Skip to Main Content Skip navigation

International Student Resources & Services

This LibGuide was created to help International Students learn about Regent University Library resources and succeed in conducting library research.

About Citation Styles

 

A citation includes the author, title, and publishing information. With the proper citation, a reader will know how to retrieve the information you used.

Presently, there are several different guides that can be used to learn about citation styles in both print and electronic resources. 

Consult your professor to learn which citation style is to be used for your course. You can find these resources at Regent University Library.

If you need assistance in locating these resources or using these resources, please contact a Reference Librarian. You may click on the link below,

Ask a Librarian!"

 

General Online Sites

There are many wonderful websites that can help you to perfect the citation process. Click on any of the following links to view examples of cited sources!

 

Specialized Citation Guides

If you prefer to use a print source to learn about citation styles, they are available in the reference collection.  Ask the circulation staff or reference librarians for help.

Exporting & Citing Databases

 

Databases with direct export

EBSCO, which includes (Academic Search Premier, America: History & Life, ATLA Religion Database, Business Source Premier, EconLit, Education Research Complete, Film & Television Literature Index, LGBT Life with Full Text, MLA International Bibliography, PsycArticles, PsycINFO, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, Teacher Reference Center) 

  1. Click on the icon to save records to your folder. 
  2. Next, click on the icon located at the top of the screen.
  3. Click on the export citations icon. 
  4. Finally, direct export your citations to EndNote or RefWorks. 

 

JSTOR 

Saving Citations

  1. Choose the citations to save by clicking the check box next to each one
  2. Click on the "Save Citation(s)" button
  3. The citation is now listed on your Saved Citations tab
  4. If you have not yet registered for or logged in to a MyJSTOR account, you will be prompted to

Exporting Citations

  1. In MyJSTOR, click the check box next to the citation or citations you want to export
  2. Click the type of software you want to export your citations into.
  3. The software should launch, and you can then save your citations.
 To export single citations without creating a MyJSTOR account click on the

Lexis Nexis is equipped with the direct export feature for RefWorks only. Just click on the Export Bibliographic References icon, always on the upper right-hand corner of the search results screen or in the screen for an individual article. This will lead you to a direct export screen.

Proquest

  1. Choose the citations to save by clicking the check box next to each one.
  2. Click the Export link. 
  3. Click the type of software you want to export your citations into.
  4. The software should launch, and you can then save your citations.

ScienceDirect

  1. Choose the citations to save by clicking the check box next to each one. 
  2. Click the "Export Citations" icon located towards the top of the screen. 
  3. On the next screen, select an export format (EndNote or RefWorks). 
  4. EndNote or RefWorks will automatically launch; you can then save your citations.



     
  1.  
WorldCat supports direct export for EndNote and RefWorks. Select the individual records that you wish to save, then click the Export button.