Religion and the First Amendment Guide: About
The First Amendment begins with the words:
"Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof..."
The first of these clauses is commonly referred to as the "establishment clause," while the second is known as the "free exercise clause."
This guide is divided into sections (see tabs at top) to help you focus your research.
- This introductory page features general materials to help you get started.
- The four middle tabs contain links to relevant sources of Supreme Court cases, books, articles and web resources particular to the topic of that page.
- The next tab contains links to organizations dedicated to advocacy of religious freedom issues. Many of these organizations also provide useful content to the public regarding issues surrounding freedom of religion.
- The final tab redirects you to our 2L/3L Study Aids for Constitutional Law.
Attribution
This Guide was originally developed and annotated by Deborah Lord as a part of the Law Librarianship course.
It is now updated and maintained by members of the Law Library Faculty.
About the Religion Clauses
The U. S. Constitution: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: KF4541 .B635 2018ISBN: 9780195378320Publication Date: 2018-04-18Law General Collection
Religion and the American Constitutional Experiment by Call Number: KF4783 .W58 2016ISBN: 9780190459420Publication Date: 2016-04-13Law General Collection
Religious Liberty by Call Number: KF4783 .R436 2016ISBN: 9781107147607Publication Date: 2016-09-08Law General Collection
Constitutional Law Print Study Aids
Constitutional Analysis in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF4550.Z9 B34 2019ISBN: 9781640202085Publication Date: 2018-12-28Law General Collection
Questions and Answers by Call Number: KF4550.Z9 M4 2017ISBN: 9780769860596Publication Date: 2017-01-18Law General Collection
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: KF4550 .B368 2017ISBN: 9781634596237Law General Collection
Principles of Constitutional Law by Call Number: KF4550 .N62 2016ISBN: 9781628101195Law General Collection
Constitutional Law: Individual Rights by Call Number: KF4749 .I34 2016ISBN: 9781454863922Law General Collection
Constitutional Law by Call Number: KF4550 .M29 2016ISBN: 9781454864226Law General Collection
Glannon Guide Constitutional Law by Call Number: KF4750 .D46 2015ISBN: 9781454846871Publication Date: 2014-09-15Law General Collection
Reporters & Reference Materials
Religious Liberty and the American Supreme Court : The Essential Cases and Documents by Call Number: KF4783 .M86 2013ISBN: 9781442208278Publication Date: 2013Law General Collection
Encyclopedia of Religion and the Law in America, 2nd ed. by Call Number: KF4865.A68 A54 2009ISBN: 9781592372980Law Reference
Religion Case ReporterISBN: 1527-0645LAW PERIODICALS
KF4865.A5 R54
Law Library has vols 1-8 (1998-2005).- Religious freedom reporter byCall Number: KF4783.A59 R44ISBN: 1527-0645Law General Collection
Journals
The William and Mary Bill of Rights Journal
ISBN: 10658254LAW PERIODICALS
KF4742 .W54
A Student Publication of the Marshall-Wythe School of Law
Law Library has v.1, 1992, to present.
Online access through HeinOnline at link above.
The Journal of Law and ReligionISBN: 0748-0814LAW PERIODICALS
BL65.L33 J68
A publication of the Center for the Study of Law and Religion at Emory, formerly published by Hamline University School of Law and the Council on Religion and Law.
Law Library has v.1, 1983 to present.
Online access through HeinOnline or Ebsco at link above.
Rutgers Journal of Law & ReligionOnline access through HeinOnline at link above.
Proceedings : Institute of Church and StateOnline access through HeinOnline at link above.
Vols. 1-4 (1958-1963) All Published
Hein lists this title as Institute of Church and State : Proceedings
Modern Topics in First Amendment Law
The Contested Place of Religion in Family Law by Call Number: KF505 .C657 2018ISBN: 9781108417600Publication Date: 2018-05-31Law General Collection
Debating Religious Liberty and Discrimination by Call Number: BL2525 .C73 2017ISBN: 9780190603076Publication Date: 2017-06-01Law General Collection
Law, Religion and Health in the United States by Call Number: KF4783 .L387 2017ISBN: 9781107164888Publication Date: 2017-07-03Law General Collection
Exemptions by Call Number: KF4783 .G739 2016ISBN: 9780674659872Publication Date: 2016-04-25Law General Collection
The Rise of Corporate Religious Liberty by Call Number: KF4783 .R57 2016ISBN: 9780190262525Publication Date: 2016-01-12Law General Collection
Religious Freedom and Gay Rights by Call Number: BL65.H64 R48 2016ISBN: 9780190600600Publication Date: 2016-06-30Law General Collection
The Tragedy of Religious Freedom by Call Number: KF4783 .D44 2013ISBN: 9780674072664Publication Date: 2013-06-10Law General Collection
The Agnostic Age : Law, Religion, and the Constitution by Call Number: KF4783 .H67 2011ISBN: 9780199737727Publication Date: 2011Law General Collection
Religion and the American Constitutional Experiment, 3rd ed. by ISBN: 9780813391984Ebook (2011)
Law General Collection
