Scholarly Articles
Current scholarly articles on this subject may be found in the databases linked under 'Research Tools in the header above.
Suggested search terms follow. Tailor your search further by recombining these terms and placing them into the search syntax particular to the database you use.
- "religion clauses" AND histor*
- "religious freedom" AND origin*
- "founding fathers" AND religi*
Helpful Websites
This outline summarizes the major issues and identifies individuals involved in influencing the role of religion in the U.S. (The First Amendment Center)
This timeline documents religious influence on the U.S. over the past 400 years. (PBS)
Historical Background
Endowed by Our Creator : The Birth of Religious Freedom in America by ISBN: 9780300166323LAW GENERAL COLLECTION
KF4783 .M49 2012
Draws on writings and actions of Washington, Adams, Jefferson, Madison, and others to investigate just how the framers of the Constitution envisioned religious freedom and how they intended it to operate in the new republic. Through their writings and their decisions, the framers affirmed respect for religious differences as a fundamental American value.
Founding Faith : How Our Founding Fathers Forged a Radical New Approach to Religious Liberty by ISBN: 9780812974744GENERAL COLLECTION
BL640 .W35 2009
This book analyzes the founding from a middle of the road perspective, arguing that the nation was neither started as a "Christian nation," nor was it envisioned as a nation with a complete separation of church and state.
On Religious Liberty : Selections from the Works of Roger Williams by ISBN: 9780674026223GENERAL COLLECTION
BV741 .W55 2008
Founder of Rhode Island, Williams conducted a lifelong debate over religious freedom with distinguished figures of the seventeenth century. This collection of his works is drawn from both his public and private writings. Also available in Ebook format
Ten Tortured Words : How the Founding Fathers Tried to Protect Religion in America--and What's Happened Since by ISBN: 9781595550842LAW GENERAL COLLECTION
KF4865 .M29 2007
This book posits that the original interpretation of the establishment clause provided for true freedom of religion, but inaccurate modern interpretations have led to unnecessary restrictions on religion.
Religion and the American Constitutional Experiment, 2nd ed. by ISBN: 9780813342313LAW GENERAL COLLECTION
KF4783.Z9 W58 2005
Follows the American constitutional experiment in religious liberty.
2011 edition available in Ebook format
The Founding Fathers and the Place of Religion in America by ISBN: 0691088292GENERAL COLLECTION
BR516 .L29 2003
Follows the events and thinking that transformed the American community from settlers with explicitly religious aspirations, to a modern state whose commitment to the separation of church and state was reflected in its constitution, showing how religious freedom came to be recognized not merely as toleration of dissent but as a natural right to be enjoyed by all Americans.
The First Liberty : America's Foundation in Religious Freedom by ISBN: 0878408991GENERAL COLLECTION
BR516 .M543 2003
An exploration of the place of religious liberty and church and state in America.
Religion and the Continental Congress, 1774-1789 : Contributions to Original Intent by ISBN: 0195133552LAW GENERAL COLLECTION
KF4783 .D385 2000
Explores the fifteen-year experience of the Continental Congress (1774-1789) to discover the original intent of the framers of the Constitution.
Also available in Ebook format
History of Supreme Court Interpretation
Religious Freedom and the Supreme Court by ISBN: 9781602581609LAW GENERAL COLLECTION
KF4783 .F598 2008
Follows and offers insight into Supreme Court Court religious freedom cases through history.
Masters of Illusion : The Supreme Court and the Religion Clauses by ISBN: 9780814775851
How Free Can Religion Be? by ISBN: 9780252031120LAW GENERAL COLLECTION
KF4865 .B49 2006
Tracks the evolution of Free Exercise and Establishment Clause doctrine through eight Supreme Court decisions, focusing on the court's shift from strict separation of church and state to a position where the government accommodates and even fosters religion.
Also available in Ebook format from Ebsco and Ebrary
Religious Liberty in America : Political Safeguards by ISBN: 0700612017LAW GENERAL COLLECTION
KF4783 .F57 2002
A case-study approach to the history of protection of our religious liberties in the law and in the courts, and the influence of politics and popular opinion.
