LibGuides: Legal Clinic: Nonprofit & Externship: Secondary Resources

Pretrial Resources

Pretrial by Thomas A. Mauet Pretrial achieved leading stature through its clear, concise, well-organized presentation of pretrial preparation by one of the country's leading experts on trial techniques. An effective systematic approach organizes pretrial planning and preparation into a series of distinct steps students can readily master. Litigation files from a hypothetical case, complete with sample documentation and paperwork, take students through each stage of a civil case.
ISBN: 9781454803034
Publication Date: 2012-02-15
Pretrial discovery : strategy & tactics by Edward J. Imwinkelried, Theodore Y. Blumoff In this volume, you'll find cutting-edge guidance on such topics as:protective orders to restrict opposing counsel's discovery, neutral or hostile witnesses, strategic planning,discovery tactics in the pleading stage, informal discovery, mandatory prediscovery disclosure tactics for the deposing attorney, deposition tactics for the opposing attorney, interrogatories, production requests, physical and mental examinations, requests for admissions, and much more.
Publication Date: 1999 - current
Trial Prep for Paralegals by Michael L. Coyne; Ursula Furi-Perry Litigation overview -- Evidence overview -- What to expect before and at trial -- Getting started with case management and organization -- Interviewing and investigation -- Keeping track of discovery and mastering e-discovery -- E-discovery issues and programs -- Assisting with testimonial evidence -- Exhibit preparation, maintenance, and coordination -- Mastering trial technology -- Putting together a trial notebook -- Handling pretrial and settlement matters and assisting with voir dire -- Organizing a war room and tips for document maintenance -- Working with your attorney -- Working with others -- Beyond the paralegal title -- Handling the heat -- A primer on paralegal ethics
ISBN: 9781601560841
Publication Date: 2009-06-01

Statute of Limitations - Virginia Provides a list of statute of limitations or limitation of actions in the Commonwealth of Virginia. This guide links to code sections and cases relevant to this issue. Westlaw password is required for access.
Virginia KeyRules - State Circuit Courts This database contains an outline of the applicable rules of practice, timing requirements, filing and service requirements, hearing information, checklists and other pertinent documents related to pleadings, motions, requests, notices, and applications in selected Virginia Circuit Courts.
more...less...
The selected Virginia Circuit Courts include the following: Norfolk County, Virginia Beach County, Prince William County, Chesapeake County, and the Cities of Richmond, Chesterfield, and Henrico. Westlaw password is required for access.
Virginia Civil Procedure Organized chronologically through pleading, pretrial motions, trial, and appeal, Virginia Civil Procedure covers all the rules for every level of the Virginia court system.
Friend's Virginia Pleading & Practice A definitive treatise on bringing civil actions in Virginia, covering all procedural aspects of prosecuting and defending an action, bringing a case to trial or settlement, and addressing post trial motions, orders, and appeals. It also provides an in-depth look at particular types of cases, such as contract, tort, property, and domestic actions, and explains the procedure for obtaining special relief through writs and injunctions.
Virginia Civil Benchbook for Judges and Lawyers Written to provide a standard reference for judges, the Virginia Civil Benchbookfor Judges and Lawyers covers hundreds of situations arising in the courtroom.This volume examines every phase of a civil trial from pretrial procedures and witnesses to special proceedings.
The Law of Evidence in Virginia Follows a step-by-step approach to the process of collecting and using evidence at trial.

Domestic Relations

Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation by Toby G. Kleinman; Daniel Pollack Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation helps mental health professionals, attorneys, and lay readers navigate the judicial process so that decisions are truly made in the best interest of children. The text reveals how all the puzzle pieces of the judicial process fit together. This runs the gamut, from the selection of a lawyer and experts, to setting necessary groundwork for an appeal.
ISBN: 0190641576
Publication Date: 2017-05-30
Child custody practice and procedure by Linda D. Elrod Using best interest factors as the guiding force, the author of Child Custody Practice and Procedure presents strategies for winning favorable decisions in child custody arrangements and outlines procedures for obtaining initial and modification jurisdiction.
Publication Date: 2012
Victim Advocacy in the Courtroom by Mary Lay Schuster; Amy D. Propen This volume examines sentencing hearings in criminal court and the presentation of victim impact statements, as well as child protection cases in juvenile court and the recommendations of guardians ad litem (GALS). Through interviews, observations, and textual analysis, all deeply grounded in an innovative court watch program, the authors illuminate the most effective persuasive practices of victim advocates and GALS.
ISBN: 9781555537500
Publication Date: 2011-07-12
Domestic violence practice and procedure by Isabelle Scott Domestic Violence: Practice and Procedurehelps both prosecutors and defense attorneys construct winning cases. It offers analysis of scientific and medical information, practical advice, proven tips, domestic violence caselaw and statutes, including: Criminal; Civil; Tort; Divorce; Child custody and Immigration.
Publication Date: 2017

