Recommended Books on the Revolution
- Recommended Books, Articles, & Primary Sources [Reading List]Check out this list of books and articles on the Revolution, most of which we own.
Databases on The Revolution
- America: History and Life (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles & books covering history of the U.S. - JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - XV This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Thousands of respected peer-reviewed journals and primary sources, too. - Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading humanities journals, including history. - ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new window
Reference entries, articles, ebooks, & primary sources covering from colonial times & slave narratives to now. - History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles, ebooks, and reference/encyclopedia entries on history.
Primary Sources on The Revolution
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Text-searchable books, documents, pamphlets, & broadsides from English-speaking countries, 1701-1800. - American Historical Periodicals (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive collection of American newspapers & magazines from 1684-1912 - Archives Unbound (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents, including US history, colonial studies, & foreign policy.
- Omega Sources This link opens in a new window
Primary sources by Event, Topic, Author, or Collection (try clicking Outline; U.S. History) - ABC-CLIO American History This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources on American history, including Harper's Weekly.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources on native peoples of America. Try the "topic finder."
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents from American history, including colonial, revolutionary, political, & religious sources.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection (All Series) This link opens in a new windowHistorical books with a religious focus.
Books on the Revolution: Call Numbers
E151-889 United States History
E151-169.12 General
E171-183.9 History
E171-180 General
E173 Sources and documents
E175-175.7 Historiography
E176-176.8 Biography
E179.5 Historical geography
E181 Military history
E182 Naval history
E183-183.3 Political history
E183.7-183.9 Diplomatic history. Foreign and general relations.
E183.8 Relations with individual countries
E184-185.98 Elements in the population
E184.5-185.98 Afro-Americans
E185.2-185.89 Status and development since emancipation
E185.96-185.98 Biography. Genealogy
E186-199 Colonial history (1607-1775)
E186-189 General
E191-199 By period
E191 1607-1689
E195-199 1689-1775
E196 King William's War, 1689-1697
E197 Queen Anne's War, 1702-1713
E198 King George's War, 1744-1748
E199 French and Indian War, 1755-1763
E201-298 The Revolution, 1775-1783
E300-453 Revolution to the Civil War, 1775/1783-1861
E300-302.6 General
E302 Collected works of American statesmen
E302.1 Political history
E302.5-302.6 Biography (Late eighteenth century)
E303-440.5 By period
E303-309 1775-1789. The Confederation, 1783-1789
E310-337 1789-1809. Constitutional period
E310.7 Diplomatic history.
F=local American history by region and state
F221-235 Virginia
Tips for Searching
1. Try a variety of terms
- church disestablishment OR separation of church and state OR religious freedom OR religious liberty
- episcopal OR anglican
- american revolution OR war of independence OR revolutionary war
2. Experiment with both broad and specific terms
- religion american revolution
- church disestablishment american revolution
- sermons during american revolution
3. Use Advanced Search options and operators (AND, OR, NOT, parentheses, quotation marks, asterisk/truncation)
- (anglican OR episcopal) AND (church OR religion) AND (clergy OR preaching OR sermon*) AND america* revolution*
- Jefferson AND ("religious liberty" OR "religious freedom")
- locke revolution NOT french
4. Use filters
- Location: Full Access Online, Held by Library In Print, Open Access (web), Full-Text (immediately available)
- Type: Books, E-books, Articles, Reference Entries, Archival Material, Peer-Reviewed Journal, Scholarly
- Dates: recent dates for scholarly literature, or historical dates for primary sources
5. Get to know common terminology & academic phrasing
- Try Google Scholar first if you're not sure of the right terms; copy terms and phrases used by researchers
- Databases will also suggest terms on common subjects (the benefit of using a subject-specific database)
6. Use good sources to find other good sources
- Look at citations and works that cited this one (click red arrows in Primo)
- Click the author's name
- Shelf browse and look at suggestions given in Primo, etc.
- Click Subject headings that libraries and databases use to "catalog" or "index" (organize) sources
- Use Library of Congress Subject Headings (click to browse more subheadings):
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783.
United States--Foreign relations--1775-1783.