Skip to Main Content Skip navigation

English Literature Research

All Literature Databases

Primo Library Search
Filter for Books, Articles, Book Chapters, E-books, Video, or Reference, & "Held by Library in Print" or "Online"
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
What Is the MLA International Bibliography? (on EBSCO) from Modern Language Association on Vimeo.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - XV
Arts & Humanities Database
ProjectMUSE
Humanities International Complete
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Digital Theatre Plus
'Sign In' top right, use your Regent email.
Also has over 21,000 pages of written resources, from accessible guides to essays to ready-made teaching resources, written by educators for educators.
Linguistics Database
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 (Gale Primary Sources)
Book reviews & literary journalism, 1902-2014.
Google Scholar
Link this tool to Regent! Click menu, Settings, Library Links, look up Regent, click boxes, Save.

Reference: Define Words & Terms

Oxford English Dictionary
Best place to define words used in English literature.

Oxford Bilingual Dictionaries
For translated literature, use a dictionary in that language, & also compare to other translations.
Best Places to Define Literary Terms
Great sources like Abrams' Glossary of Literary Terms.

Oxford Reference Online
Definitions of literary terms, philosophical terms, or historical facts in academic encyclopedias.
CredoReference
Definitions of literary terms & quick background information.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Define philosophical concepts relevant to literature, like existentialism, pragmatism, etc.

Victorian Web Author Biographies & Literary Criticism
Great scholarly website compiling author biographies and literary articles from 19th century.

Primo Library Search
Search for a term. Click "Reference Entries" under "Material Type" and "Online Sources" under "Availability."