Family Law: Theory, Practice and Forms--Virginia Practice Series Family Law: Theory, Practice and Forms--Virginia Practice Series presents the existing Virginia blackletter law and discusses the law's underlying rationale and practical application in court. When Virginia precedent is outdated or lacking, the publication discusses family law trends in other jurisdictions and suggests where Virginia family law might be in the future.
more...less...
Also, it provides guidance regarding strategic legal alternatives, gives suggestions for persuasively pleading and proving remedies before the court, includes a Table of Laws and Rules and a Table of Cases. Westlaw password is required.
Virginia Domestic Relations Handbook Poses possible solutions to unresolved areas of law and discusses alternatives to litigation. It includes references to standard Virginia legal treatises and provides a number of helpful forms. The author organizes the text into three sections: creation of family relationships, legal consequences of the ongoing family, and dissolution of family relationships.
Virginia Domestic Relations Case Finder Fully up-to-date, the author designed and arranged Virginia Domestic Relations Case Finder for the busy practitioner. Fully indexed, the book summarizes all cases in chronological order under commonly-used subject headings.

Clerk Manuals

Entitlements

Poor Justice by Vicki Lens Poor Justice: How the Poor Fare in the Courts provides a vivid portrait and appraisal of how the lives of poor people are disrupted or helped by the judicial system, from the lowest to the highest courts. Drawing from court room observations, court decisions, and other material, this book spans the street level justice of administrative hearings and lower courts (where people plead for welfare benefits or for a child not to be taken away), the mid-level justice of state courts (where advocates argue for the right to shelter for the homeless and for the rights of the mentally disabled), and the high justice of the Supreme Court (where the battle for school integration has represented a route out of poverty and the stop and frisk cases illustrate a route to greater poverty, through the mass incarceration of people of color). Poor Justice brings readers inside the courts, telling the story through the words and actions of the judges, lawyers, and ordinary people who populate it. It seeks to both edify and criticize. Readers will learn not only how courts work, but also how courts sometimes help - and often fail - the poor.
ISBN: 9780199355440
Publication Date: 2015-12-09
Drafting special needs trusts and Medicaid planning / Virginia CLE, by Timothy K. Palmer et al. Content Special needs trusts Common problems in special needs trust administration Medicaid planning 201
Publication Date: 2015
Medicare and Medicaid Claims and Procedures by Harvey L. McCormick Medicare and Medicaid Claims and Procedures guides you through the Medicare and Medicaid claims processes. This reference guide organizes laws, regulations, and court decisions in a practical, user-friendly fashion. Appendixes contain useful, time-saving practice aids including lists of Medicare forms, fiscal intermediaries, Medicare carriers, Medicare quality improvement organizations, and state medical assistance contacts.
ISBN: 0314954937
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Virginia Workers Compensation--Virginia Practice Series Virginia Workers Compensation--Virginia Practice Series is intended to introduce Virginia workers' compensation law to those venturing into that unfamiliar territory. Starting with an overview of the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission, the publication provides information on the parties to a claim and the handling of an accepted or denied claim.
more...less...
This easy-to-understand resource offers discussion and citation to Virginia law on a variety of workers' compensation law topics, as well as text of workers' compensation statutes and Rules of the Workers' Compensation Commission. It includes practice-tested forms conforming to the latest rules with comments and suggestions for their use, including those used in the claims process and practice forms for law offices. Westlaw password required for access.
Virginia Workers' Compensation Examines the legal relationships between employers, employees, and insurance carriers. It details the responsibilities of all parties, the special nature of the compensation case, and how it should be processed.

