About Special Collections & Archives

The Film Research Collection currently has over 3,350 16mm films, containing both sacred and secular films in several formats, serving the School of Communication and the Arts primarily. They are stored on the fourth floor of the library and the Special Collections & Archives vault. A distinctive 16mm collection includes "Steamboat Willie," the first animated cartoon with the soundtrack, several Charlie Chaplin films, a selection of Moody Science films, and a complete set of the television series "Roots. These films may be browsed in Primo by the following sub-collection titles or subjects: Animated Films, Baptista Film Collection, Christian Film Collection, Documentary Films, Feature Films, Regent University Film Collection, or Silent Films.

Some films are listed under more than one heading or subcollection title. For a listing of 266 additional film subject headings used in Primo, type "Motion Pictures" as a subject search, then examine the listings under "Related Subjects." These related subject listings include 16mm films in the fourth-floor storage area, Archives, and the vault.

The library maintains a special film viewing room available to all Regent students, faculty, and staff. Contact us to set up a viewing time. Please allow twenty-four hours advance notice. If you need special assistance, let us know, we are more than happy to accommodate you.

Description: Approximately 1,200 16mm animated films, both secular and Christian, are located in the Film Research Center and Archives. These films support the School of Communication and the Arts' courses in animation film production and history. Producers include Warner Brothers, Hanna-Barbera, and Walt Disney, among others. More animated films in VHS and DVD format are shelved in Room 214 on the second floor of the library.

Browse Method: Type "Animated Films" as a SUBJECT search in Primo to display an up-to-date list. Limit your search to films held only in the Special Collections by scrolling down the side menu entitled "Refine my results." Under "Location" select "Special Collections & Archives."

Description: This collection includes approximately 100 original 16mm Christian films dating from the 1940s, all produced by the C.O. Baptista Film Mission of Wheaton, Illinois. C.O. Baptista was one of the major pioneers of Christian films in the United States. He used the medium of a motion picture, live and animation, to spread the gospel message.

Browse Method: Type "Baptista Film Collection" as a TITLE search. Alternatively type "C.O. Baptista Films" as an AUTHOR search.

Description: This collection comprises over 1,500 16mm films dating back into the 1940s, 50s, 60s, and 70s. Approximately 1049 are currently listed in the library catalog. Producers include Cathedral Films, Moody Bible Institute, Johnson-Nyquist, Mars Hill, Concordia, Ken Anderson Films, and World-Wide Pictures, among others. If you need special assistance, let us know.

Browse Method: Type "Christian Film Collection" as a TITLE search.

Description: This collection includes over 160 16mm documentary films, many of which were donated by the Virginia State Library. Titles include Bonhoeffer: A Life of Challenge, Eleanor Roosevelt, The Great Radio Comedians, Unknown Chaplin, Will Rogers' the 1920s, and World War II: Prologue U.S.A., among others. More documentary films in VHS and DVD format can be found in Room 214 on the second floor of the library.

Browse Method: Type "Documentary Films" as a SUBJECT search in Primo to display an up-to-date list. Limit your search to films held in the Special Collections by scrolling down the side menu entitled "Refine my results." Under "Location" select "Special Collections & Archives."

Description: These comprise approximately 116 16mm films with a running time of 40 minutes or more. Most of these films were donated by the Virginia State Library. These include Alex Haley's Roots and several Laurel & Hardy films. Many more feature films in VHS or DVD format are available in Room 214 on the second floor of the library and are available for checkout.

Browse Method: Type "Feature Films" as a SUBJECT search.

Description: Regent film students and faculty have produced over 200 films since the first film classes were held in 1978. Earlier films are in 16mm format; later films are in VHS or DVD format. Library copies of these films are located in the Special Collections & Archives vault. These films vary in length: some are less than a minute, others over an hour. In addition to student summer film projects, film students produce films in conjunction with their masters' portfolios. Copies of these in VHS or DVD format are shelved with the Regent dissertations and theses or in the Special Collections & Archives vault. Some Regent University films are located in Room 214 on the second floor of the library and are available for checkout.

Browse Method: Type "Regent University Film Collection" as a TITLE search. Limit your search to Archives by scrolling down the side menu entitled "Refine my results." Under "Location" select "Archives."

Description: These include over 100 silent films in 16mm, 8mm, and videotape format, some of which were donated by the Norfolk Public Library and Virginia State Library. Titles include Ben Hur, The Chaplin Mutuals, The Great Train Robbery, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, The Kid Brother, Pool Sharks, The Revenge of the Kinematograph Cameraman, The Tramp, and you're Darn Tootin', among others. Over 200 more silent films in VHD and DVD format are available in Room 214 on the second floor of the library.

Browse Method: Type "Silent Films" as a SUBJECT search. Limit your search to films held in the Special Collections by scrolling down the side menu entitled "Refine my results." Under "Location" select "Special Collections & Archives."