LibGuides: History Research: Databases & Websites

History Databases

America: History and Life
Journals & books covering American history.
History Reference Center
Journals & books covering American, European, and world history.
Arts & Humanities Database
Journals & books covering American, European, & world history.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - XV
Journals & books covering American, European, & world history.
ProjectMUSE
Journals & books covering American, European, & world history.
Political Science Complete
Political science & government journals.
UK & Ireland Database
Journals published in the UK & Ireland.
Australia & New Zealand Database
Journals published in Australia and New Zealand.
Continental Europe Database
Journals published in certain European countries.
East Europe, Central Europe Database
Journals published in East and Central Europe.
Middle East & Africa Database
Journals published in Middle Eastern and African countries.
East & South Asia Database
Journals locally published in various East Asian and South Asian countries.

Primary Source Databases

Historical Newspapers & Magazines
How to find news articles through the library.

Archives Unbound (Gale Primary Sources)
Primary source documents from the Middle Ages to twentieth-century.
ABC-CLIO American History
Primary sources for American history, such as presidential speeches and slave narratives.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Primary sources on European colonization, exploration & native Americans.
American Historical Periodicals (Gale Primary Sources)
American primary source documents from newspapers and magazines.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)
Primary sources from the 18th century (1700's).
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 (Gale Primary Sources)
Primary source documents covering all aspects of American history and culture.
Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources)
Primary sources on natives of America and Canada.
Omega Sources

Full-text primary sources from important documents in world history.
CQ Historic Documents
Full-text of presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, and other primary source documents, 1972-2012.
CQ Almanac
U.S. Congress, 1945 to 2016. Original reporting of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered.
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 (Gale Primary Sources)
The Economist magazine.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection (All Series)
Historical documents relating to religion, 13th-20th centuries.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Full-text of principal works by Protestant writers in the 16th and 17th centuries.
Classic Sermon Index
A catalog of over 52000 historic sermon entries indexed by primary Biblical text
Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Provides free access to a wide variety of Christian classics.
JSTOR Primary Sources
Primary sources on Africa, South Africa, & 19th-c. Britain.

Primary Sources Online

In Our Library
Search Primo for our holdings of primary sources, such as letters, works, or papers of famous people. Search Abraham Lincoln papers, for example.
Library of Congress Primary Sources
American history. Browse collections by theme or format.
The National Archives of the United States of America
Important documents in American history.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Large archive of historical sources.
Fordham's Primary Source Database
Fordham University's primary source database on history and religion.
Shaping the Constitution Primary Sources
Primary sources related to the formation of American government.
Documenting the American South
A free online database sponsored by University of North Carolina.
Virginia Document Bank
Free online archive of historical documents including war posters, context for documents, and a lot more.
Regent's Special Collections
Explore our Regent Special Collections, which are unique archives of documents & films. Ask a librarian for access.
Stanford History Education Group
Primary sources and lesson plans to go with them for teaching history.
Life Magazine Historic Photos
20th-century photographs.
Project Gutenberg
A primary source database on the internet, holding many historical books that are no longer protected by copyright.
Cornell's Legal Information Institute
Free database of law texts.
Yale's Avalon Law Database
Free database of the text of historical laws, such as Magna Carta and more modern ones.
Hathi Trust
Huge collection of historical primary sources including books, magazines, journals, and more.
Internet Archive
Vast collection of books & more. Plus, the "wayback machine" of archived webpages from the past.

Reference: Definitions & Facts

CredoReference
Look up any term in over 1,000 encyclopedias & more.
Oxford English Dictionary
The most extensive dictionary of English word history.
Oxford Reference Online
Look up any term in the Oxford reference books.
Primo Library Search
Search the library for a term and narrow to "reference entries" under "material type."
Statista
Over 1,000,000 statistics on more than 80,000 topics including trends, demographics, countries, & opinions.

Video Collections (Documentaries, etc.)

Academic Video Online
The most comprehensive video database available to libraries. Nearly 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand
Over 20,000 educational streaming videos covering many subjects.
Please note, Firefox users will need a plugin.
Kanopy Film Collection

'Visit the Regent Collection' and log in with your MyRegent credentials. Selected film and documentary titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, and more.
Primo Library Search
Search the library for videos. Sign in to access. Use the "Videos" filter under "Material Type."

History Teaching & Jobs

Stanford History Education Group
Great for teachers! This site provides free, interesting history lessons based on primary sources.
Library of Congress Primary Sources for Teaching
Lesson plans and primary sources to use in the classroom.
Job Ideas & Graduate Programs for History Majors
Explore jobs and graduate school ideas.