Landlord Tenant

Landlord and Tenant Law by David S. Hill; Carol N. Brown This comprehensive guide provides expert explanations of the rules that govern the legal relations between landlords and tenants. It describes exceptions to these rules and explores the underlying reasons for them. The text also reviews the creation, duration, and termination of several types of tenancies; terminating leases before expiration; repairs and improvements; transfers; extensions, renewals, and purchase options; rent and security; and insurance and taxes.
ISBN: 9780314225931
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
A guide to Virginia residential landlord-tenant law / Virginia CLE by Brandon H. Ziegler Contents: Counseling your client at the beginning of the lease. Ten steps to a successful eviction. Code of Virginia title 55 : property and conveyances.
Publication Date: 2007
Landlord-tenant handbook (Virginia) by Jerome P. Friedlander Virginia Landlord-Tenant Handbook--Virginia Practice Series is a practical manual intended for use in both the courtroom and the office. It is both a single-source reference and a working tool for lawyers confronting landlord-tenant issues in Virginia, with topics such as creation of tenancy, forfeiture, the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, the Manufactured Home Lot Rental Act, landlords' liens, bankruptcy and leases, fair housing, eminent domain, and diplomats
Publication Date: 2017

Virginia Landlord-Tenant Handbook--Virginia Practice Series Virginia Landlord-Tenant Handbook--Virginia Practice Series is a practical manual intended for use in both the courtroom and the office. It is both a single-source reference and a working tool for lawyers confronting landlord-tenant issues in Virginia, with topics such as creation of tenancy, forfeiture, the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, the Manufactured Home Lot Rental Act, landlords' liens, bankruptcy and leases, fair housing, eminent domain, and diplomats.
more...less...
The handbook also contains: selected landlord-tenant statutes from the Virginia Code, court forms, and a variety of residential and commercial lease forms. Westlaw password is required for access.

Consumer Law

Consumer Financial Regulation: Virginia Provides a list of code sections and governing agencies that address consumer protection in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Westlaw password is required for access.
Enforcing Arbitration Awards in Virginia A Practice Note explaining how to enforce arbitral awards in Virginia state and federal courts. This Note explains the procedure for confirming an arbitration award in Virginia and the grounds on which a party may challenge enforcement under Virginia and federal law. This Note also briefly explains the procedure for vacating, modifying, and correcting an arbitral award in Virginia. Westlaw password is required for access.

Forms

Virginia Forms Virginia Forms is a resource for both litigation and transactional forms. This multi-topic work provides forms across a wide spectrum of practice areas--from traditional civil litigation, to criminal procedure, to wills and estates and domestic relations.
more...less...
Specialized areas also include forms for commercial transactions, business entities, and real estate transactions. Mandatory and optional court forms are also provided throughout the set.
Virginia Family Law Forms
Virginia Judicial System Provides information related to the Virginia court systems that includes docket information, opinions and forms.
American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2d This encyclopedia of transactional forms covers most if not all legal topics. It ranges from entire forms to specific clauses. This resource is not state specific and is usually used when no example of a state form exists. For pleading and practice forms, see American Jurisprudence Pleading & Practice Forms Annotated.
American Jurisprudence Pleading & Practice Forms Annotated American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated contains more than 44,000 state and federal practice forms, checklists, and timetables.

Type of Protective Orders in Virginia	How Is Spousal Support Calculated in Virginia?
What is Pendente Lite Hearing in Virginia?	How Is Child Support Calculated in Virginia?
Protective Orders in Virginia	How Is Property Divided In a Virginia Divorce?

Virginia Landlord & Tenant Law Basics	2017 Medicaid - What is the Eligibility for Medicaid
Virginia Evictions: A Summary of the Process	Do I Qualify For Medicaid?
	Virginia Medicaid Eligibility -- October 1 Changes.

Legal Clinic: Nonprofit & Externship: Secondary Resources

Pretrial Resources

Domestic Relations

Clerk Manuals

Entitlements

Landlord Tenant

Consumer Law

Forms

Videos