal, Law Library Journal, Publications Clearing House Bulletin, and Technical Services Law Librarian.
- ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals The ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals collection digitizes ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals, along with 44 periodicals previously only available to ABA section members. It provides access to current volumes of included periodicals and covers all subject areas of American law.
- American Enterprise Institute (AEI) The American Enterprise Institute is a public policy think tank dedicated to defending human dignity, expanding human potential, and building a freer and safer world. The work of our scholars and staff advances ideas rooted in our belief in democracy, free enterprise, American strength and global leadership, solidarity with those at the periphery of our society, and a pluralistic, entrepreneurial culture.
- American Law Institute Library This database contains full runs of the Institute's Annual Reports, Proceedings, Annual Meeting Speeches, and the Institute's newsletter, The ALI Reporter. It also includes both current and archival Restatements of the Law, Uniform Commercial Code, Model Penal Code, ALI-ABA Periodicals, and the Statement of Essential Human Rights (a pioneering ALI project of the mid-1940s).
- Association of American Law Schools (AALS) This collection contains AALS publications such as: AALS Directory of Law Teachers, AALS Handbook, Association of American Law Schools. Proceedings of the Annual Meeting, Clinical Law Review, and Journal of Legal Education.
- Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law This database features publications of the Brennan Center, which is a nonpartisan law and policy institute that seeks to improve the systems of democracy and justice in the United States. The Center's work focuses on a wide range of issues, such as voting rights, campaign finance reform, racial justice in criminal law, and constitutional protection in the fight against terrorism.
- Canada Supreme Court Reports HeinOnline's Canada Supreme Court Reports contains the official bilingual series published under authority of the Supreme Court Act. This collection includes nearly 10,000 cases which include background information, statutes and regulations, authors cited, analysis and the decision.
- Civil Rights and Social Justice Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
- Code of Federal Regulations The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government of the United States. HeinOnlineÂ’s coverage of the CFR is comprehensive, containing all volumes dating back to inception (1938).
- Congress and the Courts This library, featuring William H. Manz's Congress and the Courts: A Legislative History 1787-2010, brings together materials reflecting congressional concern with the composition and structure of Article III Courts and provides all relevant documents prepared by various Congresses relating to the purpose, formation, organization, and restructuring of the federal government. Also included are Federal Judicial Center Publications, Periodicals, Links to Scholarly Articles, CFR Title 28 - Judicial Administration, Other Related Works, and much more.
- COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present Dedicated to exploring how medical disasters of the past inform the present response to the COVID-19 pandemic, this database brings together federal government reports, hearings, and more. Content that is COVID-19 specific is organized into the following areas of focus: Economic Impact, Global Impact, Health Care Impact, and Societal Impact, with a separate subcollection exclusive to Past Pandemics.
- Criminal Justice Journals This is a subcollection of the Law Journal Library which contains only titles pertaining to Criminal Justice
- Criminal Justice & Criminology This collection offers an historical overview of how criminal justice has changed in American and English law and the effect criminology has had in facilitating those changes. It collects government documents as well as rare or hard to find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals.
- Early American Case Law This database contains coverage of cases from the late 1700s through the 1920s including the entire Federal Cases 30 book series (1894-1897) which contains more than 20,000 cases. Also included is the Trinity Series, which features American Decisions, American Reports, and American State Reports.
- English Reports The English Reports database delivers exact page images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 120,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. In addition, multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature enhance the ease of access to specific cases.
- Executive Privilege Providing primary and secondary source material such as government documents from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, as well as law review articles and books, this database explores executive privilege from the country's founding to the present day.
- Federal Register Library The Federal Register is the official journal of the federal government of the United States. The database is updated daily and its coverage is comprehensive, beginning from inception in 1936. It also includes the CFR from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), and Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database This database includes in-depth publications of the American Society of International Law and prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions, and more.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) The Foreign Relations of the United States database presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 1,500 volumes containing invaluable information beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Ronald Reagan in 1988.
- GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions HeinOnline's GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions database contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included.
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This timely database brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States. It also includes an extensive bibliography and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject.
- History of Supreme Court Nominations This database features the complete print series Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee. The Browse by Justice option allows the user to link directly to relevant content, articles, and bibliography as applicable to each justice!
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in nearly 600 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions.
- John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection This database contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.
- Legal Classics This database contains thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin N. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many classic treatises, this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
- National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws This database provides access to the full text of all Model Acts drafted, recommended, or endorsed by the National Conference of Commissions on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL). It also includes Archive Publications and the Handbook of the NCCUSL, as well as the Proceedings of the Annual Conference Meeting from the first through the most recent Annual Meeting.
- National Moot Court Competition This database offers digital access to the records, briefs, and related organizational materials from the 1st to the most recent (1950-current) annual National Moot Court Competitions.
- National Survey of State Laws This database version of Rich Leiter's National Survey of State Laws provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. The new 8th edition, along with the 7th, 6th and 5th editions are included in database format, which allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008, 2015 and 2019.
- International Commission of Jurists Library (ICJ) The International Commission of Jurists promotes and protects human rights through the rule of law. Created in 1952, the ICJ aims to ensure the progressive development and effective implementation of international human rights and international humanitarian law. It also works to secure the realization of civil, cultural, economic, political, and social rights, as well as strives to safeguard the separation of powers and guarantee the independence of the judiciary and legal profession.
- Manual of Patent Examining Procedure This manual is published to provide U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) examiners, applicants, attorneys, agents, and representatives of applicants with a reference work on the practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the USPTO. It contains instructions to examiners, as well as other material relevant to information and interpretation, and outlines the current procedures which the examiners are required or authorized to follow in appropriate cases in the normal examination of a patent application.
- Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory The Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory has long been a reliable source of information on law firms, banks, and real estate offices in every United States city for lawyers, bankers, merchants, manufacturers and others. In addition to providing addresses and contact information for law firms, the Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory also contains ratings and a section on foreign lawyers and law firms. HeinOnline now includes the historical archive of this publication from its inception in 1868 to 1963.
- NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy NOMOS is the annual yearbook of the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy. The ASPLP was begun in 1955 by Carl Friedrich to bring together a group of political scientists, philosophers and law scholars interested in exploring legal and political philosophy outside of their home disciplines. The main activity of the society is its annual meeting held on a topic chosen in advance by the ASPLP membership, at which three papers—one from each of the participating disciplines are presented. The society publishes these papers, along with formal commentary and invited additional essays, in the NOMOS volumes.
- Pentagon Papers The Pentagon Papers, officially titled Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force, is a United States Department of Defense history of the United States' political and military involvement in Vietnam from 1945 to 1967.
- Philip C. Jessup Library This database provides access to all of the top moot court competitions since 1960. The compilation brings together the problems, judgesÂ’ briefs, rules, and leading written memorials drawn from each yearÂ’s Competition and enhances the law studentÂ’s ability to grasp the practical side of the law field by presenting award-winning responses to globally relevant cases or problems.
- Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases The American Bar Association's Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases provides comprehensive expert analysis of all cases argued before the Supreme Court prior to the arguments. Issues 1-7 summarize the Court's seven argument sessions from October through April and Issue 8 reviews the entire term using statistics, charts, essays, and case summaries.
- Religion and the Law This database provides a research platform for the development, history, organization, and fundamental principles of various world religions. The collection includes the Christian Legal Society publications, an assortment of Canon Law, books, periodicals, bibliographies, and rare historical bibles.
- Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies This unique resource contains the most current and extensive listing of publications created by presidential advisory bodies. The companion database features not only the bibliographic listing of reports, but also related hearings, scholarly articles, and more!
- Revised Statutes of Canada This database includes complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes of the Revised Statutes of Canada in nearly 48,000 pages.
- Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law This database brings early English manuscripts, yearbooks and more to the forefront, providing access to English and American legal history. In addition to primary publications, researchers will also find some of the most influential digests, abridgments, and modern encyclopedias that formed the foundation of English law.
- Session Laws Library This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception!
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
- Spinelli's Law Library Reference Shelf This database features a collection of works, scholarly articles, and tools for librarians, faculty, and students! It contains research guides, bibliographies, dictionaries, and biographies, as well as an entire section on legal education!
- State Statutes: A Historical Archive State Statutes: A Historical Archive includes superseded state statutes for all fifty states. This database provides an avenue to understand the creation of historical statutes and includes coverage back until 1717.
- Statutes of the Realm The Statutes of the Realm is an authoritative collection of Acts of the Parliament of England from the earliest times to the Union of the Parliaments in 1707, and Acts of the Parliament of Great Britain passed up to the death of Queen Anne in 1714.
- Subject Compilations of State Laws This database features bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. This resource aids researchers in identifying thousands of articles, books, government documents, looseleaf services, court opinions and Internet sites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects.
- U.S. Code This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. It also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.
- U.S. Congressional Documents This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (early 1900s-present), as well as other important congressional material such as hearings, CRS Reports, and much more.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, is considered the most essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, the American State Papers, and much more. This ongoing project in HeinOnline will be released in phases and will soon contain complete coverage of the Serial Set. The Serial Set is indexed from inception to date and contains comprehensive full-text coverage from 1978-date. In addition, the HeinOnline interface is easy to search and browse and contains unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.
- U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals Featuring reports, decisions, and records, this database is a complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States' most important U.S. Federal Agencies such as: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It also includes more than 65 GPO best-selling legal titles.
- U.S. Federal Legislative History Library In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this database also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories.
- U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library To help researchers understand these rare but always fascinating historical events, HeinOnline now offers a new collection, U.S. Presidential Impeachment. Organized by the four affected presidents, this collection brings together a variety of documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president's impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each impeachment played out and the long view history has taken of each proceeding.
- U.S. Presidential Library This database includes messages and papers of the presidents, daily and weekly compilations of presidential documents, public papers of the presidents, documents relating to impeachment, Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and a host of other related works.
- U.S. Statutes at Large This database includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, featuring every law, public and private, ever enacted by Congress. It also includes early federal codes and compilations of statutes, as well as other related works.
- U.S. Supreme Court Library This database includes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.
- U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. It includes prominent collections such as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
- UNC Press Law Publications This unique database contains more than 400 titles from the internationally acclaimed University of North Carolina Press. These UNC Press publications cover a variety of timely topics and include both current and historical titles.
- United Nations Law Collection This database contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series, and much more.
- Virginia Supreme Court Records & Briefs Records and briefs from Virginia Supreme Court cases from the 1850s to 2015.
- Women and the Law (Peggy) Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law. It provides a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.
- World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents and Resources This database enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for all countries.
- World Trials Library The World Trials database contains trial transcripts and other critical court documents, but also trial-related resources such as monographs that analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials. It also includes biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.
Intro
This list below includes ALL subscription database and major free Internet resources that appear in the A-Z list. ALL guides should link back to this master list (except direct links to specific pages/resources within Westlaw, Lexis, B-Law, etc) OR to the "Full database list" (University Library resources). If you would like to have a resource included, please email the name of the resource, url, and brief description to Marie Hamm mariham@regent.edu
For questions on how to reuse links see: http://help.springshare.com/reuse/azlist (Number 2)
Master Links w/ EZ Proxy
-
ABI/Inform CompleteUniversity Library
-
Academic Search CompleteUniversity Library Multi-subject database, some full-text.
-
American HistoryUniversity Library From the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
-
American Memory-Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation (Library of Congress)Freely available Internet resource.
-
Archives Unbound(Access Provided by the Law Library)
-
Artemis Primary Sources (Gale)This platform allows cross-searching of Gale collections including MoML, ECCO, and Sabin Americana.
