NOTE:
The doctrine known as the separation of church and state is most commonly associated with the establishment clause. However, because so many works are written just on that subject or cross over into the realm of free exercise as well, a separate tab (above) has been created to accomodate the topic.
Scholarly Articles
Current scholarly articles on this subject may be found in the databases linked under 'Research Tools in the header above.
Suggested search terms follow. Tailor your search further by recombining these terms and placing them into the search syntax particular to the database you use.
- "establishment clause"
- state establish religion
- "Supreme Court"
- "Coersion test"
- "Endorsement test"
- "Lemon test"
Useful Websites
- First Amendment Center: Establishment Clause OverviewAn analysis of the establishment clause, centering on the different tests that the Supreme Court has used to determine if a governement action constitutes a violation of the clause.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases
Books
Religious Organizations and the Law, vol. 1 by Call Number: KF4865 .B3783Publication Date: 2017Law General Collection
When Free Exercise and Nonestablishment Conflict by Call Number: KF4865 .G74 2017ISBN: 9780674972209Publication Date: 2017-06-19Law General Collection
Defending American Religious Neutrality by Call Number: KF4865 .K67 2013ISBN: 9780674066465Publication Date: 2013-01-01Law General Collection
No Establishment of Religion by Call Number: BL2525 .N6 2012ISBN: 9780199860395Publication Date: 2012-11-05General Collection
Legal Responses to Religious Practices in the United States by Call Number: KF4783 .L44 2012ISBN: 9781107023680Publication Date: 2012-09-10Law General Collection
The Constitution of Religious Freedom by Call Number: KF4783 .G654 2012ISBN: 9781602584198Publication Date: 2012-03-01Law General Collection
Church, State, and the Crisis in American Secularism by Call Number: KF4865 .L43 2011ISBN: 9780253356345Publication Date: 2011-06-01Law General and General Collections
Wrestling with God by Call Number: KF4783 .G37 2006ISBN: 0813214513Publication Date: 2006-04-01Law General and General Collections
