ENGL 102 Researching Current Issues

1. Primo search, which searches all our books & articles! Sign in to your account & click the "pin" to save favorites. 
 

2. Databases (click "Subjects" or "Types" on that page to narrow the list down).
 

3. Google Scholar to search Regent's articles! (To link: 3-line menu; Settings; Library Links; search "Regent"; click; Save).

4. Google: use strategically to find credible articles (use discernment or look up specific publications, as listed below).

LibKey browser tool to get instant links to Regent's articles & e-books when you see them cited on the web.

5. Google Books or Amazon to see all the books that are out there on your topic; both have book previews.
 

6. Ask a librarian for research help through chat, email, or appointments. See the librarian Reading Lists below.

Tip: Be flexible in your research. Try a different focus, key words, databases, websites, parameters, or even a new topic!

To find issues, search for articles in publications like these, & see if we own the publication in our databases here.
 

National Review,

Wall Street Journal,

The Atlantic,

The New York Times,  

Reason, 

Psychology Today 

The Economist 

For Christian perspectives and issues, try these:

First Things,

Christianity Today,

Relevant,

The Gospel Coalition, 

Christ & Pop Culture,

US Council of Catholic Bishops Issues Statements

For ethical and family-related issues, try:

Discovery Institute

Heritage Foundation

Family Research Council

Ethics & Public Policy Center

Focus on the Family

For education issues, try:

James G. Martin Center for Educational Renewal, 

Fordham Institute, 

Chalkboard Review,

The Grade, 

Chronicle of Higher Education,

Sold a Story (Science of Reading),

Inside Classical Education

History & The Arts
Smithsonian Magazine

The Rest is History

The Imaginative Conservative

Christianity Today Book Reviews

The New Criterion Book & Culture Reviews

The Times Literary Supplement

For political & cultural issues, try these influential think tanks:

Manhattan Institute (Conservative) and City Journal

AEI --see "Centers" (Conservative/libertarian)

Cato (Libertarian)

Pew Society (Non-partisan)

Brookings (Non-partisan/liberal)

Hoover Institution (Conservative/libertarian)

Be aware that each organization has a certain worldview or political goal and also that Google boosts certain sites. To find articles from a certain point-of-view, try Googling your topic plus the name of a publication. If you run into a paywall, use the Journal Search to see if we own the publication, or see this guide to finding newspaper and magazine articles in the online library collection. Don't pay for an article!

Here is a list of more influential Think Tanks. Also try non-profits like political advocacy groups, churches/denominations, universities, museums, and public archives. Here is our library page on think tanks & policy organizations. 

Check the political leanings of a think tank or publication at All Sides bias checker. Also, look for sixteen indicators of bias.

Databases for Finding a Topic & Pro-Con Articles
 

Example: Narrowing down a history topic:  Look at issues such as:

• right or wrong, ethical, & value questions, like "was it right to drop the atomic bombs and/or to bomb German cities?" 
• debatable issues with more than one side, like "was the invention of trains or another technology good for society?"
• questions people wonder about, like "how did Hitler use propaganda and rhetoric to control or brainwash the German people?"
• or, "how did Americans win the Revolution against the bigger British army?" or "why was the Revolution fought and was it justified?"
• or, "what were Lincoln's views on slavery?" or "how did Christian beliefs motivate abolitionists to fight slavery?"
• any question of cause (how did one thing cause another or effect something else) like "why did we fight in Vietnam?"
• or policy/law/court decisions, like "how did the Supreme Court uphold segregation and then overturn it?" or "how did military strategy change with the invention of modern weapons during the Civil War or World War I or World War II?"

You usually want to find both primary sources (historical documents) and secondary sources (books and articles about history).

Google Scholar is powerful & can be used to search for academic articles & books. Google Books gives book previews. 

Google Scholar should automatically give you links to our library articles in the right margin of your search! If it doesn't do that, we recommend that you link Google Scholar to our library to see articles owned in our collection instantly. 

Directions for how to link Google Scholar to Regent Library:  

• Go to Google Scholar
• Open the three-bar menu in the upper left 
• Click "Settings" in the drop-down menu
• Click the "Library Links" section
• Search for 'regent university'
• Select the 'Regent University - Viewit@regent.edu' option
• Click "Save" and you will be returned to the Google Scholar homepage
   

Then, when you are searching:

• Search for your key words (or titles or authors). Try different combinations.
• Note, Google automatically looks for synonyms & other spellings.
• When you find an article that's available in our collection, it will have 'Viewit@regent.edu' in the right margin, or a database link
• Click on that link and you will be directed to the Regent login page
• For books that come up, you will need to copy the title and come to Primo to see if we have them
   

Tips for Using Google Scholar (Special Operators)
 

• try enclosing words in quotation marks to get exact phrases like "first amendment"
• try synonyms and variations; use the word OR between them, like college OR university 
• use the minus symbol to exclude unrelated words, like Abraham -Lincoln (if you want Abraham from the Bible)
• use the word AROUND to indicate words should be near each other in the results, like Covid AROUND lockdown
• Use an asterisk star * to take the place of missing or unknown words in a phrase
• Search site: then your key words (no spaces) if looking for a website title.
• Search intext: then your key words if looking for it in the text of the website, not the title.
• You do not need to use AND or parentheses with Google
• Also, note that even if you don't use OR, it will treat the various terms as options--you can enter a lot of terms
• You don't need to use an asterisk at the end of a word to bring up different word endings as Google does that already
  
  Great Uses for Google: You can find background information or basic terminology on your topic through regular Google, as well as religious websites, free archives & e-books, newspaper & magazine articles, think tanks, open-access academic sources, and government sources. Remember to use discernment and that a lot of websites are biased, promotional, or non-credible.

⁷  Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding.

⁸ Cherish her, and she will exalt you; embrace her, and she will honor you. (Proverbs 4)

The librarians have made many short videos, which are posted on our YouTube channel, that explain the best ways to use our tools.