Search All Of Our Databases
- Primo Library Search
Search the library for books, e-books, articles, commentaries, etc. Sign in to access & request sources. - Google Scholar
Link to Regent: click menu, Settings, Library Links, look up Regent, click boxes, Save.
Religion Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
This link opens in a new window
To get to Scripture Search, click "Advanced Search," "Subjects," drop-down menu, "Scripture Search" - New Testament AbstractsAcademic journal articles and abstracts on the NT (request full article by clicking "check full-text options")
- Old Testament AbstractsAcademic journal articles and abstracts on the OT (request full article by clicking "check full-text options")
- Biblical Archaeology Society Online
The Biblical Archaeology Review from 1975 to the present.
- Classic Sermon Index
52,000 historic sermons indexed by primary Biblical text with many hyperlinked to their source. - ATLA Historical Monographs Collection (All Series)Religious books from the 13th century to the early 20th century.
- Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Major works by Protestant writers in the 16th and 17th centuries. - Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
A library of Greek literature from Homer (8th c. BC) to the fall of Byzantium in 1453 AD. - Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 (Gale Primary Sources)
Historical documents from early colonization to the early 20th century. - History Reference Center
Articles on the history of Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Academic journal articles. - ProjectMUSE
Academic journal articles.
How to Use ATLA Scriptures Tool
Watch this brief video from Regent Library on using ATLA for Scriptures research by verse, chapter, or book.
Reference Sources
- Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries
Grounded in exact translation of the ancient languages and the historical context of the Bible. - Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
Covers issues ranging from theology, politics, and law, through to literature, art, and architecture.
- Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Entries cover the Mediterranean, Near East, and Egypt from the late Bronze Age to 7th Cent. CE.
- Statista
Statistics on thousands of topics, including religion. - World Christian Database
Statistics on global Christianity & missions; can create maps, graphs, etc. - Oxford Reference Online
Search these Oxford encyclopedias on church history and biographies.
- EthnologueLearn about indigenous languages (16th edition, 2009)
- Mango Languages
- This link opens in a new window
Learn Greek, Hebrew, Latin, & more. For help, contact librarytechservices [at] regent [dot] edu. - Chicago Manual of Style Online
How to cite your sources in Turabian or Chicago style, in an easy, searchable format, 16th and 15th editions.
Dissertations
- ATLA Research in Ministry This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of over 11,000 research projects from more than 100 ATS accredited doctoral ministry programs. - TREN: Theological Research Exchange Network
Over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions.
- Dissertation CalculatorA tool developed by the University of Minnesota to help create a timeline for completing your dissertation.
Browsing Journals
The library provides over 25 databases on Divinity that contain hundreds of journals.
You can browse divinity journals with several tools:
1) try our Browzine tool to form a virtual "bookshelf" of favorite journals to stay up to date with, or
2) browse the title lists of specific databases:
List of journals in the Religion Database from ProQuest
ATLA Religion Database with AtlaSerials: click the second tab along the top to find journals listed
3) You can find a specific journal with the Primo Journal Search: search a keyword, the journal's title, or ISSN and open a result to see which journals we have and which databases they are in.
4) To find specific journal articles: use a general Primo search: "article title in quotes" AND authorname is the easiest method, or if you don't know what title you are looking for, just search for a keyword or a "key phrase" in quotation marks.
Updated 4/20/23 jdf