-
Avalon ProjectFreely available Internet resource.
-
Blackwell Reference OnlineUniversity Library Reference e-books from a wide variety of subject areas.
-
Business Source CompleteUniversity Library Full-text database of business publications; includes some company and industry profiles.
-
Business Source Complete – Company ProfilesUniversity Library Entries include company addresses, abstracts, product details, and management information.
-
Chronicle of Higher EducationUniversity Library Weekly publication covering news and issues facing post-secondary institutions of learning.
-
Columbia International Affairs OnlineUniversity Library Full-text theory and research in international affairs.
-
Congressional ALL (ProQuest)Regent University Law Library's ProQuest Congressional ALL subscription includes Congressional hearings, the Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection, Congressional Research Digital Collection, and Serial Set Digital Collection, 1789-current.
-
Congress.govFreely available Internet resource.
-
CQ Historic DocumentsUniversity Library Full-text of presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions (1972-present).
-
CQ Press Library - formerly Political Reference SuiteUniversity Library
-
CQ Researcher (University Library Reports on current and controversial issues (1923-present))
-
Directory of Open Access Journals OnlineFreely available Internet resource.
-
eBook Collection (EBSCO)Full-text ebooks.
-
Ebook Central (was ebrary)Full-text ebooks.
-
EBSCO OnlineUniversity Library
-
EBSCOhost Integrated SearchUniversity Library
-
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineEighteenth Century Collection Online covers the development of law in the British Empire between 1701 and 1800.Topics include acts, criminal and international law, appellants’ cases and more.​
-
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750University Library Bibliographic coverage of the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
-
FactivaNews publications and business information.
-
FDSys (formerly GPO Access)Freely available Internet resource.
-
Google ScholarFreely available Internet resource.
-
Human Rights Library (Univ. of Minnesota)Freely available Internet resource.
-
i.lex: Legal Research System for Int'l Law in U.S. Courts (ASIL)Freely available Internet resource.
-
Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACHR) (Loyola Law School-LA)Freely available Internet resource.
-
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference CenterHundreds of full text journals and periodicals, and hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary background information summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.​
-
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - XVUniversity Library Digital archive collection of core scholarly journals. It is unique in that complete archives of these journals have been digitised, starting with the very first issues, many of which were published as far back as the nineteenth century.​
-
Legal CollectionFull-text of scholarly law journals.
-
Military & Government CollectionUniversity Library Full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
-
MunicodeFreely available Internet resource.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineUniversity Library & Law Library Full-text Oxford Enyclopedias.
-
OYEZFreely available Internet resource.
-
ProjectMUSEUniversity Library Scholarly e-journals in the arts, humanities, mathematics, and social sciences.
-
Supreme Court Database (National Science Foundation)Freely available Internet resource.
-
The Chicago Manual of Style OnlineUniversity Library
-
The Early RepublicUniversity Library​
-
U.N. Diplomatic ConferencesFreely available Internet resource.
-
U.N. Official DocumentsFreely available Internet resource.
-
U.N.Treaty CollectionFreely available Internet resource.
-
U.S. Constitution AnnotatedThis edition of the Congressional Research Service's U.S. Constitution Annotated is a hypertext interpretation of the CRS text, updated to the currently published version. It links to Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Code, and the Code of Federal Regulations, as well as enhancing navigation through search, breadcrumbs, linked footnotes and tables of contents.
-
UBISNET-United Nations Bibliographic Information SystemFreely available Internet resource.
-
VaultExcellent career resource for law students! Login using Regent login info--then register for personalized access. Vault provides profiles of the nation’s leading law firms and provides rankings of firms in a variety of categories including: practice area, pro bono, geography, training, diversity, and more.
-
Wex-A Free Legal Dictionary & Encyclopedia (LII)Freely available Internet resource.
-
WorldCatUniversity Library & Law Library Locate books, journals, audio-visual, and other materials in libraries worldwide.