Skip to main content

Regent University - Library

International Student Resources & Services: Library Glossary

This LibGuide was created to help International Students learn about Regent University Library resources and succeed in conducting library research.

General

The glossary is written within several different pages: A-C, D-I, L-P and R-Z.  You can access the continuing pages under the title, "Glossary."

Glossary A-C

The following library terms will help you navigate the library and its resources.

Abstract - A concise summary of a periodical article or book.  It can also refer to an electronic database or a set of print publications which provide citations and summaries of articles or texts published in periodicals, books or other materials.

Barcode - Barcodes are located on circulating materials as well as you Regent ID number.

Bibliography - A bibliography is a list of citations to resources (books, articles, media, websites, etc) used for research.  Often located at the end of an article or book; can also refer to a collection of information resources on a particular subject.

Boolean Searching - Boolean searching is a method of combining search terms in database searching using Boolean operators: AND, OR and NOT. Example: diabetes and children or girls not boys.

Call Number - A call number consists of a series of letter, numbers or symbols that identifies an individual book or other cataloged materials.  Call number labels are usually located on the spine of a book.  Regent University Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system.

Check Out/Circulation - To borrow a book from the library for a certain period of time, you must take the book to the circulation desk and have it charged out your Regent University ID; it is your library card.

Citation - The information necessary for another person to locate an item. Typically a book bibliographic citations would contain the Title, Author or Editor, Edition, Place of Publication, Publisher and Year of Publication.  An article's citation would usually include the Title of the Article, Author of the Article, Title of the Periodical, Volume Number, Issue Number (sometimes the month and ate), Year of Publication, and the Page Numbers.  Bibliographic citations can also be called a "bibliographic entry", a "reference", or "citation".  There are several different ways/and or rules to create citations; see Style Manuals listed on the "Citation" page.

Circulation Desk - The circulation desk is the place to check out and return library materials.  It is located on the main floor of the library.

Acknowledgement

The glossary was adapted from the glossary by George Mason University InfoGuide.